We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best place on earth”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Lizard Island Resort
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Lizard Island
Certificate of Excellence
Gainesville, FL
Level 6 Contributor
386 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 389 helpful votes
“The best place on earth”
Reviewed 5 September 2011

My husband and I have traveled a fair amount and seen our share of the great outdoors (Galapagos, Pantanal, numerous amazing reefs in Hawaii and the Caribbean). But the combination of casual elegance, exceptional service, and natural wonders puts Lizard Island at the top of our travel list. We spent 3.5 weeks in Australia, and six nights of the trip were at Lizard Island. We loved every minute of it. We don’t dive, but excellent snorkeling is available right off several beaches, including the one near Osprey Island in front of the dive shack, where we saw a few anemone fish (Nemo), a black tipped reef shark, and numerous colorful and amazing fish. We were also able to take a dinghy to Clam Gardens one day (Giant Clams), and Mermaid Beach another (beautiful coral). We snorkeled from the beach every day and never felt the need to take one of the snorkeling trips.We are both biologists and loved seeing the large Gould’s sand monitor lizards on the island (the lizards are actually the reason we chose LI rather than any other island on the GBR), as well as a nice sized colony of flying foxes (fruit bats); we hiked to their roosting site right before dark and were rewarded with the amazing sights and sounds of them taking off to feed for the evening.
I probably don’t have a lot to add to the existing reviews of Lizard Island. We stayed in an Anchor Bay Suite which was spacious and lovely; spent hours on the lanai daybed reading the fascinating story of Mary Watson (later saw the “barrel” at a museum in Brisbane). Service was excellent – everyone was kind and helpful, and many of the young servers were quite enthusiastic and friendly. The staff at the dive shop were helpful and told us the best places to snorkel to meet our criteria (shallow and lots of fish). We were both very pleased with food and drink. Breakfast with fresh juices and yogurt of the day; an even better way to start the day were the grilled portabella mushrooms with goat cheese – YUM! Lunch for us was usually a gourmet picnic basket to take out with the dinghy. Post-lunch cocktails of the day, then a lovely dinner, often with Asian influences and fresh from the sea. And our first taste of kangaroo!
We hope to make it back to Lizard Island again in our lifetimes, it is one fabulous place.

Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank reptileenthusiast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

594 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    481
    74
    11
    19
    9
See reviews for
83
409
13
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (160)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Washington, DC
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2011

I actually stayed here for my honeymoon! I still pinch myself recalling how perfect it was from start to finish. Only 40 cabins on the entire island. I recommend staying in one of the Anchor Bay suites on the end of thge island. You have extra privacy and an entire beach to yourself right on the Great Barrier reef! There is a giant clam garden that is over a hundred years old and you swim over the giant clams in your own private white sand beach. MILLIONS of fish every color of the rainbow!!! I fwelt like the little mermaid every morning! They give you your own free boat to cruise around in and pack a gourmet picnic lunch in your boat. You can have lobster, cheeses, champagne...whatever your heart desires! Ultimate luxury. Also you get to reserve a private picnic location nobody else is allowed to visit for the day. Super private and romantic! The rooms are modernist immaculate, there is scented oil and towels in your room and it feels like a private spa. The staff plays music softly in your room when you return and leaves you treats like chocolate strawberries, champagne or fruit plates with sweet little notes on your bed. They always remember your name and drop everything to talk to you and make suggestions for fun stuff to do on the Island. I recommend an excursion to the Cod Hole to dive, snorkel mermaid cove, take a boat out for the day with a picnic and enjoy a sunset gourmet meal at the restaurant...Sublime Romance!!! I dream of this place all the time. Best getaway of my entire life!!!!

Room Tip: Try to upgrade to a suite if you can. Awesomeness.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank theloreli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lawrence, Kansas
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2011

Secluded and lovely, Lizard Island is the place I return in my mind's eye after a stressful day in the office. The resort offers private small villas and every amenity we could hope for, at the same time we were able to experience the great outdoor wonders of Australia. The diving and snorkeling are incredible and the staff makes sure you are able to experience it all. Our favorite day was taking a complimentary dinghy around the island to our own private beach for a delicious picnic of prawns, smoked salmon, assorted salads and champagne. The snorkeling from the beach was rife with vibrant corals, lipstick and giant clams as well as blue starfish and bountiful fish. Hiking Captain Cook's Look was great fun with views across the reef. The resort staff is friendly, the meals are fresh and innovative, the accommodations have a simple and lush grace. If you have the resources to visit this resort, don't miss it! It is a trip of a lifetime!

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank go4hawks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami Beach, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2011

The island is beautiful, the staff excellent, the dining 5 Star and the scuba amazing! We stayed 5 nights in a Suite and departed feeling both relaxed and fit after all the outdoor adventures and pampering. Both the full day and half day scuba trips were the best I have ever experienced, the dive staff is friendly and very professional, they prepare every detail so all you do is dive the reef, then enjoy the buffet once you get out of the water. I highly reccomend the hike up to Cook's Look, it is very aggressive but the reward of the view is fantastic. Every meal you have several healthy new options, fresh fruit and delicious mocktails. The days I worked up a large appetite from all of the snorkeling/adventures/swimming they glady upped the portions. Private beaches you drive your own little boat to with a picnic lunch they prepare (private= we were the only two people on a large beautiful beach with excellent snorkeling for 6+ hrs). Managers were very attentive to our every request, after 5 days we felt like old friends with several of the staff. The other guests on the island were all very classy and fun! We will return, we had an amazing vacation with the reefs and hikes but must return for the world class fishing. Thank you Lizard Island!

  • Stayed June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jbogi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2011

I took my mother to Lizard Island March for 3 nights and I have to say that this is paradise on earth. Mum is a little picky and she did not want to leave Lizard Island.
We stayed in a sunset point villa (recently refurbed) and had the best view over sunset bay (personally i think its the nicer side to stay on). The beach was deserted everytime we went there.
We didn't care the property was keyless (you have a safe on your room if your that worried about it).
The restaurant was fantastic and the reef fish was amazing (I had it everytime it was on the menu, even for breakfast). The hotel staff are simply there to help you anytime you need it and they will remember your name no matter how difficult to pronounce.
Went on a full day snorkel trip and i think anyone going there should at least do the half day (if they don't want to be on a boat all day). Azure Spa is worth a visit if you have the time (it was raining the first day we were there so we pampered ourselves), if you want to spend your day on the beach go for it.
The only downside was that I didn't stay longer.
This is one of the best properties I have stayed at and at my age (under 30) I have been lucky enough to stay in 5* luxury hotels/resorts around the world for my job.
I recommend this to anyone who is looking to just get away (no phone reception, but the business centre offers free wi-fi and you can use the internet for free).

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RBF84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hobart, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2011

you can actually have privacy here..real privacy ...where you take a dingy and picnic and the only rules are ;if you find another couple on a beach, you keep going till you find your own private beach. Climb to the lookout where James Cook found a vantage point to find a way through the reef system, if you are a fitness type, try to break the resort record to the summit and back. We just ran around naked like forest children on our private beach...its like Eden and Heaven meets Avatar. There is some interesting history regarding Islands first white settlers and indigenous peoples.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank convict-stock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Downers Grove, Illinois
Level 5 Contributor
41 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2011

The Lizard Island resort is like a dream come true. The rooms are large and overlook the ocean, mine (an Anchor Bay suite) with a huge daybed where I spent many hours reading, drinking champagne and watching the sun go down.

For those who love to snorkel, you can go directly onto the Great Barrier Reef from the beach, which is accessed by a short sandy path from your room. The reef is then about 5 feet from the shore. If you do not like to snorkel, there are plenty of sandy areas with no fish for you to swim and play in.

The resort has kayaks with glass viewing areas so you can kayak over the reef and see all of the action as well!

All meals and alcohol is included in the cost.

I could not say enough good things about this place!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shera34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Lizard Island Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lizard Island Resort

Property: Lizard Island Resort
Address: Via Cairns, Cook Shire, Lizard Island, Queensland 4871, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Cook Shire > Lizard Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Lizard Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Lizard Island Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lizard Island is truly secluded from the rest of the world. With 24 powdery-white beaches and 40 luxurious suites, it is the most northern resort in tropical Queensland and is located directly on the Great Barrier Reef. A National Park covering 1,013 hectares with 24 sandy beaches and a lagoon, Lizard Island is accessible only by private charter from Cairns Airport in northern Queensland, Australia. Cairns Airport is accessible from all major Australian airports and directly from some cities in Asia. The island is reserved for the fortunate few who will experience an unforgettable holiday like no other. Enjoy secluded picnics and sunset beach degustation on private beaches, five star cuisine in the beautiful Salt Water restaurant and indulgent spa treatments in the Essentia Day Spa. Relax in style in premium accommodation and take in the wonders of Australia's Great Barrier Reef - right on your doorstep. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Priceline, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Lizard Island Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lizard Island Hotel Lizard Island
Lizard Island Resort All Inclusive

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing