We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“That View!!!!”
Review of Reef View Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Reef View Hotel
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Hamilton Island
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 July 2014

What a great experience we had. From the moment we got off the plane someone there to greet us and assist with luggage onto a bus that then whisked us off to the hotel with the driver pointing out places of interest and things to do along the way. Then a quick check in with one of the very friendly helpful staff members and off to the room. We arrived at the room the exact time our luggage did so it's all very quick and hassle free.

I had read a few things about the hotel being tired and dated so was not sure what to expect but the view took my breath away. We had a Coral Sea View room. It's a view worth paying extra for that's for sure. The room was huge and the bathroom as big as most hotel rooms!! Two separate sinks, shower, separate bath and separate toilet and the water pressure in the shower was amazing. It wasn't the most modern looking room but the furniture was very comfortable and the size of the room made up for dated curtains - which remained opened our whole stay anyway so barely noticed them. My only negative was the bathroom lighting was a little dim for me.

Breakfast was included and you could have it at a choice of 3 different restaurants so no chance of being bored. We ate breakfast at the Pool Terrace and Sails and both of them had a fantastic selection and as I am coeliac I was very happy they both catered for it with lots of gluten free options (particularly Sails who had their GF food labelled which made it easy).

As well as breakfast all non motorised water sports were included so you could go sea kayaking, snorkelling, paddle boarding and catamaraning any time you wanted for as long as you wanted.

The staff everywhere on the island were exceptional. Nothing was ever too much trouble for anyone and Tony's cocktails at Sails were out of this world!!

Hotel is centrally located and the island easy to get around. There are shuttle buses and of course you have to hire a buggy for at least an hour just to experience it.

There is so much to do that I needed a couple more days to just laze by the pool or on the beach.
We stayed 4 nights and next time we'll stay longer.

I can't wait to go back and would stay at the Reef View Hotel again no questions asked.

Room Tip: An ocean view room is a must. I'd say at least 5-6th floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank Alesse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamilton_Island_Aus, General Manager at Reef View Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 July 2014

Dear Alesse

Thank you for not only your incredibly detailed review but for staying here with us at The Reef View Hotel.

It sounds like you experienced just about everything that Hamilton Island has to offer and it’s such a pleasure to read you enjoyed your holiday and that our teams were able to make such a difference to your stay.

I’m glad to read the gluten free options were fantastic and I shall pass this onto my team. Making sure they are labelled at all our restaurants.

Already looking forward to having you back here with us again. When you want to escape the cold Melbourne weather please don’t hesitate to contact me personally via mboileau@HamiltonIsland.com.au

Warm regards

Matt Boileau
General Manager
Reef View Hotel & Palm Bungalows
HAMILTON ISLAND

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,458)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,243 - 1,249 of 2,458 reviews

Reviewed 15 July 2014

We stayed over the winter school holiday period and could not fault the hotel.
The facilities are well maintained and there is a great selection of things to do which are complimentary to hotel guests but get in early as there can be a line up for some popular activties.
Breakfast can be included too and good value if you can get it bundled into the rate.
Rooms are well appointed for families, we had a family ocean view room on the 11th floor and what a view! Great size room with generous size bathroom, including a bath.
The staff are exceptional and can meet your every need.
Good restaurants on site, and the 'kids eat free' program is great and the food selection quite good for smaller children.

Room Tip: Request a room at level 10 or over to optimize the view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank belinda1410
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2014

Stayed in a one bedroom Terrace suite and it was HUGE with a nice BBQ and hot tub and views all around, they will even deliver a room service BBQ pack to you if you don't feel like going out shopping. We hired a buggy and the hotel have lots of charging bays right at the hotel so very convenient. If massive views are your thing then stay at this high rise hotel it can't be beaten. Food at main breakfast buffet was very good. We walked across road for our dinners at the beach club hotel which serves very good food, is on the beach front and is adult only pure bliss.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
3  Thank pakaxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2014

We visited Hamilton Island over the school holidays and had a wonderful experience overall. Positives: friendly staff at Reef View and local restaurants, the view was amazing from our room and plenty of activities for children. Negatives: on arrival in our 'family room' we became aware of the noise from the elevators next to one of our rooms. We were told that two of the elevators are closed at night, but the noise was still audible. Strong smell of cigarette smoke from nearby balconies also prevented us from opening doors and sitting on balcony at times. A no smoking policy in the hotel outdoor areas would improve the appeal of this hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank kajps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2014

The last time I was here, I was swimming with dolphins at the main pool of the hotel. After so many years, it was wonderful to come back and see Hamilton Island again. This is not my first trip, oh no - this, like the Shangri-La Rasa Sayang in Penang (Malaysia) is my second home. A more local second home which means I have had the utmost pleasure and privilege of being able to travel to a bit of paradise not normally accessible here in Melbourne (those who live in Melbourne know of the local weather and how unforgiving it can be). Although not much has changed since the last time I was here (with the exception of dolphins in the pool, they were gone - sadly) it really was a wonderful experience to come back to such a beautiful place.

Although check in was a little bit slow, it was nice to have a bottle of wine, a card and some chocolates being delivered to our room from one of the senior staff who remembers us - even if it has been a long time since we were last there. On with the norms, though; like said before - nothing much has changed but I can guarantee you it will be one of the best holidays ever if you choose to stay at this hotel. The food can be compared to international standard. The views are simply unbeatable (unless you get stuck in a hurricane, which I had to suffer through during April). The service was above par. The other holiday goers were also very nice. The weather was excellent (except for when the hurricane came through but that was at night). 4*? This is really worthy of 5*, it is actually that great. The architecture all around the island (especially the Hamilton Island Yacht Club) is really great and neat, though the hotel does look a bit old how can you complain with sun, sand and sea right at your doorstep?

It was all nice and great, all excellent and perfect. The Perfect bit of Paradise and I seriously recommend getting one of the higher up rooms because if you happen to be staying on one of the really low floors, there is the issue of having trees and buildings blocking your view. And I *seriously* recommend doing the ATV tour to get some extremely awesome views and even a fun little surprise. Another personal recommendation, do kayaking and go all the way to the boundary to take in the resort side of the island - if you manage to do it, you'll thank me for it. ;)

(P.S. Just a side note, as logic would have it, it is best to travel to Hamilton Island during Summer, Spring and Autumn as it can get cold and wet during Winter - at least you still have 1/3rd of the year to go, right?) :D

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Nicholas_M983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2014

Just spent a great week here during the school holidays. The hotel no longer seems dated or tired, it feels very fresh and bright and extremely we'll run. The staff were really helpful and friendly, nothing was too much trouble. We were on the 13th floor with a beautiful view over the spectacular bay. Stacks of activities for children and adults. Many restaurants and eating outlets to choose from on the island. Would return again in a heart beat.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Travelfreak2112
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2014

Upon arrival first impressions of the island and hotel resort were impressive but the hotel room on the 15th floor was mixed. Coral Sea room was very spacious but a little outdated, the four star rating is correct.

Smoking is permitted on the balcony even though the rooms are non smoking. We were subject to second hand smoke from guests puffing on lower floors. Requesting a non smoking room does not mean a smoke free environment for your kids.

During our week stay we were woken by delivery trucks at 0530am every day.
Also the rooms are not that quiet, you can easily hear quests above, particularity moving of chairs on tiled floors.

The hotel facilities are excellent. Access to the pool, beach sports, gym, tennis courts and kids games is great. One issue that needs to be addressed is having better flexibility for the catamaran classes. We had to wait until the final day of our stay to use the catamaran due to the inflexible times for lessons being only 10am compounded by the issue of only being able to sail in the safe period of when wind is under 20kts and high tide 0830am to 12pm only. Planning your day around the beach sports and weather is critical.

The staff are very friendly and demonstrate the best service we have ever received compared to the major city hotels. Reef View should be very proud of the quality of their staff. They are always smiling, happy, relaxed, easy going and very professional.

Food quality at Reef View is excellent. The buffet breakfast has good variety and choice. Pool side service is very convenient and kids eat free when you buy a main meal. There is a catch though with the all important coffee. A genuine espresso (late or cap) is an extra charge. The free filtered coffee from the self service machine tastes absolutely terrible.

Overall we will recommend this hotel to friends and will be back another time. Hopefully next time the noisy trucks will be gone, the coffee machines upgraded and smoking will be banned.

Thank you Reef View for a relaxing holiday.

Room Tip: Upgrade to higher floors and away from smokers. All rooms would be able to hear the delivery trucks...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank traveller7200
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hamilton Island
0.1 mi away
Whitsunday Apartments Hamilton Island
0.2 mi away
Palm Bungalows
Palm Bungalows
#4 of 5 in Hamilton Island
572 reviews
7 mi away
Palm Bay Resort Whitsundays
Palm Bay Resort Whitsundays
#1 of 1 in Long Island
289 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.4 mi away
Coral Point Lodge
Coral Point Lodge
#1 of 1 in Shute Harbour
59 reviews
17.1 mi away
at Marina Shores
at Marina Shores
#5 of 10 in Airlie Beach
419 reviews
0.1 mi away
Beach Club
Beach Club
#2 of 5 in Hamilton Island
1,169 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Reef View Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Reef View Hotel

Address: 12 Resort Drive, 4803, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > Queensland > Whitsunday Islands > Hamilton Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Hamilton Island
Price Range: £197 - £295 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Reef View Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 383
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Reef View Hotel features 364 extremely spacious, well-appointed rooms all with private balconies overlooking either landscaped gardens or the breathtaking vista of the Coral Sea. The upper-most floors boast 18 luxuriously appointed suites. All rooms face the sea complete with outdoor furniture to experience the spectacular sunrises and sunsets. Additional Reef View Hotel facilities include the Pool Terrace restaurant, Reef Lounge bar and Tour Desk. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Reef View Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Reef View
Reef View Hamilton Island
Reef View Hotel Hamilton Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing