We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great place for honeymoon” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Qualia Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Qualia Resort
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Hamilton Island
Certificate of Excellence
Monterrey, Mexico
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great place for honeymoon”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 January 2014

An unexpected secluded island in Australia. This place has a great vision and it is a spectacular hotel in every way, make sure to stay in a Winward Pavillion, the room was amazing with the plunge pool and the staff is great too.

Also a great place to make friends because there is lots of couples too.
You get a buggy cart to go on the island and around the property which we enjoyed a lot because we could also go explore around the island and ate some amazing dinners in the island too.

We did the beach drop off in Whitehaven beach and enjoyed it a lot, the private beach drop off too, and the sea plane to the Great Barrier Reef and did some amazing snorkeling, the dinner in the hotel was very good too but depends on the food taste you have, this is modern and minimalistic food.

The views are spectacular and amazing in every way, waking up to those views has been one of the best ones I've ever seen.

The breakfast is not too varied and has just the basic things, unless you order from the menu the eggs benedict are the best. Also the matress at our room was not very comfy, they do need to change them and clean a little bit better in the outside area of the guest rooms.

Overall a great honeymoon experience since we travelled all the way from Mexico!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JOSE LUIS S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,287 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,062
    145
    49
    16
    15
See reviews for
72
1,021
16
28
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (396)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 January 2014

My wife and I spent four short days at Qualia. We have travelled the world and we are fortunate to be able to stay in the finest resorts. We were greeted at the airport and were whisked away in a van to be transported to an architectural wonder that is their main pavilion. Our two room suite with the plunge pool facing the water was perfect in every way shape and form. The privacy it afforded us, the glass enclosed space, the outdoor pavilion the natural wonders surrounding us, made it almost impossible to leave. We availed ourselves of the spa and the two restaurants, all of which are excellent. The spa deserves the awards that they received and their therapist are highly skilled. Last but not least were the staff of young, eager to please men and women. They helped to make this stay perfect. Bravo to the staff and of course the GM whose style of management helped to set the tone of "Heaven on Earth"

Room Tip: Room 3 faces the water and an ancient tree. If you are patient you can see the family of wallabies.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Murray1949
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Nom la Breteche
Level Contributor
493 reviews
106 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 167 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 December 2013 via mobile

Clearly a piece of paradise on earth or one the great hotels in the world. Right in a preserved park facing the sea wherever your pavilion is a large estate which allows you not to be bothered by others or not to bother others for one. The architecture of tve lobby/restaurant/bar is stunning with its magnificent lap pool overlooking the sea. Service is very professionnal, international, with proper attention to the guest. Perhaps some of the managers are a bit arrogant however... tha main swimming pool is magnificent and the grounds around itvery nice. We never feel over crowed. Food at the swimming pool restaurant is ok and very expensive for what it is. At the main restaurant there is a truly effort to do a great cuisine. Some entrees are excellent other are a bit surprising with the mixture of flavours. Prices are what you expect ie very high but it is worth it !

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Francois L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 December 2013

This resort hotel favourably compares with the best in the world, everything about it is first class. The food, the facilities, the people who make it all happen and the fact that it's in a nature reserve all add up to a fantastic holiday experience.

When businesses are at the "top of their game", there is quality threshold that simply oozes a real depth of quiet unfussy professionalism. This hotel has it in spades and I would recommend it, in a heartbeat, to anyone who is looking for and is prepared to pay for the privilege of staying somewhere that irrespective of money is very difficult to find. Absolutely top class!

Room Tip: It simply does not matter which pavilion (type A or B) you stay in…..they are all world class!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Wilson N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamilton_Island_Aus, General Manager at Qualia Resort, responded to this review, 5 January 2014
Dear Wilson N,

I offer rather belated compliments for the season and thank you for a truly gracious review.

My team do pride themselves on delivering exceptionable service and it is great to see that their 'quiet unfussy professionalism' is both recognized and appreciated!

I hope we can welcome you to experience the same and more again in future.

Warm regards,

Matthew Taverner
General Manager - qualia

Hamilton Island
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
36 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 December 2013

Amazing architecture that blends into the landscape with views drawing to the Whitsunday waters, Each pavilion is well appointed with great attention to every detail. The staff were friendly and very accommodating and rarely in Australia is service so slick as it is at Qualia. Food was divine and memorable. Thankyou Qualia exceptional!!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gail A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne
Level Contributor
35 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 December 2013

We found Qualia to be one of the most beautiful places we have stayed - the design of the resort is outstanding - drinks at the long pavilion and the villa we stayed in were just stunning. We hardly wanted to leave our villa and loved the view from the bedroom - so clear it was as if there was no glass there. The bathroom was also very beautiful.

Overall we did not find Hamilton Island a particularly interesting and the rest of the accommodation on the island looked pretty awful - so I would recommend not venturing far out of Qualia except to the yacht club or for a snorkel on the reef.

We had a pool villa which was nice although the pool is a little small. The food at Qualia was outstanding and we enjoyed the pebble beach restaurant food as much as the fine dining upstairs. My husband's gripe was that on some nights the Pebble Beach restaurant was closed and he felt that at the price the resort charges both restaurants should really be open and available on all nights - I think he is right here. We also thought that the price should include a basic lunch option - even just a small optional selection - because food on the remainder of the island is pretty average - although surprisingly good fish and chips are to be had at the fish shop! Breakfast was lovely but a few more things out on the bench could be helpful - I hate having to ask for basic things such as butter!

We adored Qualia and would absolutely recommend this place and would be happy to return.

Room Tip: I would go for a pool villa - just a little more luxury!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MMandBean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 December 2013

Qualia is a gorgeous hotel, tucked privately away on Hamilton Island in the Whitsundays. It's a great spot with a sense of privacy and class. The lodges are beautiful and very well appointed, with outstanding outdoor spaces - private plunge pool, large deck space, massive glass doors open up wide to allow the outside in. The bathrooms are massive and the golf-buggies are handy to help you explore the area.

The spa was lovely and treatments were very good. The facilities were nice and the products were gorgeous.

The activities available through the hotel, including helicopter trips, sea kayaking and boating were great. We had an amazing time and would happily return.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PaulKandAnnieL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hamilton Island
0.7 mi away
Reef View Hotel
Reef View Hotel
#5 of 5 in Hamilton Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,229 reviews
0.6 mi away
Palm Bungalows
Palm Bungalows
#3 of 5 in Hamilton Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 530 reviews
6.7 mi away
Palm Bay Resort Whitsundays
Palm Bay Resort Whitsundays
#1 of 3 in Long Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 234 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Whitsunday Apartments Hamilton Island
16.7 mi away
at Marina Shores
at Marina Shores
#4 of 10 in Airlie Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 387 reviews
10.9 mi away
Coral Point Lodge
Coral Point Lodge
#1 of 1 in Shute Harbour
4.0 of 5 bubbles 57 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Qualia Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Qualia Resort

Property: Qualia Resort
Address: 20 Whitsunday Boulevard, 4803, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > Queensland > Whitsunday Islands > Hamilton Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Hamilton Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Qualia Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the Whitsundays, qualia puts the wonders of the Great Barrier Reef right on your doorstep. Its sun-drenched northern aspect provides the ideal location to appreciate the passing beauty of each day, surrounding guests with some of the most stunning and spectacular waters to be found anywhere in the world. What’s more, with a direct flight taking only 2-3 hours from international gateway cities on Australia’s east coast, qualia truly is a world-class destination without the journey.qualia offers a choice of 60 individual pavilions, each with breathtaking views. There are spacious one-bedroom freestanding pavilions (Windward and Leeward) that provide an indulgentspace to relax in and unwind, with either a sundeck or private infinity edge plunge pool. Or, there’s the uncompromising luxury and privacy of the Beach House with its own guest pavilion. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Sabre Hospitality Solutions and Hotels.com so you can book your Qualia Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Qualia Hamilton Island
Qualia Hotel Hamilton Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing