We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,032)
Filter reviews
1,032 results
Traveller rating
616
290
66
35
25
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
616
290
66
35
25
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfish feedingday tripperssunset drinksglass bottom boatouter reefnature walkboat leavesguest poolhotel gueststhe great barrier reefpicnic hamperstinger suitsroom servicesnorkeling equipmentsea turtlesprivate poolreef suite
Filter
Updating list...
106 - 111 of 1,032 reviews
Reviewed 8 August 2017 via mobile

We stayed here for 2 nights for a treat after our 3 week holiday. Rooms and private pool area were inviting and luxurious. Restaurant mainly outside delicious food but had to wait ages for food.
I dont think it was really worth $3500 for 2 nights ( we were a family if 5 and had 2 adjoining rooms).
We were the only Australian staying there as all the other guests were overseas and everything is geared for them ...especially Japanese. The Canadian waiter (coby?) did a tremendous job!i

Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
3  Thank Helen W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2017

We booked a six night, seven day package through Luxury Escapes and it was a huge mistake for us. Others with families or those really into snorkeling and diving may disagree. At $500+ per night with only one restaurant (that overlooks a closed shopping area) we think one or two nights is plenty. It is family friendly. Lovely beaches suitable for children and a nice pool area.

The 'resort' consists of 46 large rooms with lovely polished floors. Each one has their own well appointed bathroom. They are in configurations of mainly four rooms, with two upstairs and two downstairs. You only get room-noise from the one immediately next to you (heaven help you if you get a crying baby next door - we did!) but not from those around you.

Many balconies and windows in your room look into other room windows and other balconies. We managed to change our room to one on the end so we had mainly rain-forest view but it was by the helipad that operates from 9:30 to noon daily.

The resort is on a world heritage listed island and it is mandated that it cannot be seen from the ocean so no room has a view of the ocean. All balconies have a rain-forest aspect (which was nice). Those that face the front (jetty) may hear the ocean from their balcony but they will also hear the day-trippers that invade daily from 9:30am to 4:30pm (between 500 - 1000 people according to staff). Shops close at 4 and last ferry is at 4:30.

The snorkel/dive centre is well equipped and the people we spoke to raved about their snorkel experience.

The only restaurant in the resort has a complimentary breakfast with very good options. However even at $500+ per night if you want them to make you a coffee (if you don't want to use their coffee machine) they will charge you $5.50 each and get you to sign for it. We ate late. Breakfast was available til 10:30 and we came down about 9 or 9:30 and every day the juice containers were empty and the left over fruit had been pushed to the front of the plate. We expected better.

The restaurant is pavilion style with 3 open sides but unfortunately overlooks the shopping area that services the day trippers (food, diving gear, swimming pool) which is deserted at night and at breakfast and lunchtime full of day trippers gawking at you.

In the evening there is nowhere to sit and have a drink or a cocktail other than at your dining table. They do offer a nice hamper service where you can order your dinner in advance and take a rug, lantern and bottle of wine to the beach. Don't try the area where there are tables and chairs after dark. It is home to a huge bat colony - great to visit but less than ideal to eat underneath!

The staff in all sections of the resort were lovely. We would recommend doing some of the walks with a guide (included in your room rate). Highly recommend going for one night instead of a day trip as your transfers are included in your room rate and makes the first night good value. Food is good and you can eat on your balcony or take a hamper to the beach.

Room Tip: Upstairs has less foot traffic. By the pool is great for families but not for peace and quiet.
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
21  Thank Sallys_View
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2017

Everyone treats you with respect. That mix of Japanese and Australian style of management, architecture makes it the best resort ever. Would like to see more use of renewable energy sources, composting and organic food.

Room Tip: Rooms are spotless.
Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank FortuitousTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Green_Island_Resort, Digital Marketing Manager at Green Island Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 3 August 2017

Hi FortuitousTraveler, absolutely fantastic to have you on the island with us and thank you for taking time to leave us such a great review.

We do incorporate a range of eco-engineering elements at the resort (water reclamation, the most sophisticated sewage treatment plant of it's kind if Australia, efficient and low noise generators). But! We can always do better, and are constantly improving how we reduce or remediate our impact; be it by expanding solar capacity or small thing with big impacts like using biodegradable instead of plastics.

We wont stop trying to be the greenest Green Island Resort that we can be :)

Thanks again FortuitousTraveler for your review and passion for the environment! We're looking forward to see you back on Green Island one day soon :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2017

Enjoy the quietness and relaxing environment in the evening.
Amazing view
Saw turtles in the evening from the jetty and lots of fish while feeding
If you are lucky, you can see sharks as well.
Wonderful tours and introductory diving course.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled with friends
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank kwunon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2017

The resort is quite lovely and they take so much care to ensure that there is plenty to do. Once you're there, there's no option for other restaurants or clubs etc.
Only disappointment was a serious trip hazard caused my daughter to fall and nothing was done to prevent this happening to others (i.e. next night, the unilluminated trip hazard was still there and not blocked off).

Room Tip: ask for a room away from the pool and facing the outside of the resort (bathroom privacy)
  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank katey1965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews