We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“absolutely beautiful but at what cost ?”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Lizard Island Resort
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Lizard Island
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 June 2013

I ummed and aahed about this decision. Usually my husband and I travel overseas- we love our home country but it's so expensive too travel in. Despite graduating to high end hotel experiences the last few years, including Aman, we think carefully about spending our money and I was doubtful this resort would be value for money.
The reasons to stay are- The island is a winner, very pretty place, magical water, lots of fish and coral. Loved the day of snorkelling at No Name and swimming with the giant cod, seeing sharks etc. Relentlessly friendly young staff but as noted by other reviewers service is hit and miss. Although nicely apologised for we were often served after others who came later, a few mix ups with orders and very slow. Food is good but not top level at times. Sunday BBQ was fantastic, degustation less so- needed to supplement with lovely hot chips. The included alcohol and minibar is a nice touch but cocktails not included. DVD of snorkelling trip was beautiful but $ 95 is ridiculous. I think this place is not the best value- at this level of cost it raises expectations...

Room Tip: anchor bay suites are newly renovated
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank lisavanessa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (609)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

334 - 340 of 609 reviews

Reviewed 9 June 2013

Lizard Island is one of the most beautiful places on earth. The beaches are stunning and after being in search for the most beautiful crystal clear waters and several holidays in Asia we finally found it on Lizard Island. This place makes you feel like you are visiting a very special place. We were upgraded on arrival which was a nice touch. The rooms are nicely decorated, quite basic but I understand the vibe they are going for. We had steps by our room which led down to a beach that no-one used the whole time we were there. They could have provided nicer beach chairs or an umbrella as it did get quite hot and you can't stay in the sun for too long. There is no wifi in the room and pretty much the resort but that suited us for the fact we didn't want to be bothered with the outside world. We stayed for 3 nights and when we returned to Melbourne we felt like we had been away for a week and it took us one day to come to terms of city life again. I think that is a true sign this place is about total relaxation. They offered a complimentary dinghy that you can take around the island and we snorkelled with turtles just off the shore. We even had a reef shark swim by our feet as we were standing in the water. The food menu was limited but if you aren't a fussy eater this shouldn't be a problem and the wine list was great. Service was a bit hit and miss. David was fantastic and really enthusiastic as was Eric at the bar, however there were a couple of staff that weren't as good and seemed tired. When we stayed there weren't many guests and at breakfast I was amazed that they couldn't remember our coffee order in the morning especially by the last day after being served by the same people. I have stayed at places where they remember you the next day. There was also one incident where I had to get the room cleaned again as there was still sand on the floor and they hadn't mopped which was quite noticable. They also offer to stock the minibar with a beer of your choice and they hadn't fulfilled. Once again not a big deal but when you are paying luxury prices you expect a level of service especially when there were only 10 guests including us. In saying this I would definitely return one day as it is truly paradise on earth. One tip is to take strong insect repellant and use it at all times of the day. I was eaten alive and unfortunately it took one month to get over the bites.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank GiniMelb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2013

You arrive on a small plane out of Cairns on the resorts private Air strip. Everyone room is on the beach but the Honeymoon Suite at the tip of the resort is fabulous. The room is very private and has its own pool and sunning bed.

The restaurant in the hotel is 5 star and it fantastic with a beautiful bar area to watch the sunset before dinner.

The fishing, diving, snorkeling and beach sunning is the best in the world. The super sized clams and variety of fish, on the best coral reef in the world, makes everyday perfect.

The hard part was staying awake for the entire dinner after a day in the sun.

This is a "must" place for a diver that wants to stay at a high end resort.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mark B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2013

Spent 4 days at this paradise.
Cannot praise it high enough. The place is blessed by nature and good management.
The staff is very professional and genuinely attentive, making us feel like we own the place.
We stayed in one of the Sunset Villas.
Entirely adequate for a couple, PERFECTLY clean, spacious, excellent inclusive minibar.
Great ocean view and a very short stroll to the nearest beach.
The beaches are pure magic. Food (3 meals a day included) was top class and varied (lunch or dinner choices never repeated over the 4 days). Wine selection was also very good.
Meeting and dispatching from the island was well organized, complimentary transfers between Cairns airport and Hinterland Aviation was a nice touch.
All-in-all we felt as getting five star service all the way through.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank treplo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2013

We adored Lizard Island. Walk from your door to the beach and see the velvelty cobalt blue starfish on the ocean floor. Snorkel over the enormous 5-6' clams, and watch them gently breathe in and out. Take your own dinghy around the island and stop for a picnic. Fantastic. And then fantastic food, to boot.

One quibble. These are not bargain prices. I'd like to see them put a little more profits back into the physical plant. (though the brochure is accurate, to be fair)

PS We visited in Dec, about 5 years ago.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 6ContinentsNCounting
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2013

We have just returned from a wonderful 4 day stay at Lizard Island Resort. From the moment we glimpsed Lizard Island through the clouds we were totally enchanted. The island itself is absolutely stunning, but the staff community at the resort really made our stay such a pleasure. Everyone was so welcoming, friendly, helpful and just really lovely. The attitude of the staff tends to rubs off and impact your stay - here we felt the staff were happy which lent an extra air of happiness to our stay too! Many of the staff we spoke to had been at the island some years or had returned to work again which speaks a lot to us about the island.

The food was really amazing as were the wines. We had a beachside degustation the first night we were there - another birthday surprise for me husband! Really recommend this.

The trip was a birthday surprise and my husband reports he will never be able to match it, it has become our little paradise, our favourite of places we have travelled to - and we have travelled quite a bit.

We dived/snorkelled two locations, cod hole and no name reef. Emma made my experience so fantastic - I felt so safe with her and she is a wealth of information. The diversity of life on the reef is astounding the colours so beautiful. Makes me so sad how little regard mining companies, government, other corporations have and the poor way they treat the reef. Visiting the Lizard Island Research Station was terrific for learning about marine life and the impacts people have on the reef.

Overall we absolutely loved our stay. The little touches such as the beautiful essential oil burning in our room at night with cups of good night tea set out, the aesop products, the willingness of the staff to drop you to any beach and collect you when you like (packed picnic of course!) - we really can't think of anything they could improve.

Thank you for a wonderful stay and we will be back - look after that precious reef.

Room Tip: We stayed in a sunset point villa - gorgeous views and very private
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Little K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2013

Everything from the staff, food, and most importantly location. Once in a lifetime chance, and it was worth every penny. Make sure you go scuba diving, snorkeling, and take a picnic to your own beach.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Keelz22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Lizard Island Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lizard Island Resort

Address: Via Cairns, Cook Shire, Lizard Island, Queensland 4871, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Cook Shire > Lizard Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Lizard Island
Price Range: £1,042 - £1,740 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Lizard Island Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lizard Island is truly secluded from the rest of the world. With 24 powdery-white beaches and 40 luxurious suites, it is the most northern resort in tropical Queensland and is located directly on the Great Barrier Reef. A National Park covering 1,013 hectares with 24 sandy beaches and a lagoon, Lizard Island is accessible only by private charter from Cairns Airport in northern Queensland, Australia. Cairns Airport is accessible from all major Australian airports and directly from some cities in Asia. The island is reserved for the fortunate few who will experience an unforgettable holiday like no other. Enjoy secluded picnics and sunset beach degustation on private beaches, five star cuisine in the beautiful Salt Water restaurant and indulgent spa treatments in the Essentia Day Spa. Relax in style in premium accommodation and take in the wonders of Australia's Great Barrier Reef - right on your doorstep. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Lizard Island Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lizard Island Hotel Lizard Island
Lizard Island Resort All Inclusive

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing