We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Sails”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Sails

Sails
Price range: US$6 - US$29
Cuisines: Australian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Child-friendly, Groups, View, Bar Scene, Local cuisine
Dining options: After-hours, Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Brunch, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Sails Steak and Seafood Grill overlooks Catseye Beach - meaning breakfast, lunch and dinner are served with very pleasant views. What you'll love about Sails Steak and Seafood Grill: - Sample some of Australia's best seafood and prime beef, cooked to perfection, in a spectacular poolside setting. - Both the lunch and dinner menus include a selection of delicious seafood. - The generous buffet breakfast - which is offered daily. - With a relaxed, tranquil vibe, Sails Steak and Seafood Grill is perfect for families or groups of friends. - If you're staying at the Reef View Hotel, Palm Bungalows, or any holiday home booked through Hamilton Island Holiday Homes, you can also take advantage of our Kids Stay & Eat Free offer - where children up to 12 years can eat free when dining with their parents, and when they choose an item from the kids' menu.
Mackay, Australia
Level Contributor
161 reviews
104 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Sails”
Reviewed 10 July 2012

Great pub, big meals. Tab and gaming upstairs. Great place to hang out with friends.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Lauren G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

991 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    201
    332
    275
    107
    76
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne
Level Contributor
27 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Good lunch - limited menu”
Reviewed 7 July 2012

Title says it all, if you are there for a few days you'll be going elsewhere despite the magnificnet spot and fantastic views.
Quality of food is good, would be great to see a bigger selection.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank gonz-83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
helena-jo
Level Contributor
93 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Good Food and Stunning Setting”
Reviewed 30 June 2012

Reasonably expensive - $25 for a buffet continental breakfast per adult - but the setting so close to the beach near the pool area was worth the price.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank helena-jo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
brisbane
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Great food”
Reviewed 17 June 2012

Loved the steak and the best chicken parma!. We went back so we could savour the taste all over again.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank sharleneanddarryl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Noosa, Australia
Level Contributor
96 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Cattle call”
Reviewed 11 June 2012 via mobile

Finding somewhere to eat on Hamilton Island can be a challenge. It was the allure of a steak that brought us here but really I am not sure it was worth the effort. I suppose it was fine on the second attempt because the island had emptied out after the long weekend and we could get a table after only a 30 minute wait.

This restaurant does not take bookings (not unusual in Hamo) & after you queue to get to the door you get directed to the bar to try and find somewhere to stand whilst you wait 30 minutes plus for a table. Once at the table you are given a menu and told to join the queue to order your meal after you have made your selection of food. Oh and if you want a drink you can go and queue there too. For a restaurant that does not offer table service I was astonished at the prices. $38 for an eye fillet + $2 for sauce + $7.50 for veg and almost $50 later I had my steak.

Now I just can't understand why steakhouses cannot cook a steak but this place was no different. I ordered medium rare and got medium well. Steak was tender but from the dry mouth I woke up with the morning after I wondered if this was a result of artificial meat tenderizers and preservatives on the steak.

This is not the place for a quiet dinner for two nor is it a cheap meal. Other restaurants had dearer menu prices but at the end the price would have been about the same. Other restaurants were cleaner, quieter and offered service.

Give the steakhouse a big miss.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank DragonFan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Sails also viewed

Hamilton Island, Whitsunday Islands
Hamilton Island, Whitsunday Islands
 
Hamilton Island, Whitsunday Islands
Hamilton Island, Whitsunday Islands
 
Hamilton Island, Whitsunday Islands
Hamilton Island, Whitsunday Islands
 

Been to Sails? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing