We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic all round”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Green Island Resort
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Green Island
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 November 2012

Stayed here in November with the plan to propose to my partner during a meal on the beach.
I must say that from my initial phone call, right thru to getting off the boat transfer back in cairns, the staff, without an exception, were awesome. I have travelled the world and never come across a resort or hotel were every single staff member was helpful, happy and very friendly.
The resort is busy during the day with day trippers, but it was still easy to escape for some quiet time. At night it was very quiet, but so relaxing and peaceful. We loved it.
The breakfast buffet was lovely, hot and fresh. The first night we took a picnic hamper down to the beach. At first look we thought there wasn't enough food, but we were very wrong lol. We were stuffed full, so I would recommend this as a great option for some romance.
Second night we had the seafood platter on a private table on the beach to watch sunset. This was great! Food perfect, service perfect and view was stunning.
We didn't actually eat in the restaurant so other than breakfast I can't comment.
Overall, a great trip, beautiful memories an we will be back.
A HUGE thank you to the staff in e restaurant who helped me pull off a surprise marriage proposal.

Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
Thank shrek73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (965)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

569 - 575 of 965 reviews

Reviewed 5 November 2012

Green island is beautiful and has lots of see based activities to try. Try snorkelling around sunset and you will be able to swim with the local turtles which is a great experience. The resort itself lacks a few things to make an extended stay interesting as it only has one restaraunt and now real bar facilities. Great place to relax and wind down

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jervo_14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2012

We took a trip to Cairns for just the weekend and weren't sure about staying a night at the hotel on the island, vs staying in Cairns. However, we were more than surprised and wished we stayed every night on the island resort.
When we arrived our room was not ready, but that was no problem at all as there was so much to do, included in the price of your room. We did the glass bottom boat tour, and went to the crocodile museum to watch the feeding. The crocodile museum was an extra $17 but totally worth it to see these huge crocs being fed!
Our room was very clean, new and roomy. We did a ton of snorkelling on the island. You do not need to book a tour to snorkel, it's more than easy to do it by yourself. We saw tons of fish, tons of turtles, coral, stingrays and so on. Out and around the jetty was the best place to snorkel. Also, all your snorkel equipment was included in the price of your room for your entire stay, as well as use of kayaks, beach towels and beach chairs.
Other activities that we enjoyed were the evening fish feeding (saw some reef sharks), sunset drinks on the beach, and the night nature walks.
Unfortunately, we planned on doing a heli tour of the reef from Green Island, however when we went to book we found out that it was completely booked until tuesday, which was a little bit disappointing.
A walk around the island was also quite beautiful, about a 30 min walk. It is quite rocky though, so bring some shoes!
Overall, this place was amazing and we would totally stay again, probably for longer! Such beautiful and clear water! Perfect for snorkelling!

Room Tip: We had the reef room, which was a beautiful view of the beach/rainforest
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Chelsea N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2012

This island is wonderful. The friendly service is ongoing. Never to find any staff having a bad day. Weather is beautiful, although quite hot so remember the sun screen. The variety of fish that you can see from just getting off your transfer boat is unbelievable. Be prepared to see reef sharks. If you have no fear, you can snorkel with them. Rooms are very clean, house keeping is great. They cleaned our room every day, always had clean sheets. Room service was fantastic. The chocolate brownie and shoestring fries is a must!
Only one place to choose for dinner besides room service however Emeralds was beyond excellent. Food was 5 star quality. Waiters were once again so enthusiastic and passionate about giving you the best service possible.
Only annoying part and I mean 'only' is the day tourists. Oh so many sometimes. But it's good to know that they'll be on their way home by 3:30. So..the island is all yours. This is when you feel the island at its best. So quiet, peaceful and exactly what it is, Green Island, magical!

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Kosic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2012

We followed the advice of other reviewers to stay one night - I am so glad we did as this was the highlight of our trip. The resort staff were very welcoming and despite the day trippers 8.30-4.30 there are quiet parts of the island to escape to and once the 4.30 boat has left the island is yours! The highlight was a dive, complimentary use of skins/wetsuit/life jacket/snoker stuff/towels and then sunset drinks/star gazing/night walk. Being a guest also has the added bonus of a private pool/free beach deck/sunshade hire/kayak etc. I only wish we had stayed two nights now so we could have done one day on the outer reef. I definitely recommend a one or two night stay.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bawoni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2012 via mobile

My husband and i stayed at this resort last August 2012. Service was great we were taken cared off. Well if you want a night life this resort is not for you but if you want serenity away from busy life this place is perfect! A little bit pricey but every penny is worth your stay our room was so clean a very elegant yet simple interior design bathroom is super nice! Bed is very comfy i assumed it is being manned by extra meticulous manager. Very tropical and the breakfast buffet ..excellent! A lot of food to choose from and taste wonderful!

I will definitely go back even if the accomodation is expensive staff were warm though at 4pm shops are already close and its very close to great barrier reef!!!

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wanderingnoreen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2012

7 years ago, we been to this island as day tripper. this time coming back again to celebrate my wife's bthday. later on it approved the best decision ever. the island is small but has all the amenity you need. as like most of people mentioned, there is lots of day tripper from 930-1630. but after last ferry departed. u just feel own the whole island. hotel provide lots of complimentary activity, 5pm fish feeding, 515-545 free sunset drink, 8pm bush walk, for the dinner, we had picnic hamper, great value and so romantic to have dinner on the beach. room is so clean and good size. we wake up 520am in the morning to see the sunrise on the beach, great experience. also i snorkl alongside of sea turtle early in the morning, what else u can ask for. staff is so friendly and professional. next time, we definitely will stay again. job well done green island resort.

Room Tip: upper level room has better view and privacy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bing-BiLu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Green Island
16.9 mi away
Shangri-La Hotel, The Marina, Cairns
19.2 mi away
Kewarra Beach Resort & Spa
Kewarra Beach Resort & Spa
#1 of 2 in Kewarra Beach
1,171 reviews
17.1 mi away
Pullman Reef Hotel Casino
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.1 mi away
Hilton Cairns
Hilton Cairns
#5 of 63 in Cairns
2,382 reviews
17.1 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cairns
17.2 mi away
Pullman Cairns International
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Green Island Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Green Island Resort

Address: Green Island, Great Barrier Reef, Green Island, Queensland 4870, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > Queensland > Green Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Green Island
Price Range: £269 - £446 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Green Island Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located 27 km across the Coral Sea from Cairns in Tropical North Queensland, Green Island Resort is luxury on the Great Barrier Reef. With just 46 suites nestled amongst the rainforest and secluded from the day visitor facilities, this world-class eco-sensitive resort offers a unique blend of luxurious accommodation, first class service and unparalleled access to the Great Barrier Reef. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Ebookers, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Green Island Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Green Island Hotel Cairns

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing