We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic value for money”
Review of Reef View Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Reef View Hotel
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Hamilton Island
Certificate of Excellence
Brisbane, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Fantastic value for money”
Reviewed 27 July 2014 via mobile

Loved it. Large rooms.good bathroom. Great view. Good service. Perfect location. Nothing to complain about. Consistently happy with this hotel. Stayed in a pool view room that looked out over the water. Would have liked a stovetop but I guess you're supposed to eat at the restaurant. Awesome place. I do recommend.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Danman129
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,344 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    826
    981
    344
    117
    76
See reviews for
618
1,115
43
150
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (785)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 July 2014

Our group of 121 senior citizens spent a fabulous week in June in the Whitsundays staying at the Reef View Hotel. The service was outstanding. The buffet breakfast was great. The use of a buggy for two days for each room gave us the opportunity to explore Hamilton Island in detail. A Cruise Whitsundays Catamaran took us to Reef World on the outer edges of the Great Barrier Reef. We also spent half a day exploring Heritage listed Whitehaven Beach on Whitsunday Island. A special day was our visit to Day Dream Island with a buffet lunch in the Waterfalls Restaurant. As we were a religious group we were pleased for the opportunity extended to us by Hamilton Island management to allow us the use of the White Chapel on One Tree Hill for 2 special Services. It was an interest packed, restful holiday enjoyed immensely by all who participated. Thanks also to Jet Star who flew our group from Melbourne, Sydney and Brisbane.

Room Tip: A Sea View Room from floor 12 upward. Fantastic views over Catseye Beach. Frequent visitors to the b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank del1934fwl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2014

We were suggested this island by a travel agent who told us it was the best for families, but on arrival we found the staff across the island rude and unhelpful. Also once on the island you can only eat and stay at a few places as most places do not accept children! And all that is left are resturants that charge $30 - $40 for a main that my 10yr old sun could put up!
We were told that kids eat free on the island as this was true, they don't get an option of what they have and there meal you would only expect to pay $10 for anywhere else.
As for the facilities on the island they were not as good as our caravan parks back at cannonvale!
Overall the island has a cheap and tacky feel and is in no way as nice as airlie beach (but costs four times as much).

Knowing what we know know I would of headed to one of the smaller islands.

Room Tip: Don't stay here look at Hayman island
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CR Far F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamilton_Island_Aus, General Manager at Reef View Hotel, responded to this review, 28 July 2014
Dear CR Far F

I am sorry to hear you weren’t able to enjoy your time here on Hamilton Island with us.

To briefly focus on your comments on our staff. This is certainly disappointing as it is very uncharacteristic of any team member and something I shall look into.

I have passed you feedback on to our Food & Beverage team and I thank you for taking the time to let us know.

If there is anything further to add please don’t hesitate to contact me personally via mboileau@HamiltonIsland.com.au

Warm regards

Matt Boileau
General Manager
Reef View Hotel & Palm Bungalows
HAMILTON ISLAND
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 190 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2014

Spent a couple of nights here with husband and children aged 5 and 16. Really pleasantly surprised bey HUGE room and great bathroom. Decided not to pay extra $70 for sea view, so were delighted to see that we had a lovely partial sea view from the 4th floor - without paying extra.

Food was OK, nothing too special, but it wouldn't put me off recommending the hotel. Great location - highly recommended.

Room Tip: 4th floor rooms will give you a partial sea view without paying the upgrade cost!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank charliesmum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2014 via mobile

My sister and I had a great time away... The staff were helpful, the food was awesome and the rooms were so spacious!!!
You couldn't ask for a better view to wake up to in the morning!!! Then there was the choice of three different places for Breakfast included in the package so it was great having the variety

Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Kylie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sydney
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2014

The view from our 12th floor room was fantastic, just like in the brochure. The breakfast was also a highlight. Normally I am not a fan of the buffet breakfast but this was an exception. We were ushered to a table by the pool each morning, asked if we wanted in the sun or shade and left to indulge. We also made use of the kayaks at the beach, the gym and tennis courts. We also did a few walks on the bush track directly behind the hotel that offers some great vantage points.
The staff were all helpful and offered honest advice when asked about things to do on the island.

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view room above level 6
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rollingstoneSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gold Coast, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2014

A long weekend wasn't long enough, although we had a garden room the view was still awesome. We were on the third floor overlooking the pool. Our room was large with two queen size beds, bathroom was huge with separate toilet (with door) in the bathroom and large shower and separate bath. The complimentary water activities (little catamarans, kayaks and snorkel's) was a bonus. Staff were very helpful and service was great. I am looking forward to going again

Room Tip: The higher the floor the better the view
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Max4H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hamilton Island
0.2 mi away
Palm Bungalows
Palm Bungalows
#4 of 5 in Hamilton Island
549 reviews
0.1 mi away
Whitsunday Apartments Hamilton Island
7.0 mi away
Palm Bay Resort Whitsundays
Palm Bay Resort Whitsundays
#1 of 2 in Long Island
258 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.4 mi away
Coral Point Lodge
Coral Point Lodge
#1 of 1 in Shute Harbour
57 reviews
16.4 mi away
Heart Hotel and Gallery Whitsundays
17.1 mi away
at Marina Shores
at Marina Shores
#6 of 10 in Airlie Beach
400 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Reef View Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Reef View Hotel

Property: Reef View Hotel
Address: 12 Resort Drive, 4803, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > Queensland > Whitsunday Islands > Hamilton Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Hamilton Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Reef View Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 383
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Reef View Hotel features 364 extremely spacious, well-appointed rooms all with private balconies overlooking either landscaped gardens or the breathtaking vista of the Coral Sea. The upper-most floors boast 18 luxuriously appointed suites. All rooms face the sea complete with outdoor furniture to experience the spectacular sunrises and sunsets. Additional Reef View Hotel facilities include the Pool Terrace restaurant, Reef Lounge bar and Tour Desk. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Odigeo, Booking.com, Priceline, Ebookers, Hotels.com, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Reef View Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Reef View
Reef View Hamilton Island
Reef View Hotel Hamilton Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing