We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Pizza, great view.”
Review of Manta Ray

Manta Ray
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$7 - US$33
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza, European, Australian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Special Occasion Dining, Kids, Local cuisine, View, Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, Brunch, After-hours, Lunch, Delivery, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: This restaurant is a favourite both with guests and locals. Located in the Marina Village, Manta Ray offers a great menu of delicious gourmet wood fired pizzas, pastas, salads and more
Rancho Santa Margarita, California
Level Contributor
32 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Great Pizza, great view.”
Reviewed 5 December 2013 via mobile

The service was lacking, even for Australia. However, the food was very good and pretty reasonable. 4 of as shared 2 pizza's & 2 btls of wine. It was comfortable temperature even sitting outside and nice view of the marina. Go check it out!

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Beth S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,448 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    495
    587
    253
    67
    46
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Not the best experience”
Reviewed 3 December 2013

First time on HTI with friends. Had a large booking at this restaurant for 6.30pm, an adults table and a kids table (ages 10 down to 2) . Ordered kids meals reasonably quickly and shortly after 3 meals were delivered (abt 15 kids) then nothing. Later learned these meals were actually for another table. After quite a lengthy wait and a few complaints, all but 3 meals arrived. More complaining and repeated details of what was missing and eventually all kids had eaten. Process took well over an hr which is not great for young kids, especially when we had pre booked days before hand.
When we finally got to order adult meals - and we did this by one of our group going up to the counter as no wait staff came near us - they arrived after another decent wait. Kids mental by this time. Waitress offered the excuse that 'we are really busy'
Seemed to be poor communication between wait staff and kitchen, inadequate numbers of staff for the size of the restaurant. Very disappointed. I doubt we would have been the first big group that they have served. We only took up two long tables. Expected better.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Team T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Worst pizza ever”
Reviewed 2 December 2013

Takeaway pizza was the worst I've ever eaten. You'd be better off getting a frozen one and heating it in a microwave. Overpriced, undersized and truly awful.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Wilburchien
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
183 reviews
87 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Great location and good food”
Reviewed 30 November 2013

Stopped hear for lunch before a 2pm checkin. Views are great on the marina. Menu good with pasta, salads, pizzas. Seafood pastas good as are pizzas. Service slow and not attentive but friendly. TIP. Sit out on front deck. Also have pizza delivery.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MsCulture
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mackay, Australia
Level Contributor
276 reviews
196 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
“Great location”
Reviewed 27 November 2013 via mobile

I have been here many times over the years and have found the food to be consistently good.
The garlic prawns are exceptional .
The pizza are good after dining in we enjoyed them so much we decided to order a 8 takeaway for lunch at blue pearl bay the next day they were a great hit with the boys.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Kester O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Manta Ray also viewed

Hamilton Island, Whitsunday Islands
Hamilton Island, Whitsunday Islands
 
Hamilton Island, Whitsunday Islands
Hamilton Island, Whitsunday Islands
 

Been to Manta Ray? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing