We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Oh yes, this is fantastic.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Lizard Island Resort
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Lizard Island
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 May 2013

Lizard Island is the place to go when you want to spoil yourself. The small plane takes you over the reef to the private runway. You are escorted into paradise by smiling, friendly and professional staff and the dream begins.

The food was varied and delicious. The chef will create something special for even the fussiest palate. The views are beautiful, the water clear and inviting.

The beers, wine and spirits were always waiting - just in case.

We had the degustation dinner on the beach. 7 courses matched with wines and an attentive waiter.

Comfortable rooms, lovely bedding and reefs that can be reached by pulling on a pair of flippers and kicking slowly for 30 seconds!

Please disregard silly comments you might read about requiring jacket and tie at lunch. That is nonsense. There certainly weren't guests lounging around the dinner table in speedos, boardies and thongs as others have suggested is an acceptable dress code.

It is comfortably, casually sophisticated (if that makes sense?). A pair of shorts, a nice t shirt or polo and a pair of sandals or sneekers would be a common sight.

I think possibly some of the excursions could be better priced, but really that is about the only criticism.

Love the staff, and love the feeling of total relaxation. It is worth the coin to really spoil yourself now and then. You are only on this side of the grass once!

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Peter1403
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (607)
There are newer reviews for Lizard Island Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

339 - 345 of 607 reviews

Reviewed 28 April 2013 via mobile

The biggest plus of the resort in my oppinion is the staff. Each and every employee is so friendly and welcoming and you really can feel that all of them like their job a lot. They are very attentive and do aspire after living up to every wish. So a big applause there! Also the food is just amazing and always very creative and delicious. The choices are somewhat limited which however didnt disturb us a second considering how good the food was. Lastly the island is really beautiful and we enjoyed our holidays a lot. However, there were also some things that didnt live up to our expectations. First of all the rooms, especially from the outside, as well as the resort itself should be looked after more. For instance there is a total lack of flowers and the floor of the paths breaks open at some spots. Secondly, we regretted a lot that the beaches are neglected: there are no towels available there, no umbrellas set up, the loungers are sometimes dirty and there was no service of drinks on the beach just outside the reception. This was really a bummer as it made it much more bothersome to enjoy the island's beautiful beaches. Lastly, the scuba diving is nice but just ridiculously expensive! I mean 600$ for a one dive trip for two persons? Seriously? To me that is almost insolent. I do not want to come across as avaracious, but e.g. in similarly exorbitantly prized first class flights we do see and appreciate the value for money much more than in these overprized diving trips.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Schdero
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2013

The snorkeling right off the hotel's beach is excellent. Cod Hole one of the ten greatest dive locations is a one hour boat ride away. Sincerely friendly staff in the restaurant and water sports. The wonderful surprise was the excellent cooking. Plus free wine including French Champagne and excellent Australian Cabernet and Chardonnay.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Preston T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2013

It's great to have enforced peace and tranquillity. One hour north of Cairns flying over the great barrier reef is just the beginning. There was plenty to do here and nothing to do! Just want we needed. Great beaches, plenty to see snorkling, optional trips to the outer reef, sailing,sups and kayaking. But most importantly tranquillity. Great food and service. Facilities are showing signs of consistent upgrade but not 5 star. But that's not what this place is about. It's VERY RELAXING. If you don't like it, then that's your problem. A great 4 day stay

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank toitoi53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2013

We visited Lizard Island in April and generally our experience was wonderful. The food was exquisite in every way; we were expecting incredible food and we were not disappointed at all. A huge congratulations to all chefs and food/beverage staff. The wait staff in the restaurants were also attentive, efficient and joyful to chat with. The restaurant staff, along with the Marine/beach staff were very informative about the island. We stayed in a Sunset Villa room and the view was just stunning. Late afternoons spent rocking in the hammock, sipping a wine and watching the sunset were magical. Our only issues were with the care of our room and the care of the staff to make you feel welcomed and special. The purpose of our visit was to celebrate my partner's big, milestone birthday. I made sure the staff new of this before our arrival but apart from a passing, "so, someone's had a birthday" from one staff member no one made any attempt to help make her feel special in any way. We have travelled extensively and were very surprised by this attitude. The care of the rooms was also a little haphazard. Some days we returned from a beautiful day snorkelling to find our room lacking - replacement of towels and re stocking of mini bar (mini bar is included in your daily tariff) incomplete. This was disappointing but did not ruin our holiday. Overall, we still had a marvellous time and would recommend this resort based on the stunning scenery, incredible food and relaxed and gentle pace found on the island. You don't have the crowds found on other Queensland Islands and this makes Lizard a truly relaxing place. The chance to unwind on your own private beach with fully stocked picnic was magical. A little more care of the basics, such as rooms, and the willingness to go the extra mile for guests will ensure that this resort will be world class.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank 12coco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2013

Long due review, but we stayed on Lizard Island for 4 nights in August 2012 following our destination wedding on Lizard's sister property, Wilson Island. All I can say is WOW! What a fantastic place. It is true paradise and luxury. We flew from the US, into Brisbane, then to Gladstone for Wilson, then back to Brisbane and up to Cairns to head to Lizard, but I'd do it again today if I could find the time! Getting to Lizard Island requires an hour flight from Cairns on a very small plane, which is somewhat expensive, but the views are awesome. We booked a Sunset Point Villa, which overlooks Sunset Beach and, of course, the sunset. We stayed in the furthest villa on the block. Each villa is actually one building that houses two rooms, but noise is never an issue. The villas are simple, but well appointed and spacious. Lizard Island includes all meals, most drinks, beach picnics and the minibar in the room. This all makes sense given the very steep price tag. When not doing a beach picnic or dinner, meals are served in Osprey’s, which is open air looking out toward the beach. The food was outstanding and the chef went out of his way to make sure my needs were met. He met with us to ensure it. The staff was like family (same with Wilson Island, too!) and they knew us by name the second we stepped foot onto the island. While on Lizard, we did a hike with the naturalist, Amber, to Cook’s Lookout, which is about 1200 ft up. The views were unreal. It was an open activity, but hardly anyone does it, so we had the naturalist all to ourselves. We also did a half day snorkel excursion in addition to the fabulous beach snorkeling. We did enjoy a massage at the spa, too. All of it was well worth it, in my opinion. Everything was just so wonderful that I can’t even describe it, other than as soon as my vacation time banks back up, we're planning a trip back, staying at least 5 nights, hopefully more, and doing even more snorkeling and visits to the spa.

Room Tip: The Sunset Point Villas are worth the extra money!
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank JellsieS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2013

Just off the Barrier Reef is a piece of Heaven called " Lizard Island". Put this on your " Bucket List " folks, you too can experience what Paradise looks like. The staff is what Kings and Royalties are pampered with. Your every wish is their comand. From picnics on a secluded island, yes I said it, Island! To a dinner by a Chef that may have worked for the Millionair Club. This place was fabulous and words dont do it justice. Experience this joy for yourselves, please!

Room Tip: My stay was right on the cliffs looking right over the ocean. This bungalow had a private pool and d...
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Tommy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Lizard Island Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lizard Island Resort

Address: Via Cairns, Cook Shire, Lizard Island, Queensland 4871, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Cook Shire > Lizard Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Lizard Island
Price Range: £1,050 - £1,711 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Lizard Island Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lizard Island is truly secluded from the rest of the world. With 24 powdery-white beaches and 40 luxurious suites, it is the most northern resort in tropical Queensland and is located directly on the Great Barrier Reef. A National Park covering 1,013 hectares with 24 sandy beaches and a lagoon, Lizard Island is accessible only by private charter from Cairns Airport in northern Queensland, Australia. Cairns Airport is accessible from all major Australian airports and directly from some cities in Asia. The island is reserved for the fortunate few who will experience an unforgettable holiday like no other. Enjoy secluded picnics and sunset beach degustation on private beaches, five star cuisine in the beautiful Salt Water restaurant and indulgent spa treatments in the Essentia Day Spa. Relax in style in premium accommodation and take in the wonders of Australia's Great Barrier Reef - right on your doorstep. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Lizard Island Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lizard Island Hotel Lizard Island
Lizard Island Resort All Inclusive

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing