We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overall an enjoyable stay and wonderful views. Great service too.”
Review of Reef View Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Reef View Hotel
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Hamilton Island
Certificate of Excellence
Swan Hill, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
484 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 180 helpful votes
“Overall an enjoyable stay and wonderful views. Great service too.”
Reviewed 16 April 2014

We stayed here for 5 nights in a "Garden View Room" and was pleasantly surprised that we had a lovely view of the ocean as well as the palms. (Level 4). Room was excellent with a big bathroom (bath & shower) and a balcony. Was very clean and quite fresh. We had a buffet breakfast in our deal and it was great..no need for lunch! We chose to eat at Poolside each day but you do have the option of eating at Sails or the Wildlife Park. Service was fantastic. They pick you up from the airport, and deliver your luggage to your room. They do the same when returning home. Bus stops are right at the door.

Room Tip: For great views, try floors 4 and upwards. We chose a "Garden View Room" and were delighte...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank malleegirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamilton_Island_Aus, General Manager at Reef View Hotel, responded to this review, 28 April 2014
Dear malleegirl

Thank you for your review & of course for staying here with us.

Loved reading that your transfers to & from the airport went smoothly and that our staff were able to make your stay as seamless & relaxing as possible.

I must agree the view across the Palm Trees and out to the ocean never gets old & is one of our favourites.

Hope we can welcome you back to The Reef View Hotel again soon.

Warm regards

Matt Boileau
General Manager
Reef View Hotel & Palm Bungalows
HAMILTON ISLAND
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,345 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    826
    981
    345
    117
    76
See reviews for
619
1,115
43
150
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (785)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
Reviewed 15 April 2014

We stayed at the Reef View in April for a family holiday, booking a terrace apartment on floor 17 for some extra space. Its not cheap accommodation, but the breathtaking 270 degree views of the beautiful Whitsunday sea and islands meant no regrets. The building is showing its age in places, but our apartment was spacious, comfortably furnished, and tastefully decorated. The Pool Terrace does a great job with breakfast, lunch and dinner and customer service in all areas was of the hotel was exceptional. All this and only a two minute walk to beach sports at Catseye where you can sail, snorkel, paddle or just swim.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrew T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamilton_Island_Aus, General Manager at Reef View Hotel, responded to this review, 28 April 2014
Mr Andrew T

A pleasure having you here with us & I thank you for your review.

Delighted to read that the Terrace Suite was everything you had hoped & that my team were able to assist.

The location of The Reef View Hotel certainly does make it easy to access everything from Beach activities to countless dining options and it’s great to see you were able to make the most of them.

We hope we can welcome you back soon - Please don’t hesitate to email me personally via mboileau@HamiltonIsland.com.au

Warm regards

Matt Boileau
General Manager
Reef View Hotel & Palm Bungalows
HAMILTON ISLAND
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 April 2014

Thank you , it was a wonderful room. My parents who we booked the room
As a gift were very happy with the location, cleanliness, view and overall
service. Much appreciated. Booking via your site was great
value for money with better and easier service than a travel agency.
Would use your site again and recommend it to others. Regards the organizer Rosa on my parents behalf.


  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Skoosh

Helpful?
1 Thank Rosa B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamilton_Island_Aus, General Manager at Reef View Hotel, responded to this review, 22 April 2014
Dear Rosa B

You are most welcome indeed, a pleasure having your parents stay and thank you for your review.

So glad to see they enjoyed their stay & that our website made it easier for you to book for them.

I will be sure to share your comments with our online team. Next time you visit our site I hope it is to arrange a holiday for yourself... I look forward to welcoming you.

Warm regards

Matt Boileau
General Manager
Reef View Hotel & Palm Bungalows
HAMILTON ISLAND
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Muswellbrook, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 April 2014 via mobile

Wow we can not recommend this hotel and Hamilton Island enough, the friendly customer service was beyond anything we have ever experienced, the consistency of all the friendly staff right across the island has blown us away! As for the Reef View, I won't lie, I did at first when we approached the hotel think "this is going to be interesting" but upon the friendly and informative greeting we received when checking in, it only got better! We had a room on the 14th floor which was simply breathtaking! Our room was beautiful and fresh, it does look like it has been renovated recently and it has been done beautifully! King sized bed, huge open doors to balcony which expose a stunning view of the Catseye beach. Yes this is a slightly pricey holiday but the island is immaculately presented, customer service is A1 and the restaurants (in particular Co Ca Chu) is to die for! You must see this fabulous part of the world to believe!

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Alana85_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamilton_Island_Aus, General Manager at Reef View Hotel, responded to this review, 16 April 2014
Dear Alana85_13

Firstly congratulations & thank you for spending your honeymoon here with us at The Reef View Hotel.

To read how friendly & helpful my team were and how they made your holiday "that much better" is incredibly humbling.

That view is indeed incredible - Only matched by the food at CoCaChu.

If there is anything I can do for you please don’t hesitate to contact me personally via mboileau@HamiltonIsland.com.au

Looking forward to having you stay again soon and I thank you for your review.

Warm regards

Matt Boileau
General Manager
Reef View Hotel & Palm Bungalows
HAMILTON ISLAND
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2014

I stayed here with my family in February 2014 for 5 nights and the hotel was a dream. Fantastic location - across the road from Catseye Beach and one of the many pools on the Island.

We had a Coral Sea View room and it was very large and catered well for a family of four (2 queen beds). The bathroom would have to be one of the largest I've seen in an Australian hotel of a 4 star rating. There are two sink areas, a full bath, full shower and a separate room for the toilet. Lots of storage space also if you happen to be staying for a longer period.

Check-in and check-out is a breeze. Bags are collected from the airport and dropped into your room for you and are picked up from your room for you upon check-out. Saves you from having to lug your baggage around the hotel which wouldn't be fun in the tropical heat. Loved the complimentary transfers.

Paying the extra for a Coral Sea View room as opposed to a Garden View is well worth it. I'll never forget opening our hotel room door for the very first time to see the gorgeous view of the turquoise waters of Catseye Bay. Perfection.

Buffet breakfast is amazing!!

I definitely recommend this hotel and would definitely stay here again, no doubt about it.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Emma J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamilton_Island_Aus, General Manager at Reef View Hotel, responded to this review, 14 April 2014
Dear Emma J

Great having you stay with us & thank you for your review.

It’s is such a pleasure to read how much you enjoyed our services, our rooms & of course THAT view we hold so dear.

Very much looking forward to welcoming you again soon.

If there is anything I can do for you please don’t hesitate to contact me personally via mboileau@HamiltonIsland.com.au

Warm regards

Matt Boileau
General Manager
Reef View Hotel & Palm Bungalows
HAMILTON ISLAND
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 April 2014

Check in was smooth and quick and our bags arrived in our room same time as us. Our room was huge and a very large bathroom too with bath and large separate shower. Fabulous view of the bay from our balcony (we were on 11th floor). Balcony furniture was wood and very comfortable, lots of visits from curious cockatoos! So do not leave any food unattended on the tables! Lifts were very quick, we rarely waited. Outdoor pool is 35 metres and great temperature, empty at breakfast time. We also used the gym which was adequate and lots of towels provided for outdoor use. Water sports are free eg paddle boards, kayaks etc which was great fun and just a short walk from the hotel. We didn't eat in the hotel, not because of any bad reports, but it was more fun to explore other restaurants. We did have some fun cocktails by the pool, service was a bit slow but everyone is very helpful. It's an island so prices are high but there are eating places to suit every budget, from fish and chips to fine dining. Free shuttle buses but you can walk from hotel into main shopping / eating area very easily. Tour bookings can be done at reception and everything can get added to your room bill, even meals etc not purchased in the hotel. That made things very easy. I would definitely recommend this hotel, we had an excellent holiday there.

Room Tip: Higher floors have best sea views so pay that bit extra it is really worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Carol G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 April 2014

From the moment we arrived we were made to feel very special and were looked after! The complimentary transfer from the airport was quick and stress-free. We were picked up from the airport in a mini bus, and arrived at the hotel within 5 mins. The bus driver was very friendly and gave us some tips about the island on the journey to the hotel. The check-in experience was quick and easy with every available desk at the hotel reception staffed and open (about 7 I think). The friendly gentleman checking us in even wished us a happy anniversary (I had previously emailed the hotel telling them that we were holidaying to celebrate our 18th wedding anniversary, and had requested a high floor to take advantage of the views, and also to have a room located away from the elevators after reading previous reviews about noise from the elevators). We had booked a Coral Sea view room, and on arriving in our room we found that we had been upgraded to a Reef Suite, a beautiful 2 storey suite on the 19th and 20th floors. A complimentary bottle of wine and an anniversary card from Matt the Manager were waiting for us in our room, and our suitcases were brought up to the room within a few minutes.

The suite was very spacious with several sitting areas on both floors. There were balconies on both levels, both furnished with comfortable loungers and chairs to take advantage of the absolutely stunning views. We had a very comfortable kingsize bed with crisp white linen, facing the balcony so you could watch the sun rise over the sea whilst still in bed! There was a large en-suite bathroom, with large spa bath and masses of fluffy white towels and bathrobes were also supplied. Pool towels were also supplied and changed daily. We could not fault the housekeeping of our room, with every restocked, changed and cleaned daily. And the turndown service in the evenings was lovely to come ‘home’ to and made us feel very spoiled and looked after. The kitchen had a good selection of teas and coffees, and Mini-bar. We had daily visits from the local parakeets, who would sit on the balcony fence and look in. Fantastic photo opportunity, but do not leave your balcony doors open as they have been known to enter rooms and trash them looking for food!

We had breakfast included in our package, and chose to eat in the hotel restaurant every day for breakfast, although we did have the option of two other alternative locations. The buffet breakfast had an excellent selection, and we always ate by 7am so found it at all not busy and never had to queue for anything. Again, service was excellent, with tables being cleaned almost instantly, perhaps to stop the local bird wildlife from eating and drinking leftovers! Although it was quite entertaining to watch the staff chasing lorikeets from the glasses of orange juice left on the tables! We ate in the hotel restaurant on our final evening and had a lovely meal. Wish we had eaten there prior to this so we could have gone back again!

All staff we encountered in the hotel and within the resort itself, from restaurant staff & concierge, to housekeepers were all very friendly and helpful, and seemed to really enjoy their jobs as they were always happy and smiling. We also found that there was an abundance of staff throughout the hotel and the resort without you having to look for someone.

We took advantage of the Room Charge facility on several occasions throughout the resort, which saved carrying cash or your wallet/purse. Just should your room key and it’s added to your bill which os itemised on your final bill at checkout. Non-motorised water-sports at Catseye beach (1-2 mins walk from the hotel) are also included in the room price. Lockers on the beach cost $5 for the day. A three route complementary bus service runs around the island which makes getting about very easy, especially as the bus stops directly in the hotel doorway. We also hired a golf-buggy for 24 hours which is the main vehicle you will see on the roads on Hamilton.

Checkout was as easy as check-in, and our suitcases were collected from our room by the porters, ready for the again complementary bus service back to the airport.

This was our first visit to Hamilton Island, and we would definitely choose the Reef View Hotel as our first choice if and when we come back. We did not want to leave! Thank you Matt & the staff at Reef View!

Room Tip: From the view we had in the glass elevator, it appears that you could get a sea view from floors 4 u...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MagsDeans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamilton_Island_Aus, General Manager at Reef View Hotel, responded to this review, 28 April 2014
Dear MagsDeans

You are most welcome, A pleasure having you here and congratulations once again on your 18th Wedding Anniversary.

Thank you for choosing Hamilton Island & The Reef View Hotel to help celebrate such a milestone.

To read how much you enjoyed every aspect of your stay is incredibly humbling & I thank you for your detailed review.

Our Reef Suites are indeed special & I love hearing how much you appreciated our teams attention to detail & have shared this with them.

The Room Charge facility adds to the relaxed attitude of the island as it allows you to not have to worry about wallets or cash & simply enjoy your holiday.

I’m already looking forward to having you stay again soon & thank you again for your review. If there is anything I can do for you please don’t hesitate to contact me personally via mboileau@HamiltonIsland.com.au

Warm regards

Matt Boileau
General Manager
Reef View Hotel & Palm Bungalows
HAMILTON ISLAND
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hamilton Island
0.2 mi away
Palm Bungalows
Palm Bungalows
#4 of 5 in Hamilton Island
549 reviews
0.1 mi away
Whitsunday Apartments Hamilton Island
7.0 mi away
Palm Bay Resort Whitsundays
Palm Bay Resort Whitsundays
#1 of 2 in Long Island
258 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.4 mi away
Coral Point Lodge
Coral Point Lodge
#1 of 1 in Shute Harbour
57 reviews
16.4 mi away
Heart Hotel and Gallery Whitsundays
17.1 mi away
at Marina Shores
at Marina Shores
#6 of 10 in Airlie Beach
400 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Reef View Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Reef View Hotel

Property: Reef View Hotel
Address: 12 Resort Drive, 4803, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > Queensland > Whitsunday Islands > Hamilton Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Hamilton Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Reef View Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 383
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Reef View Hotel features 364 extremely spacious, well-appointed rooms all with private balconies overlooking either landscaped gardens or the breathtaking vista of the Coral Sea. The upper-most floors boast 18 luxuriously appointed suites. All rooms face the sea complete with outdoor furniture to experience the spectacular sunrises and sunsets. Additional Reef View Hotel facilities include the Pool Terrace restaurant, Reef Lounge bar and Tour Desk. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Priceline, Expedia, Ebookers, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Reef View Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Reef View
Reef View Hamilton Island
Reef View Hotel Hamilton Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing