We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing holiday”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Daydream Island Resort & Spa
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Daydream Island
Sydney, Aust
Level Contributor
366 reviews
85 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 154 helpful votes
“Relaxing holiday”
Reviewed 1 September 2014

I stayed here last week as a party of eight friends. All rooms, and the resort overall, were very clean and well presented. As stated in other reviews, the decor is a little dated, but all facilities are well maintained. Wi-Fi is only available in the atrium / foyer area of resort, not in the rooms.
There is not a lot to do on the island, jet skis (price?) sunset kayaking ($15 pp) archery (free) bingo ($10pp) putt putt ($10 pp). Activities desk can organise GBReef tours, Whitehaven Beach trips, helicopter rides or transport to Hamilton Island ($96) The beach is coral not sand, I didn't see anyone swimming in the ocean around the island the whole week we were there. Lots of pool areas though to choose from for a swim.
Waterfalls restaurant is great for breakfast, but do yourself a favour and skip pizza & pasta night @ $49 per person, the food was terrible! The a la carte menu at Mermaids is small but delicious. Splashes BBQ night is good value, as is Fishbowl restaurant. With cocktails at $15:00 each, all eight of us decided to have an alcohol free week- no one likes to be ripped off.
Staff can really make a difference between a good stay or a bad stay. We had some great staff encounters, activities manager Norman, Mermaids - Kyle & Renae, all made our experience fantastic. Other staff were less friendly, which was a shame.
Overall a nice, relaxing weeks vacation. I thoroughly enjoyed the Bali Boys music in the Lagoon bar of an evening.

Room Tip: Ground floor would be good with kids, closer to pools & play ground.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sue H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DaydreamIsland, Guest Relations Manager at Daydream Island Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 3 September 2014
Dear Sue H,


Thank you for giving us some insight into your stay on Daydream Island.

As you have mentioned we endeavor to reach the highest standard of presentation in our resort so we appreciate that these efforts are felt by our guests. We want to give everyone convenient access to as many facilities as possible to make their stay more comfortable and will continue to do so moving into the future.

Should you choose to return to us at Daydream Island and find you are travelling on a budget make sure you take advantage of the complimentary services we have on offer in the resort numbering at over 20, such as Catamarans, Kayaks, Daily Fish Feeding and our Outdoor Cinema.

We try to keep our menu diverse and interesting in all of our restaurants, so I’m sorry to hear you didn’t feel as though you got value for money in our dinner buffet, but am glad that you found the Splashes BBQ to be better suited for your individual needs and that you also enjoyed the breakfast offering at Waterfalls restaurant.

Mermaids is our signature restaurant on the island and one that we pride ourselves on so I am pleased that your occasion there was a pleasant one.

Another aspect we pride ourselves on is the time and attention given to our guests by our staff members. I will be sure to pass on your comments to the staff you have mentioned in your feedback which I am certain will be well received by all and will serve as motivation to continue to deliver an outstanding level of service.

We are grateful that you took the time to share your experiences with us regarding your time on Daydream Island.


Warmest regards,

Joshua Smith
Guest Service Manager
Daydream Island Resort & Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,006 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    568
    616
    384
    234
    204
See reviews for
697
780
30
31
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (545)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 August 2014

I'm here for a conference, brought along a girlfriend. My colleague brought her family. We were disappointed within an hour of landing on the island. We arrived in the off season. Most facilities are shut or only available at-hock with no further instruction. Food is scarce, hard to get and insanely overpriced. The service is appalling and alcohol is so expensive, you either mortgage your house or bring your own!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 82Female
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DaydreamIsland, Guest Relations Manager at Daydream Island Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 3 September 2014
Dear 82Female,


Thank you for taking the time to share with us some of the aspects of your time on Daydream Island.

We do our utmost to inform all of our guests at time of arrival the rotation of which restaurants are available on any given day during their stay. These options can be found on a schedule provided to you as we introduce you to the island, as well as at many other locations throughout the resort.

We want our guests to be comfortable and feel as though they have options while on the island as well as getting value from their dollar. Should you find yourself with the opportunity to experience the other islands in the surrounding area you will see that we are particularly competitive in comparison here on Daydream Island.

I am sorry to hear that we did not meet your expectations during your stay in the resort. Perhaps on another occasion you may consider returning to us when you are not confounded to the scheduled requirements of your conference so as to take advantage of all that the resort has to offer.

Feedback from our guests is always greatly welcomed and we would like to thank you for raising the points that you have about your stay on Daydream Island.


Warmest regards,

Joshua Smith
Guest Service Manager
Daydream Island Resort & Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Daydream Island hotels

4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Hervey Bay, Australia
Level Contributor
47 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 August 2014

I don't know which island that some of your recent reviewers have been on but it doesn't sound like the island I was on last week.
The staff I encountered were friendly, helpful and only too happy to assist.
The buffet food (Waterfall Restaurant) could have been hotter as it cooled off quickly in the cool, breezy evenings. Lunch at Mermaids was excellent, prompt and friendly service.
It is a bit dated and could do with a bit of a spruce, but the rooms we had were clean, didn't smell and reasonably comfortable. The bed was a bit hard for me but that is personal taste.
A bit pricey for drinks, but, it is a resort island and that is to be expected.
A great family place, lots for kids.
All in all, a great few days.

Room Tip: Depends on age, away from pool for older people, poolside for younger
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank philh49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 August 2014 via mobile

In 2012 we have visited Daydream Island for 10 beautiful nights.Weather was nice and worm .Accommodation was OK .Staff was helpful and pleasant to deal with.Every morning we would be visited by hordes of kangaroos, which was nice and pleasant.Dive on outta reef reminded me movie "Finding Nemo".One thing that I was disappointed with were the beaches ,advertise as white and sandy,instead coral and stones.Sand was there,but not even close to white colour :-) Can't have perfect holidays every time .Very pleasant stay,thank you DDIsland.

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Dariusz R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 29 August 2014

We got back yesterday from 3 nights on daydream island and 2 nights at airlie beach . We wish we had of booked at least 5 nights at daydream , I nearly cried when we had to leave it , the staff were all absolutely amazing , the whole resort was spotless, food was amazing ,loved the shell necklace , photo, guys playing guitar and moch tail on arrival .
We sat and listened to the Bali boys singing every night , just loved them .
We were offered a free photo shoot with Kerry , she was lovely and a amazing photographer , we loved the photos she took and we had fun doing it . I can't understand how anyone can't luv it there. We are planning a big family get together there next year , we have never had a better holiday ,it was a great 25 anniversary holiday.
Thank you to everyone on daydream island . Kathy and Paul leek.xx

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kathyleek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 August 2014

Was looking forward to a 3 day stay at the resort and spa but after the first day we couldnt wait to leave the place. Arrived around noon and didnt know you had to book in to eat at the restaurants because apperently the restaurants are only open at certain hours so we werent able to book till 8pm the first night. This really pissed us off as we hadnt eaten all day. And everything was closed except the hotel kiosk which had some snacks with ridiculous prices. Everything was super overpriced and the food was terrible. I would not recommend this place to anyone. We even met others there who had the same opinion as us so it was frustrating nothing had been done about it. All the staff were super weird, i think they have been there for too long! Perhaps time for some changes. And on top of all the outragous prices they even put a 2$ charge for a cancer run on the invoice which you had to request to not pay, this just made me furious how they can do that without asking customers first, money was never the issue but the fact they pretty much did it because many customers would not
Ask to get it removed because it was only 2$. To me it was all about principle. And this
Is possible the worst place ive stayed in my life. Would never stay there again and not recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Andre H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DaydreamIsland, Guest Relations Manager at Daydream Island Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 7 September 2014
Dear Andre H,


Thank you for raising with us the issues you experienced during your stay on Daydream Island, please allow me to address some of your concerns.

When our guests arrive here on the island we make every effort to inform them of the facilities we have available and the operating hours. We do this as our outlet operating hours and days tend to fluctuate dependant on time of year and occupancy.

As you have mentioned for lunch we do have light snacks available at our Coffee Beans café, these are an alternate option to our Mermaids ala carte restaurant which serves lunch daily from 11:30am to 2:30pm. If this was not properly communicated to you during our introduction to the island I do sincerely apologize for the inconvenience, it is certainly outside our normal practice not inform everyone of what is available to them. All of our staff members on site are well aware of our lunch service periods and would have been happy to properly advise you.

We attempt to remain affordable and cost effective for all our guests during their time on Daydream Island.

As part of our effort to support Breast Cancer Australia we are notifying all our guests of the cause and giving them the option of whether they would like to make a small contribution to our “Dream Team” girls who are attempting to raise $5000 before participating in a walkathon in October of 2014. I am sorry you feel as though this was not acknowledged with you by our reception team and should you have felt in any way that the donation was being forced upon you.

Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts with us and we will address the points you have brought forth.


Warmest regards,

Joshua Smith
Guest Service Manager
Daydream Island Resort & Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
maitland nsw
Level Contributor
26 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2014

We had been saving and looking forward to this holiday for soooo long. From the moment we stepped off the boat we were disappointed. Room not ready that ok but don't offer me a room with a better view for extra $40.00 per night. Got to room mmm seemed not bad. Then found leaking tap, no face washers mmm that ok. Go to the resturant that night for a BBQ $47 per head and that all it was. Fell down stairs on wet floor scared me as I had hip surgery 18mths before luckily just a bruised bum although my hip is playing up now. Chicken pink but were told it cooked. Everything at main area is ok but dated and lounges stained. Poly pipe outdoor lounges omg they were around in the 80's. Bakery at other end of island had a nice salad furniture there is an embarrasment as well. Mini Golf second hole ball got stuck and felt on ground torn so run down (knock it down) Got a refund on mini golf. Lovers Cove the best place new decking and furniture. I understand if you are doing it up but the overall prices are so high. Can coke $4.00 can spirit & coke $10.00 Bottle bubbles $57.00 Panadol $8.50 Your free breakfast was not very good scrambled eggs (was it powdered eggs) and bacon was horrible. Even charge you for a reef talk I mean come on already paid for the holiday and you want more. Unfortunately we stayed for 7 nights! 6 nights too many. Sorry people not good enough. Oh a tip for the reception staff....when a person walks up to the counter and you serving someone else and finish don't eye ball them to come to you! move your butt and great them and politely ask them to come to the other end if you need to use your computer.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BuffyMaitlandNsw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DaydreamIsland, Guest Relations Manager at Daydream Island Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 7 September 2014
Dear BuffyMaitlandNsw,


We appreciate you taking the time to give us feedback on your time at Daydream Island Resort & Spa.

As you will find with most hotels we do have a minimum guaranteed check in time for the resort, which is 2pm. When you arrive we will certainly do all that we can to accommodate you immediately, though we do also need to be mindful of allowing our service team the required time to prepare the rooms for all of our arriving guests.

I am astounded by the news you were involved in an incident where you fell on one of our surfaces, it is my hope that our resident nurse was notified and attended to you at the time. The health and well being of all our guests is of the utmost importance so if you would like to speak to me regarding please do not hesitate to contact me directly by email joshua_smith@daydreamisland.com or telephone (07) 4948 8798.

Here at Daydream Island we only serve to our guests real fresh ingredients from all of our food and beverage outlets and we are particularly mindful of contamination.

I look forward to hearing from you in the future should you have any concerns you wish to discuss.


Warmest regards,

Joshua Smith
Guest Service Manager
Daydream Island Resort & Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Daydream Island
6.7 mi away
Palm Bay Resort Whitsundays
Palm Bay Resort Whitsundays
#1 of 2 in Long Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 244 reviews
11.3 mi away
Reef View Hotel
Reef View Hotel
#5 of 5 in Hamilton Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,293 reviews
11.4 mi away
Whitsunday Apartments Hamilton Island
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.1 mi away
Palm Bungalows
Palm Bungalows
#3 of 5 in Hamilton Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 541 reviews
2.9 mi away
Coral Point Lodge
Coral Point Lodge
#1 of 1 in Shute Harbour
4.0 of 5 bubbles 57 reviews
14.3 mi away
One&Only Hayman Island
One&Only Hayman Island
#1 of 1 in Hayman Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 928 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Daydream Island Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Daydream Island Resort & Spa

Property: Daydream Island Resort & Spa
Address: 4740, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > Queensland > Whitsunday Islands > Daydream Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Daydream Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Daydream Island Resort & Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 289
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Daydream Island Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Daydream Island Resort And Spa
Daydream Island Hotel Daydream Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing