We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“awesome underwater world”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Heron Island Resort
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Heron Island
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 August 2014

Beautiful island with stunning underwater world in terms of animals. The corals do not have much colour but this may be because the island is quite far south or maybe they got damaged due to climate change? But there are a lot of corals and an incredible variety of fish. We also saw black tip reef sharks, a lemon shark, lots of cute epaulette sharks, two types of turtles and so many sting rays even just next to the beach where you could walk in with your shorts and take pictures. Seeing the birds fly out to sea in the morning and coming back again in the evening was awesome. Accommodation is OK but not that special. Unfortunately there was only a broom for cleaning the sand off and no water-tap as this would have helped to get the sand off our feet when coming back from the beach. With all the sand and the dripping water from wearing a wetsuit (which you need for snorkelling otherwise you freeze in July...) it got a bit mucky on the patio and inside sometimes. Would have been great to have had some kind of towel to clean the floor with. Food was plentiful and good, staff friendly. But the trip is really worthwile because of the stunning island and underwater world! Don't miss the reef walk and the very informative talks about all kinds of Great Barriere Reef topics!

Room Tip: book a reef room so you are closer to the sea
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Penguinita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ross G, General Manager at Heron Island Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 3 August 2014

Thank you very much for sharing your observations and experiences.

Hopefully if you are back this way you can again visit Heron Island ..........


Cheers


Ross Greenaway
Regional General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,760)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,117 - 1,123 of 1,760 reviews

Reviewed 31 July 2014

Went for a Wedding and EVERYTHING about the wedding was wonderful. The buffet breakfast the next morning was everything you would expect, however things went rapidly down from there.
As is was raining we has four hours to kill from when we had to vacate our rooms to when we could leave on the boat. Boring. We thought the highlight would be lunch, however my meal ( crab cakes ) was not edible. The waiter took my barely touched meal away without a word and with no enquiry as to what the problem might be.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank sueandjim78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ross G, General Manager at Heron Island Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 1 August 2014

Great to read that the Wedding held here went so well, and the special day will be memorable.

It is regrettable that it rained on your departure day, hampering your enjoyment of the Island. We would have gladly replaced your Fishcakes if we had of known, as it is certainly our intention to ensure that all dishes are cooked to taste.


Best regards


Ross Greenaway
Regional General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2014

I have just returned from this Island with my daughter and all I can say is Wow. Everything about it was good. First we were picked up by bus at the airport, which took us to the marina where we checked in and didnt see our case again until it was brought our room. Stepping onto the island we were given instructed to go to the bar where drinks were served and we were told about the island then left to our own devises. Ok there wasn't much to do but swim, snorkel, dive, watch for the turtles, whales, rays and sharks, so if this isn't your thing then maybe this wouldn't be for you.
The room had direct access onto the beach. Food was included and it was great food, I wanted to stay longer so I could try everything.
OK here are a few things that some people may not like but its an island so its what you should expect: No mobile phone coverage. Limited internet access, this is a bonus for me. Small children could be bored. There is 1 shop that is typically expensive, $8 for panadol so please ensure you have ample supply.
Please dont be put off by any of the negetives, the sea is crystal clear, the sea life is amazing and all the staff were friendly. If you want a relaxing holiday away from daily life this could be the place to go.

Room Tip: go for the beach front room if possible, its like having your own private beach area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank impy38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ross G, General Manager at Heron Island Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 29 July 2014

Thank you for the review, and we are delighted you enjoyed your holiday on Heron Island.

We do have logistical challenges due our location being 85 kms off shore, and we operate a supply barge weekly from Gladstone. Despite these logistical challenges I can assure you all our pricing is kept to the most reasonable levels possible.

Hope to see you back with us soon.


Cheers


Ross Greenaway
Regional General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2014

Just back from 12 wonderful days on Heron Island. Going in winter to escape Victoria's cold weather, the night time minimum was high than our day time is at home just now. The staff are friendly, food is great... the seafood platter at lunchtime was fresh, a little different each day we had it and includes prawns, Moreton bay bugs, cooked local fresh fish, calamari and sometimes oysters... yummy yum!, Teh food is mostly cooked to order, and there were no delays (as other people have commented upon) and it was always delicious. Winter is a good time to visit, not crowded, lots of the birds are present but not too noisy, and we were upgraded (very nice) to a beachfront suite. The snorkelling is easy, water was around 20 degrees, and there are plenty of tropical fish, rays and turtles as well as harmless reef sharks to see. If snorkelling is not for you, the water is so clear you can see much of the bigger wildlife from the jetty or beach, or go on one of the boat trips. We have an Entertainment guide ( a book of specials that supports charities ... costs around $60 and has more deals than you could ever use... and the Heron Island deal through them is for 30% off, so we saved well over $1500).

Fantastic for a rest, and you can do as much or little as you want. Remember, it is an island in a remote part of the world, so chill out, don't expect 5 star, but do count on it being comfortable, relaxing and a very special experience the wildlife on the reef is absolutely wonderful.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the generater
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank RoseandJeff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ross G, General Manager at Heron Island Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 25 July 2014

Hi Rose and Jeff

It was great that you had so long on island, and had a great stay. We all enjoyed meeting you both and we hope you can make it back to escape a few weeks of next years Creswick Winter!


Cheers


Ross Greenaway
Regional General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2014

For the price, I was expecting a 5 star resort. It's not and at first I was somewhat disappointed. Afterward, it was a lot better. My wife & I tend to be cheap! Our friends that we went with insisted this was the place to go.

The not-so-good - it is not particularly fancy, there are more birds than stars in the universe. If you are a clean freak (we are not) you won't like it.

The good - All the meals (B, L & D) are included in the price and are quite good. There are a number of free guided activities from a very friendly staff. The cost of other activities and rental equipment is reasonable. There is a lot of great snorkeling around the island without taking a boat anywhere. There is a lot a reef walking and sea live to view. While snorkeling, we saw giant turtles, giant clams, sting rays, sharks (harmless) and lots of fish - and coral!)

There is wifi at the lounge for $5/hour. I couldn't get cell phone coverage. But hopefully you can survive the withdrawal symptoms.

I would recommend taking an underwater point & shoot camera if you snorkel or scuba dive.

The place has more of the feel of a national park (which it is) rather than a fancy resort. If you are someone who wants the waiter to bring your drinks & meals to the pool side and insists on everything be in tip top shape, this is not the place for you. Please go somewhere else and don't bother others with your whining.

If you are active, flexible, not too picky and willing to create your own experience, it is a great way to go. The free stuff, reasonable prices for other activities and proximity to the reef somewhat make up for the high price. Remember, everything has to be shipped in and all waste has to be removed. Not cheap to do!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
7  Thank Bill N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ross G, General Manager at Heron Island Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 25 July 2014

Hi Bill, and thank you for the review.

You certainly have captured the essence of the Island and our environment, and we are delighted it suited your needs and despite your initial observations we did meet your expectations.

We do in fact make all our own water, power and waste disposal and import all goods weekly on our Barge - a challenge and costly, but well worth it to be able to showcase such a wonderful place.

Hope to see you back one day.

Best regards


Ross Greenaway
Regional General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2014

We had a brilliant short break on Heron. Just enough to do to be busy but plenty of time to relax. Really enjoyed the spa. All the resort staff were very friendly and helpful. Yoga would be a good addition to the activities.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank Jane R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ross G, General Manager at Heron Island Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 25 July 2014

Hi Jane

We are all pleased that you had a good time, and relaxed! Appreciate your positive feedback regarding the Island and our team.

Best regards


Ross Greenaway
Regional General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2014

Oh what sheer luck . I was not long in Australia when the opportunity came up to go to The GREAT Barrier Reef. The place was Heron Island. Young and adventurous at that time I couldn't wait as all I had known was what I'd learned at school in Scotland ,
A lovely boat trip from rockhampton over the magnificient Pacific Ocean and then the sight of this beautiful green little island Heron. Part of the chain of the world's greatest reef. The sea on the way over was full of giant turtles and all kinds of ocean wonders,
The island itself a blessing at that time of my youth I would gladly have parked myself for life.There were then peacocks who would randomly walk into the huts that were the accommodation quite fearless of any humans and the staff would tell us all the information on all creatures great and small . We even got to "rescue" baby turtles who mistook the bar lights at night for the moon so were instructed by the staff how to take care of them and send them to the ocean in the morning .Learned how to fish and how to protect also the wonders of the sea and the sights under the water were gob smacking .
At that time people from national Geo were there and during a talk I was "leaned" on by David Attenburough who was there filming giant turtles. he asked wonderful important questions.
If you love the sea sun life go there you won't be disappointed with one of the wonders of the world.The Great Barrier Reef.
avril hagan

Room Tip: any where is good the island is small and peaceful and part of the most wonderful reef on planet ear...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank dancingdiva91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ross G, General Manager at Heron Island Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 25 July 2014

It's a long way from Scotland and we are delighted that you made the journey, hope you can return again this year too..........

Best regards


Ross Greenaway
Regional General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Heron Island Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Heron Island Resort

Address: Via Gladstone, Heron Island, Queensland 4680, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Heron Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Heron Island
Price Range: £176 - £294 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Heron Island Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 109
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Heron Island is a true coral cay right on the World Heritage Listed Great Barrier Reef of Australia. Here you swim off the beach to an endless garden of coral. Activities include guided island and reef walks, semi-submersible cruises, bird watching and beach picnics, plus a Kids program. Voyages Heron Island is famous around the world for its scuba diving and snorkeling. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Heron Island Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Heron Island Hotel Heron Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing