We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Fitzroy Island Resort(Fitzroy Island)
Free cancellation until 26/07
US$193
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$186
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
Free cancellation until 27/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$363
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$200
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Hilton Cairns(Cairns)
US$193
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$172
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 10% below average rates

The price you found is 10% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$192/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Mantra Esplanade Cairns(Cairns)(Great Value!)
US$241
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$193
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$295
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$185
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cairns(Cairns)(Great Value!)
US$173
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$146
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Cairns Plaza Hotel(Cairns)(Great Value!)
US$174
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$156
getaroom.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 51% below average rates

The price you found is 51% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$317/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$162
Cancelon
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$211
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$197
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Savings alert! 15% below average rates

The price you found is 15% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$233/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Reviews (1,007)
Filter reviews
1,007 results
Traveller rating
602
282
63
35
25
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
602
282
63
35
25
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfish feedingsunset drinksday trippersglass bottom boatouter reefnature walkboat leavesguest poolhotel guestspicnic hamperthe great barrier reefstinger suitsroom servicesnorkeling equipmentsea turtlesprivate poolreef suite
Filter
Updating list...
83 - 88 of 1,007 reviews
Reviewed 18 August 2017

Our family of 4 including two children ages 8 and 4 had a great time. The staff was incredibly friendly, the activities were well run and the food was terrific. During the day, the hoards of people visiting the island as "day trippers" made things a bit crowded - although not too inconvenient. The magic of the island comes out when the day trippers leave at 4:00. Quiet dinner, peaceful beaches, and great star gazing. Even during the day there are plenty of quieter beach locations only a couple minutes walk from the primary swimming/snorkeling area. Waking up in the morning to the sounds of the birds then making our way to a great buffet was also a treat. If you're staying overnight, don't forget to make dinner reservations early in the day since there is only one restaurant open and it can fill up.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
2  Thank Dan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Green_Island_Resort, Public Relations Manager at Green Island Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 20 August 2017

Thank you Dan for taking the time to leave such an amazing review. Wonderful to have you here with us, we hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2017 via mobile

I recently visited for the day and found the Resort and Island to be filthy. Such an embarrassment to National Parks of Australia. The amount of plastic rubbish amongst the trees and on the beach was heartbreaking. But not hard to see why when the bar serve canned beer with plastic glasses, two plastic straws in cocktails and plastic cutlery from food outlets. A walk on the beach found myself coming across a huge empty box near a picnic table (see photo). Just disgusting that all of the above is still happening this day and age when we should be reducing our wastage and protect the reef. The Resort cater for the Asian market. So I found myself having to put my shoes back on to avoid stepping in spit. And their disrespect towards others in flicking their cigarette butts in the bushes should be banned on this Island. Don't ask the life guards any questions. They'll only be blunt, rude and extremely unhelpful. Does patrolling an Island make them more special then those on the mainland beaches? While trying to snorkel through the floating rubbish I was yelled at by some Japanese dive instructor about my location after having asked the patrollers permission. She was finally corrected by her boat driver that I was actually was in a safe area. Avoid the eateries, I felt like a was in a flock of seagulls. Chinese groups fighting to get to the buffet. The grill had no available tables and takeaway rubbish scattered everywhere. Oh and screaming kids in the pool wasn't relaxing at all. All the day boats leave at the same time. So don't even try and use one of two fresh water showers as you'll only get cut off from the rude, pushy inconsiderate international guests! I feel for the in house guests who get invaded by day trippers like
Myself daily. My advice for day trippers who only have one day to see an Australian Island/national Park in the Great Barrier Reef is go elsewhere. I saw nothing that the Australian culture is known for... Clean, friendly, respectful, relaxed, unique experience. I will be contacting the national parks to express my disappointment on how the boat loads of tourists are damaging what could be the most beautiful spot off the coast of Cairns. Sorry, but this has broken my heart with disappointment and embarrassment being a local Aussie in Cairns.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled solo
20  Thank Bear_Wilson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2017

We stayed here for 4 days in July 2017 with the family. The rooms were great and kept very clean. They have a coin laundry onsite so that cut down on the clothes we needed to pack. We went on the Outer Reef Tour which was great. While there we went snorkeling and diving. We were pleasantly surprised by Marineland Melanesia which was much better than we were expecting. They had a couple of turtles swimming which made for a much better photo opportunity than in the ocean. While our snorkeling we also saw turtles as well as many fish. Not everyone was keen on diving so we did the Seawalker too which everyone thought was fantastic. My only complaint was that we couldn't take our own camera and that the photos for this were on the expensive side. I'd say dinner at the restaurant was pricey but it was the only choice for dinner. Having said that the food was pretty good.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kuchlein
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2017

We had 4 nights at Green Island Resort mid July. It was a very nice escape from mid Winter in Sydney.The island is actually a coral cay but the bonus is it is also a rainforest island. Rooms were generous in size with a big king sized bed. Eating options are limited on the island but the restaurant is just fine and you can order room service. Sunset drinks every day was a good way to meet other guests on the island after the day trippers had left.

Room Tip: Rooms away from the pool are quieter. Bring some snacks to have with drinks as options are limited on the island and a bit pricey.
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
3  Thank Robert H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2017 via mobile

We stayed here for 2 nights for a treat after our 3 week holiday. Rooms and private pool area were inviting and luxurious. Restaurant mainly outside delicious food but had to wait ages for food.
I dont think it was really worth $3500 for 2 nights ( we were a family if 5 and had 2 adjoining rooms).
We were the only Australian staying there as all the other guests were overseas and everything is geared for them ...especially Japanese. The Canadian waiter (coby?) did a tremendous job!i

Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
3  Thank Helen W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews