We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Review Highlights
Breath taking

A safe and enjoyable way to see Hamilton Island and surrounding Island So blue So clear for miles... read more

Reviewed 3 weeks ago
Gai M
The best way to enjoy Whitehaven Beach

This experience is a must if your're staying on Hamilton Island. It is the best way to view to... read more

Reviewed 3 weeks ago
Samantha H
,
Sydney, Australia
Read all 335 reviews
  
Reviews (335)
Filter reviews
304 results
Traveller rating
266
21
4
2
11
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
266
21
4
2
11
Show reviews that mention
All reviews heart reef helicopter flight sea plane the great barrier reef whitehaven beach reef world hardy reef sparkling wine picnic rug friendly pilot beach blanket middle seat private picnic smooth flight minute tour aerial tour ground staff
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 304 reviews
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

A safe and enjoyable way to see Hamilton Island and surrounding Island So blue So clear for miles and miles.

Thank Gai M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This experience is a must if your're staying on Hamilton Island. It is the best way to view to islands & the birds eye view helps you to fully appreciate the vastness of the individual islands that dot the landscape.
Our trip took us to the unforgettable Whitehaven Bech. Accessing the beach via helicopter, rather than boat, ensures that you had access to a very quiet part of the long beach, as the helicopters travel further along the beach than where the boats are moored.
The package also includes a small picnic, water and wine, picnic blanket & sun umbrella. After swimming, this was a perfect way to enjoy the scenery & vista. We had about 1.5 hours on the beach before flying back to the airport. The pilot was fantastic, as were the other staff members.

Thank Samantha H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We enjoyed a fabulous three hour small seaplane tour over the reef (including Heart Reef), followed by a water landing at Whitehaven Beach with an hour or so to swim and enjoy a sparkling wine picnic lunch. Just four of us on board so everyone had a window seat. We had a fab pilot (Julian) who was very safety conscious, professional and friendly. He provided interesting commentary along the way and took the time to ensure that folks on both sides of the plane had great views. This was a wonderful follow-up to our snorkelling experience the previous day, offering a very different reef experience which should not be missed. We have some incredible photos and lots of magical memories. This ‘Dream Tour’ is aptly named. At AUD$499 per person, not unreasonable and worth every penny.

1  Thank top-trippers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Taking of from Quail's helipad Resort,we flew 30 minutes to reach the Exceptional Whitehaven Beach.We landed on the white sandy beach to have fun and picnic for an hour drinking some Australian sparkling nice white wine.
Than we flew again over the Hardy Lagoon to see the Heart-Shaped Coral of hear reef.
In a couple of weeks you will be able to snorkel near it.So don't miss that!
Short after we landed to the reef pontoon and we navigated the Reefworld platform at the Great barrier reef reserve.We snorkeled about two hours with colorful reef fish coral and turtle.Sometime we dive on the edge of a channel water known as the River.So impressive to see by seaplane.
This is an unforgettable adventure trip to do with friends and family.

Thank Giophs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2018 via mobile

I just did the cruise and helicopter back from Hamilton Island tour - paid $480 pp round trip. I was a little disappointed with the helicopter ride back - already it was an overcast day and rough trip on boat to the pontoon- didn’t see any blue ocean or sky - early October is probably not a good month to come here - was so excited thinking I would get a better view flying back! Well I sat in the middle seat of helicopter and could only see the copter consule most of my my $480 ride! Each window was far enough that I wasted my money on this helicopter! I didn’t even know what the heart reef was ! It was a minute tour and I didn’t realize what he was talking about! If you get the middle seat - consider it a waste of yr money. Ben the pilot was not very good at making sure every person got a good view. I would say eliminate the middle seats or discount the poor people sitting in middle cos they don’t see any good views. I feel ripped off!

1  Thank sangeeta3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2018 via mobile

What an absolutely experience aboard the helicopter tour over the Whitsundays and to the Heart Pontoon for snorkelling.
For anyone wanting the full tourist experience and for us as first timers, this was the perfect spot to have a helicopter ride. The beauty of the Whitsundays is next level.
What an amazing experience we won’t forget in a hurry.
Also very much appreciated the champagne and snacks they provided as well. Would have loved to have done the Whitehaven Beach helicopter tour.

1  Thank jh2615
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2018 via mobile

We did a helicopter flight out to the reef and the views were absolutely stunning. Our pilot was very friendly and a very professional service

Thank Jacqui P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2018

I would recommend Hamilton Island Air for a fly and cruise experience to the Great Barrier to anyone planning to visit that amazing part of Australia.
The overall experience was perfect. The staff of the "fly" part was extremely professional. The helicopter ride to the reef was unforgettable.
Once on the barrier, we were welcomed by excellent people who showed us around including security rules. The buffet on the boat was made, but nobody should go there for the food buffet. The reef is the show to see.
Snorkeling was exceptionally good because the waters were very clear. The pontoon staff is always there to look after you.
On the way back from the reef, we enjoyed watching several whales as thy transit in the area when it's winter.
A big thank you to all the staff of Hamilton Island Air!

Thank Giovanni141967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2018

We were on Hamilton Island staying at Qualia Resort and found out you could fly straight from their helipad to Hardy Reef (Reefworld) to snorkel on the reef. We had been considering the cruise there and back -2 hours each way! However, Hamilton Island Air takes you there in 30 minutes, you snorkel for 2 hours, and then 30 minutes back! And the ride is spectacular with amazing views of Whitehaven Beach, whale sitings, and cruising along the Great Barrier Reef from 500 feet! A quick look at Heart Reef, so cute, and you are landing on a floating dock and on your way to Reefworld for amazing snorkeling on Hardy Reef! There are changing rooms, bathrooms, wet suits and snorkeling gear on Reefworld and Hamilton Island Air supplies champagne and refreshments for after the swim! Our pilot Dan, was outstanding! Very knowledgeable about the islands and the reefs and the ride could not have been smoother. This was the highlight of our trip to Hamilton Island and we have HIA to thank for it! I HIGHLY recommend this experience. It is a must!!! And so it Hamilton Island Air!

1  Thank Ellen F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2018 via mobile

Had a fantastic sea plane tour over the barrier reef with a stop on Whitehaven beach for champagne and nibbles.
A super flight, our pilot was very informative and flew low over reef for super photos and amazing views of shark,whales,turtles and fish and of course the reef. Great weather and a great trip. I highly recommend plane not helicopters as they frighten the wildlife and you won’t get as close.

Thank paula s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews