We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great place to chill”
Review of Palm Bungalows

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Palm Bungalows
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Hamilton Island
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 March 2014

The Bungalows are a great alternative for those who want something more private than your standard high rise hotel. Set amongst palm trees and a tropical garden it is an ideal setting for a relaxing few days. The rooms are spacious with a basic kitchenette and all the usual fittings. The beds are very good as is the air con, a must in the tropical heat. The location is close to the beach and pool and restaurants. All in all we really enjoyed our stay and wished we had booked longer.

Room Tip: The higher number Bungalows 50+ have the best setting.
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank David T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (560)
There are newer reviews for Palm Bungalows
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

300 - 306 of 560 reviews

Reviewed 10 March 2014

We stayed during the recent cyclone, started in one near the Reef Hotel, very handy to facilities but discovered there were others with far more private and tranquil settings. Ask for numbers 30 to 37 or 45 to 50 - you will thank me if you get one, these are the best located to the pools and beach and for breakfast. I wish someone had put this tip on before I booked! If your breakfast is included go to Sails as you will have a choice, don't bother with the hotel - too busy, and only choose the wildlife cafe if you have kids who want to see the koalas.
Come departure day, after going to the airport for our flight we waited 2 hours only to to be told it had to be cancelled due to the weather - fair enough. So rang our accommodation and were told its OK you will get your room back again, after all no one could get onto the island so it should still be available. Different story back at reception, they tried to give us a room in the hotel instead and said all the bungalows were now taken with guests from other accommodation. I had my doubts so after much insistence they "found" one for us. We subsequently noticed quite a number were vacant that night. Please don't make up stories and force your staff to lie to guests - that is not professional I'm afraid. As we were being offered a lower rate I can only assume they preferred us in the hotel for that rate ( it is lower standard and smaller room than the bungalows).
Having said that, nearly all the staff have been super friendly and helpful and have helped to make the best of the situation.
Would definitely recommend the bungalows for the price, they have all you need, good king size bed, large ensuite (no bath) small kitchen, great verandah with table and chairs and a hammock. The Beach Club has an even better position, looking directly onto the beach, these rooms may be worth considering when the renovations are complete, older reviews of these indicate they were somewhat tired before.

Room Tip: See the review for bungalows to request.
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank INBtripz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2014

These bungalows are set among Palm trees with beautiful scene and quite surroundings. It is spacious and supplied with basic amenities. You have a stove, kettle and other basic kitchen utensils for cooking should you choose to do so. Coffee and tea with milk are complimentary rand replenished daily. There is a basic room service daily between 11.30am to 4pm.

We found the air conditioning in the room set at a very good temperature. Cool upon our return from outdoor activities during the day and warm for sleeping.

We particularly enjoyed the location of the accommodation which is close to both the marina as well as the hiking tracks. We didn't find the need to hire a buggy at all as everything was within walking distance.

Highly recommend you spend time enjoying the hammock out on the bungalow balcony!

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank AraleMelbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2014

Bigger than a normal hotel room, King sized beds, lots of pillow, extra towels and toiletries. Great air con and the hammock out the front excellent for a small 'pick me up' snooze. Excellent location, a couple minutes walk to the catseye beach and the pools and five minutes walk into the marina where you can get breaky,

Couldn't faulty the rooms at all

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ironian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2014 via mobile

We stayed in the Palm Bungalows 8 years ago, they were tired and dated- but we loved the laid back feel of them. The bungalows are now fully refurbished and looking very modern and shmick. A total change from before, and perhaps a little too clinical in decor for a bungalow. We missed the big cane armchairs out the front on the verandah, now there are director chairs and a hammock (comfy!). For a self contained unit, it is missing a coffee or small dining table to eat on.
We loved our second stay in the bungalows. They still feel private and are close to the pools and buggy hire. The staff were so friendly, the meals at Sails yummy, and the cats eye beach just as beautiful and fun as before. We'll be back!

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank simplicityrules
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2014

The Hamilton Island resort was truly a heavenly experience. Well organized check in experience at the airport and hotel. Great transfer service up to our bungalow. The bungalow was spotless, well appointed, and comfortable. Tropical flowers, singing birds, steps away from beautiful Cat's Eye beach. A free frequent bus service took you wherever you needed to go on the island. What is not to love.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank luckycanadian63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 February 2014

Just returned today from a 5 night stay. Nothing bad to say about these bungalows. Very quiet stayed in 27 and can honestly say we didn't hear a thing a night or much during the day for that matter. Great location close to the reef hotel and pools/beach. Lovely comfy bed. Nice bathroom. Maybe one downside the much anticipated hammock was a little grubby probably due to humidity. They could be laundered more often. Would go back and probably would choose the bungalows again. Breakfast included was great with 3 locations to eat and boy what a breakfast spread. The staff are very lovely and should be congratulated on their customer service.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
6  Thank Janet B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hamilton Island
0.2 mi away
Reef View Hotel
Reef View Hotel
#5 of 5 in Hamilton Island
2,394 reviews
6.8 mi away
Palm Bay Resort Whitsundays
Palm Bay Resort Whitsundays
#1 of 2 in Long Island
271 reviews
0.3 mi away
Whitsunday Apartments Hamilton Island
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.2 mi away
Coral Point Lodge
Coral Point Lodge
#1 of 1 in Shute Harbour
58 reviews
16.2 mi away
Heart Hotel and Gallery Whitsundays
15.7 mi away
Colonial Palms Motor Inn
Colonial Palms Motor Inn
#2 of 10 in Airlie Beach
365 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Palm Bungalows? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palm Bungalows

Address: 3 Resort Drive, 4803, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > Queensland > Whitsunday Islands > Hamilton Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Hamilton Island
Price Range: £217 - £271 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Palm Bungalows 3*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Palm Bungalows comprise 49 freestanding island bungalows situated in a tropical garden setting,each with its own balcony and outdoor furniture. Rooms are spacious and specifically designed for couples or small families. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Southall Travel, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Palm Bungalows reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palm Bungalows Hotel Hamilton Island
Palm Hotel Hamilton Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing