We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Reef View Hotel
Nearby Hotels
Palm Bungalows(Hamilton Island)(Great Value!)
US$362
US$319
Palm Bungalows
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Beach Club(Hamilton Island)
US$595
US$558
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Colonial Palms Motor Inn(Airlie Beach)(Great Value!)
US$117
US$111
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$523
US$324
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Heart Hotel and Gallery Whitsundays(Airlie Beach)(Great Value!)
US$148
US$133
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
Whitsunday on the Beach(Airlie Beach)(Great Value!)
US$109
US$101
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Qualia Resort(Hamilton Island)
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Daydream Island Resort(Daydream Island)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
The Islands Inn Motel(Airlie Beach)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Reviews (2,570)
Filter reviews
2,570 results
Traveller rating
903
1,047
391
134
95
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
903
1,047
391
134
95
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbuffet breakfasttwo double bedscatseye beachpool terracetour deskrooms are largeseparate toilethigh floorkids eat freeswim up barsails restaurantgolf buggyfish and chipsfloor roomone tree hillhigh risebeautiful island
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1,513 - 1,518 of 2,570 reviews
Reviewed 11 November 2013

Hamilton Island is definately worth a visit.....it exists within its own little bubble and therefore transports you away from the world for a short time.
We stayed at the Reef View Hotel and from the moment we arrived the level of customer service was superb, the conceige desk were very helpful in booking restaurants. A shuttle bus is operated to collect you from the ferry and bring you to the hotel.
The views from the rooms were spectacular, perfect panaromic views of the reef, couldnt ask for more, we were located on the 12th floor.
The rooms themselves were very spacious, large bed, fresh beach towels were offered on a daily basis. However the room was a little bit dusty at times (shelving behind the bed), and the bathrooms could do with a bit up-dating.
Breakfast in the hotel - everything was catered for, very good selection, that can be enjoyed outside on the pool terrace. Also if you fancy trying somewhere else for breakfast you have the choice of Sails or breakfast with the Kolas, incuded in the B&B rate.
As more or less everything on the Island is operated by Hamilton Island Enterprises it means that you can room charge wherever you go which is very handy as it means you don't have to carry large amounts of cash with you.
We hired a buggy for the day which was very useful, bit pricey, but to be expected. There is free shuttle buses that operate around the island to get you from A-B, these are very frequent, and pick you up from the entrance of the hotel.
Must do......watch the sunset from the look-out, the island has a portable bar which they set-up which is a great idea, and added that little bit extra to an already perfect setting.
All of our dining experiences were exceptional - again the level of customer service was the best I have experienced in a long time. I would recommend all the restaurants that we sampled....Romanos, Manta Ray Cafe, Chi-Chi & Bommie.
Lots of free activites available on the beach, but we were just too relaxed lapping up the atmosphere to avail of any!!!

Room Tip: High floor to get better views of the reef - 19 floors in total, we stayed floor 12 ideal
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank disco2diva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2013

We just had the one night at Reef View Hotel, however we are keen to return to stay some more nights. We had a fantastic view from our 8th floor room. The room was well appointed and also had a fantastic spacious balcony. Mini bar was well stock and reasonably priced. We checked in very early as we had arrived from Daydream Island via ferry and were very pleased that our room was ready way before the generally accepted check in time of 2 pm. Great service. Buffet breakfast was lovely, although I recommend you go early as there was quite a large queue waiting for tables by 8.30 am.

Room Tip: Go for a room with a view - higher floors are better
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CONNIEM66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 November 2013

Stayed at the Reef View hotel for three nights on the 16th floor. The service at the hotel was great from start to finish. Everything was extremely organised including the airport pick up and drop off. Arrived around 12pm had some lunch and soon after received a call saying our room was ready. The coral coast views from our room were absolutely amazing. Hotel was very close to the beach and had a great pool on site. The marina was conveniently located about a 10min walk away. You could also take a free shuttle bus. There were also great walking trails close to the hotel. Would definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DarlingH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamilton_Island_Aus, General Manager at Reef View Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 November 2013

DarlingH

Thank you for your review & of course for staying with us.

Very happy to read that your holiday went off without a problem & that our team were able to assist with your stay.

Hope to see you again soon

Warm regards

Matt Boileau
General Manager
Reef View Hotel & Palm Bungalows
HAMILTON ISLAND

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 November 2013

We had a wonderful 25th anniversary holiday. Staff was friendly efficient and helpful at all times. Manager surprised us with an upgrade at it was AMAZING! It was truly the holiday of a lifetime. Highlight was excursion to the Great Barrier Reef. Hamilton Island is an wonderful place for a dream vacation. Reef View has a great location for walking to beach, marina and many restaurants. Rooms a bit dated but comfortable and clean!! Staff ready to help you at any time!! Thank you!!

Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Sandra B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamilton_Island_Aus, General Manager at Reef View Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 November 2013

Dear Sandra B

Firstly thank you for not only your review but for also choosing to stay with us for such an important occasion.

Touched to hear you had such a great vacation & the upgrade really was my pleasure.

We really are in a great location on Hamilton Island & I’m always proud to hear our staff were able to assist you.

A pleasure having you with us & we hope you can visit again soon.

Thank you again.

Warm regards

Matt Boileau
General Manager
Reef View Hotel & Palm Bungalows
HAMILTON ISLAND

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2013

The location is stunning and the Reef View Hotel has made the most of the views. The view from our 13th floor room was breath taking. The buffet breakfast that was included with the room was a real hit with the kids ! There are so many activities included with the room it really makes it good value. Unfortunately for us it was a little too windy for us to use the cats and and the water was a bit too stirred up for good snorkelling. But that's mother nature for you ! We will come for longer next time to try and make better use of the inclusions. The staff at the hotel are very friendly and so helpful. Our room was tidied daily and towels changed. We really enjoyed out stay.

Room Tip: We only stayed for 3 nights I recommend a longer stay to really get the full benefit especially considering a lot of the value comes form being able to get out on the reef and mother nature does not always play nice :) Higher floors have the best views
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LisaKD1679OM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews