We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great for family”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Whitsunday Apartments Hamilton Island
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Hamilton Island
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great for family”
Reviewed 20 August 2014

Reasonable pricing in comparison to other places on Hamilton Island, but the apartment is more suitable for family stay rather than couple. The kitchen is useful as restaurants on the island are quite pricey. The room is spacious and has everything you need however its not as romantic as other hotels i.e beach club and reef view hotel. If you going to stay here as couple make sure you pick the room on the higher floor at least you have some great views from the large balcony.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jecci
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,067 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    483
    421
    111
    32
    20
See reviews for
292
519
24
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (354)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2014 via mobile

You don't need a lagoon view to enjoy this place. We had a garden view overlooking the pool and palm trees absolute bliss. Save your $ as u need it for food. New kitchen helped an older styled airy apartment, bathroom could do with a re-furb but all clean so not bad at all. Great balcony with good seating and loungers. Only bugger was wifi only down stairs at reception and it was pretty poor random reception but hey not a major when on a holiday.
Great transport here with the island buses stopping here, bonus but an easy 10-15min walk to marina side. Easy to get around and great location. Totally recommend.

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Jos1511
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
33 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2014 via mobile

We had a great 5 night stay at the Whitsunday Apartments. The rooms are a but dated, but are quite spacious and have everything you need.

The hotel staff were very friendly and knowledgable about the Island and happy to help.

The hotel is quite close to the main part of town (marina) and Resort Centre (shops, pools, watersport hire), making it easy to walk everywhere you need to go. It is also on the 'Green Bus' route, which meant an easy 5min trip to and from the marina through out the day and most of the evening.

We had a couple of rainy days during our stay, but having a roomy apartment and lovely view over Catseye Beach made it very easy to handle!

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Victoria1107
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Halesworth
Level Contributor
35 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2014 via mobile

We stayed here as part of our honeymoon and we loved this place. We were on the 13th floor, and the views are breathtaking. The furniture was lovely and modern, and the apartment was so spacious. It had everything we needed in the kitchen, and yes, the general store is expensive but always cheaper than restaurants! It was so comfortable and we would return there any day!

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank SIrene1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2014 via mobile

Start with the positives.
-Plenty of space!
-The View! Stayed on the 12th floor. -It was absolutely amazing!
-Good location for the beach.
-Good bed
-friendly staff
-pool was nice


Negatives
-bathroom was dirty
-kitchen was dirty
-found hairs everywhere
-lift was so old that some buttons were missing, the screen to tell you what floor didn't work and one lift had the most horrible sound! (Actually feared for my life inside of it...)
-oven was so complicated and stupid! Took me 3 hours to cook a pizza!
-found out later in the week that other places supplied there own bugger higher for free. Big mistake for me because it cost $100 for 24 hours..( rip off)
-birds... Watch them. Need a shot gun!

Wouldn't recommend this hotel. Unless your a cheap person who doesn't mind dying and cleanliness, then for all means stay here.

If you do stay on the island. Make sure you order you groceries from Coles. The general store is so expensive that it's cheaper to eat out.

Make sure you have lunch at the golf club. Best feed I have had in a long time. Then do the tour of the golf course. Stunning views.

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Zoe L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2014

There are so many positives about these apartments. Their location is ideal. Situated directly across from Catseye beach. So easy just to stroll down past the amazing pool, and I believe it's the best pool in the vicinity. There are plenty of lounges and sitting areas which provide privacy due to the boulders and greenery around the pool. Towels are available in abundance, complimentary, unless you lose one...($20 fee).

The views are every bit the spectacular centrepiece that everyone raves about. I am currently in room 1103, (Coral View, 11th floor) breathtaking! The balconies are wide with adjustable lounges as well as a four seater dining set and sunshine bathes it all day.

The room is only one bedroom, but oh so spacious. The bedroom has a kingsize bed, firm, but great. It also includes a day bed off to the side and a second tv and dvd player and a second wash basin, mirror and storage! . There is plenty of storage space in the wardrobe and around the room.

The kitchen faces the ocean, so lovely when preparing meals. It is equipped with basic, but functional equipment. Some things need an update. Blunt knife and peeler.. small stuff really..The oven is also a microwave.The cutlery and crockery was new and clean, although the cupboards I believe need airing.

The combined dining/sitting area has a lounge that turns into a double bed or two singles with linen provided. (Had two friends join me through the week). A great flat screen tv and dvd player with movies in abundance as well as music.

The bathroom which can be accessed from the hall as well as the bedroom has the softest towels I have experienced. They are pure luxury. Basic toiletries are also provided and replenished as needed.

Staff were good, nothing was too much trouble. I asked for extra towels, extra linen, extra milk and I asked for the tenants upstairs to be told to keep the noise down, they actioned it all immediately, also providing a follow up call to reassure me.

I think the only negative for me was the fact that i asked to check in an hour earlier (couldn't guarantee it and fair enough) and I entered my room 5 minutes after 2pm (check in time). The room had just been cleaned and the cleaning products smelled extremely strong and unpleasant. Having the balcony doors wide open fixed that, but it took about two hours to settle.

Coffee cart (morning, near the pool area) and ice cream chests in the reception entrance available till 7pm (reception close time). I wouldn't bother with the buggies to get around ($85 per day!). The free bus is super reliable(every 15mins) and the walk to the main shops, the marina, is so easy, less that 6 minutes. All the water sports are great fun and readily available. The bushwalking has views to die for.

This is a good place to stay overall and I would recommend it. It has a vintage feel, (although my room was completely updated), however it's really quite comfortable and very practical, except if you have kids and don't mind making up their beds daily in the lounge room. If super modern is your thing, try somewhere else, and be prepared for the corresponding price tag. :-)

Room Tip: Try the East wing from around the 10th floor and up.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank En-vey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gold Coast, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2014

Just returned from our second family trip to Hamilton Island in the past twelve months. Keen to book at Whitsunday Apartments again as our first experience was terrific. Despite the weather being a little cooler than our last trip we found the Whitsunday team warm & welcoming. The apartment itself was again very clean, well appointed & catered easily for our family of four. We had a sensational view across Catseye beach & beyond. My eldest son hadn't been before & despite being well travelled commented it was the most awesome view he'd ever had! We were always impressed by the friendly greetings offered whenever we passed staff around the place & additional requests were never too much trouble. Being there at a cooler time of year was no drama. This place is officially our favourite family short (& hopefully longer) break destination. After a couple of visits now, wouldn't even consider booking anywhere else. Nice work guys!

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DazAlly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hamilton Island
0.1 mi away
Reef View Hotel
Reef View Hotel
#5 of 5 in Hamilton Island
2,257 reviews
0.3 mi away
Palm Bungalows
Palm Bungalows
#3 of 5 in Hamilton Island
535 reviews
7.0 mi away
Palm Bay Resort Whitsundays
Palm Bay Resort Whitsundays
#1 of 3 in Long Island
235 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.5 mi away
Coral Point Lodge
Coral Point Lodge
#1 of 1 in Shute Harbour
57 reviews
17.2 mi away
at Marina Shores
at Marina Shores
#4 of 10 in Airlie Beach
391 reviews
0.1 mi away
Beach Club
Beach Club
#1 of 5 in Hamilton Island
1,046 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Whitsunday Apartments Hamilton Island? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Whitsunday Apartments Hamilton Island

Property: Whitsunday Apartments Hamilton Island
Address: 14 Resort Drive, 4803, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Whitsunday Islands > Hamilton Island
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Hamilton Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Whitsunday Apartments Hamilton Island 4*
Number of rooms: 168
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whitsunday Apartments Hamilton Island is apartment-style living in a truly tropical holiday destination in the heart of the Great Barrier Reef. Adjacent to Catseye Beach on the resort side of Hamilton Island, the Whitsunday Apartments are the perfect setting for a relaxed, romantic or adventure holiday.Whitsunday Apartments is the ideal destination for holidaymakers who prefer the independence of apartment accommodation. Each apartment offers a well-appointed kitchen, dual-access bathroom, large open-plan living area and a spacious balcony offering ocean or lush tropical garden views. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TravelUp, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Whitsunday Apartments Hamilton Island reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Whitsunday Apartments Hamilton Island Hotel Hamilton Island
Whitsunday Holiday Apartments Hamilton Island
Whitsunday Holiday Apartments Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing