We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“great adventure”

Marineland Crocodile Park
Book In Advance
More Info
US$157.52*
and up
Green Island Sailing Cruise from Cairns
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Marineland Melanesia Crocodile HabitatSituated on beautiful Green Island off Cairns on the Great Barrier Reef. Home to Cassius - largest captive croc in the world at nearly 5.5 metres. Set on 3/4 acre garden setting with over 60 crocodiles, sea turtles, tropical fish aquariums, and museum of primitive art and marine artefacts. See our crocodile feeding shows at 10.30 and 1.30 daily, and have your photo taken holding a baby crocodile. Ask about our family rates.At our entrance you will find our gift shop, with a fantastic range - and the best prices. Souvenirs, T-shirts, beach clothing, towels, sunscreen, shells, coral, gemstones and jewellery. We make beautiful gemstone and coral jewellery here in our shop as well - take home something unique to Green island.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“great adventure”
Reviewed 29 June 2014

before visiting, this place sounds just for the family and kids, but after the adventure. definitely recommend for all kinds. also once you purchase the ticket, you are welcome back anytime during the stay. we took lots of pics and lucky enough touch the live crocs.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Bing-BiLu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

167 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    110
    44
    10
    3
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Bega, Australia
Level Contributor
51 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Up close & personal experience with crocodiles”
Reviewed 12 June 2014

An incredible display of Melanesian artifacts, great little aquarium and lots of crocodile to view up close. Feeding time is really exciting with two of the largest crocs being fed, an awesome display of the strength & size of these amazing reptiles. This is a great activity for all ages.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Country_girl00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
“Awesome experience”
Reviewed 30 May 2014

We were amazed at the strength of those jaws! Make sure you visit at feeding time as the show is eye opening. The staff were really informative and you are able to get so close and really experience their size and strength. Then hold "cuddles" the 4yo croc and feel his skin and belly. There is also a huge collection of beautiful artefacts from here and PNG. Very interesting place. A must see if you're going out to Green Island.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Jodie J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
148 reviews
59 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Crocodiles!!!”
Reviewed 22 May 2014

We were on Green Island for the day and made sure to catch the feeding of the Crocodiles here. The collection of Melanesian artifacts is scattered aound the complex with the stars of the show housed behind wire towards the back.

The park itself is showing its age a bit. I don't really like caged animals and found the pond which housed 2 turtles unfairly small. The croc cages are also small but they don't seem to need to do much moving around. The attendant, part of the owners family, really does genuinely care and respect the animals so maybe I'm just being sensative.

The crocs are huge but don't move until they sense the food. The attendant explains everything, from the founding of the Marineland to the crocodiles themselves, really well with lots of good humour and bantering. These are pretty awe inspiring beasts to watch and theres plenty of space around the various cages for everyone to see. Insect repellant is provided if you need it and you may even be lucky to cuddle a baby croc if you're there at the right time.

Overall its a nice family owned business that can be an interesting addition to your day at the Island.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank accidentalsunshine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cairns
Level Contributor
24 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Dreaming and Awesome”
Reviewed 1 May 2014

After travelling on Big Cat (love being on the water) to Green Island we embarked and headed straight towards Marineland Melanesia. It is a few minutes walk we made in time for the feeding of the crocodiles. I had heard about this little place but really did not know much other than it housed the world largest crocodile in captivity CASSIUS. He is awesome and aged 100years, Cassius is a giant compared to a lot of crocodiles have seen and would not like to meet him while swimming!.
Marineland has a museum, this is one where you can step back in time.One could let their imagination go back to the days of mystery with so many handcarved artifacts from different areas like PNG,and islands. Certainly an incredible place. It is a family run business.
I learnt so much about the crocodiles and held a year old crocodile.
The cost was under $20 for an adult and one could spend a few hours just loking at all the artifacts and photos. Highly recommend.
.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank janjanCairns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Marineland Crocodile Park also viewed

 

Been to Marineland Crocodile Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing