We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing experience”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Green Island Resort
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Green Island
Certificate of Excellence
England
Level Contributor
25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Amazing experience”
Reviewed 22 March 2014 via mobile

We've just spent two nights on Green Island, as a family of four. It was a fantastic way for the kids to snorkel the Great Barrier Reef. Included for free in our package was as many glass bottomed boat trips as we wanted, sunset drinks on the beach, fish feeding, nature walk, rainforest boardwalk, star gazing. All -apart from the glass bottomed boat- are done when the day guests have left the island. It is a bit mad when the day guests are there, but they are not allowed into the resort area, which has a shady private pool. They don't get there til after 9am, which is plenty of time for an early morning snorkel, and they go at 4.30, leaving you more time to snorkel in peace.

Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank oligeo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

871 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    523
    243
    54
    30
    21
See reviews for
277
463
8
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (168)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Richmond, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
107 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 March 2014 via mobile

We spent two nights on Green Island. The weather was not the best - it was the rainy season. The staff looked after us very well. We had a good room - number 2, not far from reception and we could hear the sounds of the waves.
The food was good and not as expensive as I had expected. You can take an excellent picnic to the beach rather than eating in the restaurant. We tried, but the weather was against us, so ate it in the restaurant instead.
The rails (birds) are a bit of a pest and you need to be careful with food in the open, especially around the food areas.
It turns into a different and very private island after 4.30 pm.
One disappointing aspect was that our nature guide was very good on the sea and birds but seemed to know little of the plants and trees.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank JeffandLiz36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 February 2014

Needless to say...its a great place and a wonderful resort. Everyone at the resort or the ferry company which transfers you to Green Island Rerort makes you feel so welcome.

The day trippers do crowd the island, but its like you do not appreciate light unless you have seen darkness. House Guests are treated so differently almost like VIPs in comparison to the day trippers.

But there is plenty of time to enjoy the place as a secluded island. The day trippers leave by 4.30 and its still lots of sun time. Do peaceful snorkeling post 4.30 pm...watch fish feeding.....enjoy complimentary drinks close to the beach post fish feeding. HEAVEN

Special mention of Ana who was kind enough to oversee our children for sometime in the night while we took a peaceful stroll on the beach as a couple.

Room Tip: A stay during full moon would make the place really breathtaking at night. If you are staying at...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sandeepberi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
QSGA, General Manager at Green Island Resort, responded to this review, 27 February 2014
Sandeepberi, thank you so much for your review. It was an absolute pleasure to have you and your family over here.

So glad you got to take that peaceful stroll around the beach as a couple:).

You are absolutely welcome back anytime.

Take care and we hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 January 2014

This is our second time back (similar time to last year). It is worth it just for the snorkelling experience when all the day visitors have left the island.
Love the breakfast. Staff really understand good hospitality and are attentive.

Some litter on the island was a shame but this is from some of the day visitors not picking up after themselves.

Room Tip: Ask for a room downstairs and near the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank J_and_A_33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
QSGA, General Manager at Green Island Resort, responded to this review, 27 February 2014
and the turtles loved you! You're all they talk about:)

Only joking:) but thank you so much for you review and thank you for coming back a second time! Hopefully we'll see you for trip number 3 next year.

Dont be afraid to dob in a Day Visitor if you see them littering - it really grinds our gears that some people can be so thoughtless, we take a lot of pride in keeping the island as beautiful as possible.

Thanks again J_and_A_33 hope to see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
184 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 January 2014

Our ferry was met by Sandy, who did a great job explaining everything about the resort to us while our luggage was offloaded and moved from the pier directly to our accommodations. We were fortunate to stay in Reef Suite 10, beautifully decorated with floors and doors in rich burled woods and windows with plantation-style shutters. Two steps separated the sitting area from the bedroom/bath area. There was a wooden patio accessed by sliding glass doors from the sitting area and it had the most magnificent views of tropical plants. The suite had all the amenities expected of a 5 star resort including excellent bedding, shower and soaking tub and cotton bathrobes that were just the ticket for relaxing in the evening. There was an in-room coffee/tea maker and a mini-bar that offered items at the same prices as one would pay anywhere in the resort…how’s that for a novel idea? No feeling of being ripped-off when selecting a cold beer or Diet Coke! Here are some included extras that we did not expect, but appreciated. Use of Lycra suits (to protect against possible jellyfish stings), snorkeling equipment, fish-feeding, a get-together each evening before dinner with complimentary sparkling wine/juices/beer/wine and light snacks, history walks, nature walks and even stargazing on clear nights. In our case, these were led by Rob, a delightful young man who filled our minds with the island’s history and wildlife. It is true what other reviewers have said about the boatloads of day tourists that arrive every morning; however there is a guest-only pool and sections on the beach where guests have access to beach chairs and umbrellas at no charge. We did not find this to be a problem; we just used those “guest-only” facilities during the mad rush, and then thanked our lucky stars that we got to stay on the island as we watched the last ferry return to Cairns. The other pleasant surprise is that there is a self-service laundry for washing the salt out of swimsuits at end of stay. Our rate included the breakfast buffet and it always had a nice variety to choose from. We ate lunch at the Canopy Grill every day and while we can highly recommend the Aussie Steak sandwich and the Bacon Cheeseburgers, the Grilled Fish Burgers were very disappointing. Service at the Pool Bar for cold beers was especially friendly. My husband and I enjoyed massages at Oiled, where they charge by the minute so one can request any combination of massages (reflexology, hot stone, Swedish, deep tissue, etc.) during the minutes purchased. We can also recommend the 15 minute Helicopter Tour (ask for pilot Ian, he is the best!) We know that season and weather influences perception. Our stay In January provided overcast skies and choppy waters, so snorkeling from the beach or on the Great Adventures Pontoon was not the best. The evening rains only enhanced our stay; we loved hearing the rainfall and seeing all the plants bathed in rainwater. When it was time to leave, the departure process was equally as well-organized as the arrival process. This was a long-awaited stay on a Great Barrier Reef Island and we are happy we chose Green Island. It was truly our “dream-time” in Australia.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank justmyopinion1957
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
QSGA, Public Relations Manager at Green Island Resort, responded to this review, 27 February 2014
I'm a big fan of the bacon cheeseburgers as well - just don't tell my cardiologist:)

What a fantastic review justmyopinion1957, thank you for your kind words and for taking the time to go into so much detail.

Hope we get to see you again - this time hopefully the weather will be a little less 'Windy City' and a little more normal Green Island style:) !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wells, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
79 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 January 2014

Stayed on here over the New Year, we had a reef room, it was excellent and everything you would expect from quality accommodation, the staff were welcoming, friendly and couldn't do enough to make your stay relaxing. The breakfasts and restaurant food delicious but after dinner there is very little to do, but the nature walk is a must.

The Island is lovely and situated on the barrier reef so we could snorkel off the beach with turtles, parrot fish, reef sharks in crystal blue waters and it was very safe. But from 9am the island is swamped by the day trippers, so its very noisy and crowded but at 4.30pm they disappear and the island becomes relaxing and quiet. The hotel does provide a small swimming pool and day room which is exclusive to those staying on the island, but if you wish to eat or drink then you have to put up with the hoards of visitors.

My only real criticism would be that when you do the excursions that are included in your package you are treated like one of the day trippers, you stand in a very long queue in the hot sunshine with the hoards

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AndreaK2107
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
32 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 January 2014 via mobile

We visited the resort as part of our honeymoon - transfers via catamaran from Cairns we easy to arrange and were well dealt with by staff port-side. Nice welcome on the island, although the hoards of day trippers may put some off. You only really get peace and quiet after 16:30! Having said that, the staff are excellent: efficient and friendly. We had some problems due to other guests misbehaviour, which the resort handled excellently and assured is that it was an anomaly, which is probably the case. There is enough to do on the island to keep you busy for a few days, with excursions and snorkelling (which was fun). We also made use of the beach craft and all of this was perfect. The resort pool is nice but there is a plague of annoying birds that will fly up and steal chips from your hands! A bit strange really but not a deal breaker - chips are bad for you anyway. The in house restaurant is a good quality if expensive, but there isn't much choice when on the island so it certainly pays to be aware of this before you book.

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank bezukhov
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Green Island
16.9 mi away
Shangri-La Hotel, The Marina, Cairns
20.1 mi away
Alamanda Palm Cove by Lancemore
17.1 mi away
Hilton Cairns
Hilton Cairns
#7 of 64 in Cairns
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,156 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.1 mi away
Pullman Reef Hotel Casino
20.9 mi away
Cairns Coconut Holiday Resort
17.2 mi away
Pullman Cairns International
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Green Island Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Green Island Resort

Property: Green Island Resort
Address: Green Island, Great Barrier Reef, Green Island, Queensland 4870, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > Queensland > Green Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Green Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4 star — Green Island Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located 27 km across the Coral Sea from Cairns in Tropical North Queensland, Green Island Resort is luxury on the Great Barrier Reef. With just 46 suites nestled amongst the rainforest and secluded from the day visitor facilities, this world-class eco-sensitive resort offers a unique blend of luxurious accommodation, first class service and unparalleled access to the Great Barrier Reef. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Green Island Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Green Island Hotel Cairns

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing