We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Views Views Views”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Whitsunday Apartments Hamilton Island
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Hamilton Island
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 July 2014

Overall I would stay here again as the location can't be beaten. The views by far sell this property and its location, right opposite the beach. We stayed on the 12th floor and although I had read that the coral view apartments had been renovated and paid extra for a higher floor apartment, I'm not sure we got a renovated one. I saw inside a 1st floor apartment and they seemed overall the same although maybe they had started to renovate those too. The layout is great for a young family with 1 bedroom and enough additional bedding between the built-in bed in the bedroom and the couch in the lounge. The renovation isn't going to knock your socks off, its basic but functional with plenty of storage space and a good layout. Every day we got new towels/teatowel, rubbish removed and every 4th day they changed the linen on our bed, however the kids linen wasn't changed for the whole 10 nights we were there. The Reef View Hotel next door has suites which were exactly double the price. As far as I'm concerned I don't need a full service every day, we still enjoyed the exact same view but without the hefty price-tag. Plus the pool at the Whitsundays Apartments is much nicer than the Reef View Hotel. I did note that they don't appear to use vacuum cleaners, I never saw a single one on any of the cleaning carts or in utilities rooms and when we arrived the floor was far from clean. There was sand everywhere, I took to always wearing my jandals while in the apartment to avoid it going throughout the bed when I hopped in at night. There was a broom so I swept up 3 times while we stayed but the grouting between the tiles isn't flush so its full of sand. This is what makes me think they only sweep between guests because it was not clean when we arrived. Only a vacuum would get the sand out properly. The staff all seemed friendly and helpful, I was a little disappointed that when we asked about a late-checkout (2hrs only) 2 days before leaving, we were told they would charge us $15 an hour - after stayed 10 nights at over AU$3500, I would have thought they wouldn't charge especially since we never had our 'mini' service done until well into the afternoon every day. We were only asking to stay until midday. When we went back the following day to approve the late check-out, we were told they were fully booked and couldn't do it..... they also put a hold on your credit card for pool towels and charge $60 if the dishes aren't washed and put away before check-out so there's definitely no extras here. I would thoroughly recommend ordering on the Coles website a week before arrival - it worked perfectly, all our groceries were in the room when we arrived which not only saves money (as the general store on the island is very expensive) but its also nice to get off a flight and immediately have the basics at hand. For those traveling with younger children, it pays to order groceries for some meals to be cooked in the apartment. The island does lack places to go with children. In the hotel brochure of the 5 mentioned, only one was for families. Some take children over 12, one only takes them 18yrs and over. The Reef View Hotel was running a nightly buffet dinner for the school holidays which was delicious. There's the Marina Tavern and the Fish & Chips place on front street but apart from that its either very pricey or not for children. We tried the restaurant in the Resort Centre the first night - do not bother, expensive and not nice. We went back to the Reed View Hotel restaurant on the last night, by this time it was back to a la carte which was also very good and children under 12 eat free with a paying adult so the price was very good too. Overall we thoroughly enjoyed Hamilton Island and staying at this property. Unlike Fiji where each resort/hotel is quite separate (you're not supposed to use other hotel pools etc) Hamilton Island considers everyone staying on the island as guests and you can use all the various pools and many eateries allow charge back no matter where you are staying.

Room Tip: Definitely choose a higher level room if money allows, it would be quite disappointing to arrive and...
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Number9NZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,102)
There are newer reviews for Whitsunday Apartments Hamilton Island
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

660 - 666 of 1,102 reviews

Reviewed 17 July 2014

Stayed in one of the Shorelines apartments, 2 bedroom (1 king, 1 queen, 1 fold out sofa bed) perfect for a family. Well appointed spacious apartment, full kitchen, washing facilities (they even supplied washing powder and dishwashing tablets), 1 buggy included (4 people, can fit 2 adults 3 small kids), and access to the beautiful Edge swimming pool.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank map_bgo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2014 via mobile

We stayed on the second floor with our family of 5 and absolutely loved our stay.

The positives included the newly renovated kitchen, very friendly and helpful staff, lovely views from the balcony, room servicing everyday, great pool setup, coffee cart in the mornings, the two wallabys who turned up each night for a feed on the lawn and sensational location right on the beach.

A few of the minor negatives were the very outdated bathroom, lack of a decent sized frying pan, the spa being a little cold and the overall price being a touch expensive.

We would consider returning in the future too, but for the price it would need to be compared with renting a house for the week, as many include the golf buggy to get around which cost about $90 a day to hire.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
2  Thank Gavan F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2014

Stayed on the 10th floor of the west wing and the view was amazing!!! Apartment was large but not renovated, although reviews suggest that some Coral Sea view apartments have been recently refurbished. Plenty of room for suitcases and good wardrobe storage. Kitchen and bathroom were functional but basic. Daily service includes emptying of the bins and fresh towels and that's it. There is no on-site restaurant so if breakfast is included, you go next door to the Reef View Hotel. Shuttle buses operate regularly around the island but it's also easy enough to walk to the marina and Resort Centre. Would definitely recommend this accommodation and will likely revisit, although would specifically request a renovated apartment next time and perhaps travel during Spring when the weather would allow us to take greater advantage of all the activities the area has to offer.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
3  Thank Karen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2014

The newly renovated accommodation was fantastic.
Despite the somewhat negative reviews we were overwhelmed by the beautifully appointed rooms and couldn't say any more about the staff. They made out stay memorable like they do every time and couldn't recommend this hotel any higher. This was our third stay at the hotel.
Cant wait for more memories with our little kid lets.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Westy0612
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2014

What a fantastic holiday we had here. The apartment had a lovely view over Catseye beach, the pool and heated spa were lovely and the staff were always very helpful. Apartment was spacious and modern.

Room Tip: Higher room would be less noisy. Don't forget to order your coles online groceries 48 hours befo...
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
4  Thank Philmatilda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2014

We stayed at the seaview room and the place was better than I thought (there were some negative reviews about the apartments recently on TripAdvisor before I went on the trip). If you were looking for state of the art and super modern apartments this may not be for you but having been there I felt the place was nice and modest, and was kept very clean and comfortable (see pics). The view was excellent and at times I felt pictures didn't do it justice. Check-in took a bit of time but other than that the staff were friendly and helpful. I only gave 'Average' for 'Restaurant' and 'Fitness Centre' because it was not applicable.

Room Tip: Stayed on the West side. Fifth floor.
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank a1ice16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hamilton Island
0.1 mi away
Reef View Hotel
Reef View Hotel
#5 of 5 in Hamilton Island
2,395 reviews
7.0 mi away
Palm Bay Resort Whitsundays
Palm Bay Resort Whitsundays
#1 of 2 in Long Island
272 reviews
0.3 mi away
Palm Bungalows
Palm Bungalows
#4 of 5 in Hamilton Island
562 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.5 mi away
Coral Point Lodge
Coral Point Lodge
#1 of 1 in Shute Harbour
58 reviews
16.5 mi away
Heart Hotel and Gallery Whitsundays
17.2 mi away
at Marina Shores
at Marina Shores
#5 of 10 in Airlie Beach
408 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Whitsunday Apartments Hamilton Island? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Whitsunday Apartments Hamilton Island

Address: 14 Resort Drive, 4803, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Whitsunday Islands > Hamilton Island
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Hamilton Island
Price Range: £148 - £276 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Whitsunday Apartments Hamilton Island 3.5*
Number of rooms: 168
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whitsunday Apartments Hamilton Island is apartment-style living in a truly tropical holiday destination in the heart of the Great Barrier Reef. Adjacent to Catseye Beach on the resort side of Hamilton Island, the Whitsunday Apartments are the perfect setting for a relaxed, romantic or adventure holiday.Whitsunday Apartments is the ideal destination for holidaymakers who prefer the independence of apartment accommodation. Each apartment offers a well-appointed kitchen, dual-access bathroom, large open-plan living area and a spacious balcony offering ocean or lush tropical garden views. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Whitsunday Apartments Hamilton Island reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Whitsunday Apartments Hamilton Island Hotel Hamilton Island
Whitsunday Holiday Apartments Hamilton Island
Whitsunday Holiday Apartments Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing