We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good weekend escape”
Review of Reef View Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Reef View Hotel
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Hamilton Island
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 November 2013

Really enjoyed my stay in this hotel. I got a room on the 8th floor so had a superb view! The room was very spacious and the air con was just perfect. There were so many activities included as part of the hotel package. Although the price is fairly high, consider the activities and amenities provided by the hotel, it beats any other resort stay! Got a good price via a members website. I am hoping to be back there next year!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rossfigo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,438)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,395 - 1,401 of 2,439 reviews

Reviewed 11 November 2013

What a beautiful tropical setting! The entire island has a great resort feel. Perfect for families with lots of activities to keep everyone happy.
But don't expect 5 star service or quality (despite what you pay-everything is pricey). I'm sure 15 years ago the hotel probably shined and gleamed with all the new fittings. But today it really looks dated and daggy.

As i was here for work, and work booked my room(probably cheapest available-but still very pricey)I was unfortunately given room 212. Not a great view, you can see the pool and trees, but no water view as mentioned in other reviews of the upper floors.

But the real issue is the supersonic cyclone resistant willy wonka type elevators located right next to my room. Don't even try to have an afternoon nap with these going up and down all afternoon. You will soon forget you're in a tropical paradise and feel like you're trying to sleep in an office tower in the maintenance room! And the beautiful waterfall you notice upon checkin in the foyer- dont let appearances fool you. From my bed it sounded like someone was permanently hosing concrete!! So I asked for a quieter room please. No can do I was told. We are full to capacity and cannot move you. They did turn off the waterfall in the evening and closed down the 2 elevators closest to rooms at night- but trust me you can still hear the others going all night. And the general noise from the foyer still travels into your room with the waterfall turned off. Note to management- simple solution don't book this room to paying customers!! Unless of course you're money grabbing.

The fire alarm went off at 2am for what sounded like about 20mins, the report saying it was a false alarm came about 10mins later

Now for the rest of the room. Quite large and spacious, but not much cupboard space to hang your clothes. No screens on the doors and don't try to eat on the balcony- the lorikeets tried to steal my muesli bar out of my hands, granted- this is the fault of tourists not the hotel. The bathroom is spacious however the energy saving LED down lights are horrible for trying to put on makeup, and considering the only mirrors in the room are in the dark bathroom -you're screwed! Minibar prices are as reasonable as you can get on the island. $4 chocolate bar, $30 bottle wine

$35 breakfast in the hotel is horrible. Rubbery overlooked eggs, dried out bacon, and greasy over crunchy hash browns certainly not 5 star quality. The fresh food bar looked more like the left overs from sizzler than a resort. With capacity you can barely find a free table, and when you do, you have to share it with birds picking the food as the staff cannot keep up to clear the tables. The plates and tea cups are still wet straight out of the washers again I'm guessing the staff straining to deal with capacity. You're better off walking to the marina and have a cheaper fresher breakfast which you can charge back to your room ( just make sure you have your room key hanging conveniently around your neck).

We were forced to have dinner here with customers as everywhere else on the Marina was booked( and with the 2 top restaurants closed Sunday nights you are left with slim pickings). The price was reasonable, just over $100 per head for 2 courses and wine. The menu like everything else is dated and boring-nothing fancy to impress clients, but you do get what you pay for here.

The hotel pool was nice, but the bougainvillea pool -2 mins walk away was nicer.

They offer airport transfers, and happy to take your bags straight up to your room while you checkin, but if you are in a rush to change after a long trip, then you're better off taking your bag up yourself.

Would I come back? Probably not. Would I recommend it? Yes if you want to be one of 200 rooms with kids. Better hope they are not full to capacity as they simply wont cope.

You're better off paying up and staying in style at the beach club.

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Penny H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2013 via mobile

This rates as one of my most favourite places in Australia simply because of the stunning views from your hotel room over the beautiful Whitsunday's. The glass lift makes getting to and from your room just as amazing. We have stayed here several times usually before or after sailing holidays. I always try to get as high up as I can but most rooms are good...each captures the view in a slightly different way. Watching the sunrise is simply stunning....it is peaceful and majestic all at once. I love relaxing on the deck in the afternoon with a drink and nibbles and being visited by the friendly locals (the cockatoos)....no matter how much they try to persuade you you shouldn't feed them otherwise you end up with about 20 sitting on your railing. The hotel rooms are good, decor lovely, the bathrooms are a little dated, but you forgive it anyway. Enjoy!

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sue F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2013

Hamilton Island is definately worth a visit.....it exists within its own little bubble and therefore transports you away from the world for a short time.
We stayed at the Reef View Hotel and from the moment we arrived the level of customer service was superb, the conceige desk were very helpful in booking restaurants. A shuttle bus is operated to collect you from the ferry and bring you to the hotel.
The views from the rooms were spectacular, perfect panaromic views of the reef, couldnt ask for more, we were located on the 12th floor.
The rooms themselves were very spacious, large bed, fresh beach towels were offered on a daily basis. However the room was a little bit dusty at times (shelving behind the bed), and the bathrooms could do with a bit up-dating.
Breakfast in the hotel - everything was catered for, very good selection, that can be enjoyed outside on the pool terrace. Also if you fancy trying somewhere else for breakfast you have the choice of Sails or breakfast with the Kolas, incuded in the B&B rate.
As more or less everything on the Island is operated by Hamilton Island Enterprises it means that you can room charge wherever you go which is very handy as it means you don't have to carry large amounts of cash with you.
We hired a buggy for the day which was very useful, bit pricey, but to be expected. There is free shuttle buses that operate around the island to get you from A-B, these are very frequent, and pick you up from the entrance of the hotel.
Must do......watch the sunset from the look-out, the island has a portable bar which they set-up which is a great idea, and added that little bit extra to an already perfect setting.
All of our dining experiences were exceptional - again the level of customer service was the best I have experienced in a long time. I would recommend all the restaurants that we sampled....Romanos, Manta Ray Cafe, Chi-Chi & Bommie.
Lots of free activites available on the beach, but we were just too relaxed lapping up the atmosphere to avail of any!!!

Room Tip: High floor to get better views of the reef - 19 floors in total, we stayed floor 12 ideal
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank disco2diva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2013

We just had the one night at Reef View Hotel, however we are keen to return to stay some more nights. We had a fantastic view from our 8th floor room. The room was well appointed and also had a fantastic spacious balcony. Mini bar was well stock and reasonably priced. We checked in very early as we had arrived from Daydream Island via ferry and were very pleased that our room was ready way before the generally accepted check in time of 2 pm. Great service. Buffet breakfast was lovely, although I recommend you go early as there was quite a large queue waiting for tables by 8.30 am.

Room Tip: Go for a room with a view - higher floors are better
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CONNIEM66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 November 2013

Stayed at the Reef View hotel for three nights on the 16th floor. The service at the hotel was great from start to finish. Everything was extremely organised including the airport pick up and drop off. Arrived around 12pm had some lunch and soon after received a call saying our room was ready. The coral coast views from our room were absolutely amazing. Hotel was very close to the beach and had a great pool on site. The marina was conveniently located about a 10min walk away. You could also take a free shuttle bus. There were also great walking trails close to the hotel. Would definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DarlingH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamilton_Island_Aus, General Manager at Reef View Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 November 2013

DarlingH

Thank you for your review & of course for staying with us.

Very happy to read that your holiday went off without a problem & that our team were able to assist with your stay.

Hope to see you again soon

Warm regards

Matt Boileau
General Manager
Reef View Hotel & Palm Bungalows
HAMILTON ISLAND

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 November 2013

We had a wonderful 25th anniversary holiday. Staff was friendly efficient and helpful at all times. Manager surprised us with an upgrade at it was AMAZING! It was truly the holiday of a lifetime. Highlight was excursion to the Great Barrier Reef. Hamilton Island is an wonderful place for a dream vacation. Reef View has a great location for walking to beach, marina and many restaurants. Rooms a bit dated but comfortable and clean!! Staff ready to help you at any time!! Thank you!!

Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Sandra B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamilton_Island_Aus, General Manager at Reef View Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 November 2013

Dear Sandra B

Firstly thank you for not only your review but for also choosing to stay with us for such an important occasion.

Touched to hear you had such a great vacation & the upgrade really was my pleasure.

We really are in a great location on Hamilton Island & I’m always proud to hear our staff were able to assist you.

A pleasure having you with us & we hope you can visit again soon.

Thank you again.

Warm regards

Matt Boileau
General Manager
Reef View Hotel & Palm Bungalows
HAMILTON ISLAND

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hamilton Island
0.1 mi away
Whitsunday Apartments Hamilton Island
0.2 mi away
Palm Bungalows
Palm Bungalows
#4 of 5 in Hamilton Island
572 reviews
7.0 mi away
Palm Bay Resort Whitsundays
Palm Bay Resort Whitsundays
#1 of 1 in Long Island
282 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.4 mi away
Coral Point Lodge
Coral Point Lodge
#1 of 1 in Shute Harbour
59 reviews
17.1 mi away
at Marina Shores
at Marina Shores
#5 of 10 in Airlie Beach
418 reviews
0.1 mi away
Beach Club
Beach Club
#1 of 5 in Hamilton Island
1,155 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Reef View Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Reef View Hotel

Address: 12 Resort Drive, 4803, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > Queensland > Whitsunday Islands > Hamilton Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Hamilton Island
Price Range: £205 - £334 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Reef View Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 383
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Reef View Hotel features 364 extremely spacious, well-appointed rooms all with private balconies overlooking either landscaped gardens or the breathtaking vista of the Coral Sea. The upper-most floors boast 18 luxuriously appointed suites. All rooms face the sea complete with outdoor furniture to experience the spectacular sunrises and sunsets. Additional Reef View Hotel facilities include the Pool Terrace restaurant, Reef Lounge bar and Tour Desk. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Reef View Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Reef View
Reef View Hamilton Island
Reef View Hotel Hamilton Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing