We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Green Island Resort
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Fitzroy Island Resort(Fitzroy Island)
View Hotel
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
Cairns Beach Resort(Holloways Beach)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Villa Marine(Yorkeys Knob)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Reviews (984)
Filter reviews
984 results
Traveller rating
590
275
59
35
25
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
590
275
59
35
25
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfish feedingsunset drinksday trippersglass bottom boatouter reefnature walkboat leaveshotel guestsguest poolpicnic hamperthe great barrier reefstinger suitsroom servicesnorkeling equipmentsea turtlesprivate poolreef suite
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
526 - 531 of 984 reviews
Reviewed 5 September 2013

We stayed at the resort in August. We were a day late arriving due to difficulty arranging flights that arrive before the last boat to the island. BUT when we arrive all was perfect. The room was a cool retreat and very quiet. The island was fabulous, with warm water, hundreds of fish and stunning sunsets. The staff were unobtrusive abut very helpful. In fact the restaurant manager attended to our dinner and was very charming. The days were a mix of tourists during the day and peaceful breezes at night. There is only one restaurant at night, but as the food was great- no problem! We were a couple, but there were several families- this was a great value as most amenities-snorkel gear, beach chairs, glass bottom boat- were free.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Andrea S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2013 via mobile

We booked this trip back in February for our 10th anniversary. With toddler in mind we wanted to go somewhere that had lots of activities for her without lots of lengthy travel in between, so green island was like a one stop shop. It was perfect.
We stayed here on the last weekend of August, the weather was perfect (a little bit of wind, otherwise a tropical average of 28 deg C). It's not peak season so the island wasn't over crowded with day trippers and the hotel wasn't stretched leaving staff to provide exceptional service.
The free inclusions were great:
- snorkeling to see fish,coral and turtles.
- guided walks and talks (star gazing, historic walk, rainforest walk)
- glass bottom boat tours
- fish feeding
- sunset drinks
- and more that we didn't have time to try.

The only thing that I can fault is food options. There are 3 options for dinner - picnic dinner, emeralds restaurant and room service. All very pricey. We ate at the restaurant 2/3 nights and food was great. Try the seafood dishes, I wasn't disappointed.
As for lunch, I wasn't able to find much healthy toddler friendly foods outside of Emeralds restaurant (even here it's limited). Hot dogs, pies, pizza, nachos, chips and grilled meats.

As for paid activities, there were heaps of them including helicopter tours, but the one thing you gotta do is the crocodile farm. The 2 year old enjoyed it over and over each day, but adults might find the third visit unnecessary, though you probably will find something new and interesting on the second visit.

We really enjoyed our stay. It was definitely a bit more special than staying in Cairns. 3 nights was just enough to leisurely enjoy the activities, the awesome Queensland weather and being outside of "peak" season we didn't have to contend with crowds of day trippers. Definitely recommended and definitely returning when our girl is a bit
older and can enjoy more
activities.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Megsthai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2013

Stayed in a reef view room. The room was fresh and spacious. Tucked away from the tourists. Service was unobtrusive and helpful. Staff clearly live their job and very helpful. Inclusions such as snorkeling gear beach chairs and afternoon drinks were great. Amazing value and very peaceful. Especially early mornings and evenings. Ill be back next year.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank pallano16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2013

We've had six nights on Green Island and overall the place is wonderful. This was our first resort holiday and it met our expectations in terms of a quiet and relaxing break. The rooms are beautiful, we had a King Island Suite and it was what we would have expected for the price, spacious, luxurious, comfortable bed, large bathroom, separate toilet, bath and fantastic shower. Furnishings look like they have been recently updated and the overall impression is of luxury and quality.

The room was very private and quiet despite being at relatively close proximity to other guests. Despite being very busy the resort side of the island is very well designed in terms of layout and design for privacy and comfort.

Many other reviews focus on the negative impact of large numbers of day-trippers. While this is a fact of life on the island I think there's a simple two-word solution to this issue; Lizard Island. There you'll find complete privacy and seclusion but pay a premium for the privilege. The day-trippers side of the island is not that bad, it's very much a global village experience that adds character and is probably an economic necessity of this venue. Where I would agree with other reviewers is in the area of food. Dinner options in the restaurant are a little limited and while we suspected the average stay may be two or three days, if you happen to stay longer the menu and style of dining gets a bit staid after a while. For longer stays the range of activities could also be more varied, without diminishing the attractiveness of snorkelling or diving on the reef.

Green Island offers a degree of luxury that is relatively good value for the price. We've found Far Nth Queensland in particular and Australia in general to be expensive holiday destinations compared to the US or Europe. This considered Green Island is a great destination and highly recommended.

Room Tip: Facing gardens or rain forest could be better than pool outlook.
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank melbster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2013

Green Island offers a great location to enjoy the barrier reef just a short boat ride from Cairns. The hotel is first class and the free access to the island and services is an extra bonus. The staff are exceptional and from diverse locations. The food and beverages are good quality and reasonably priced for the location. Life is a bit hectic while the day trippers are there but come late afternoon you feel the island is all yours. Sunset drinks, fish feeding and a great meal is about all you could want to enjoy your life.

Room Tip: Outside rooms do get some helicopter noise but only from 9am to 3pm and who is in their room ?
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank greymanAustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews