We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicious”
Review of La Trattoria - CLOSED

La Trattoria
Price range: US$34 - US$138
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
New Jersey
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Delicious”
Reviewed 22 November 2013

Great pizza, salads, and burrata. Kingfish was great! Thanks to Gabriela and Rhys for their good service.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank travelgirl6877
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

51 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    11
    13
    10
    10
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Tacky, underwhelming food and inexperienced staff.”
Reviewed 9 November 2013 via mobile

It not often I give a bad (if not scathing) review, but for a resort where cuisine is advertised as world class, and you expect to pay diamonds for each bite this is a thorough disappointment.

Atmosphere; in the process of changing to a new fresh design; as seen with sanded tables and whitewash chairs outside, but the interiors are still 'universal studios Italian theme' with gelled lighting and the music lifted from the lady and the tramp cartoon.

The manager and waiters were VERY friendly but obviously inexperienced (the resort recently changed hands and all the staff are possibly new).

We kept getting our food taken away before we were finished, the waiters didn't know their menu ingredients and rather than find out sheepishly said "I don't know, I'm sure it's fine". We got a different waiter every 2 min rearranging the table, the light dimmers, the music volume and constantly asked if we were done even though there was obviously heaps of food on our plates still.

The entree oysters were an assault to my taste buds and to the poor oyster itself (drowned in a corn flour thickened tomato paste cream sauce in different sized shot glasses but all with the same flavour). We ordered a crustacean entree as well, which the waiter said was crab, which came out with a prawn and Morton bay bug (allergic to both).
For main the 'steamed fish in a bag' - although not spectacular- was redeeming; simple, balanced homely flavours, tasty garlic potatoes on the side, can't complain. Also the chicken pizza had reasonable flavours and was not too oily - if you don't expect authentic delightful crust, real woodfire bubbles or a tangy tomato passata (with such low expectations after rushing through the starters) then you will be satisfied.

Again the friendliness of the staff buffered the rest of the experience with complementary champagne to start and some tasty chocolates (see picture) to end to acknowledge an anniversary.

I guess the thing to remember is that this is the 'family restaurant' of the island so if they drop the ball on any restaurant it's going to be this one. For good measure the menu is due for a revamp on the 15th November and the resort is closing in January for a more thorough renovation - hopefully there will be enough time to train the staff as well and it might be worth the $170 we payed for this meal.

Helpful?
1 Thank Marcus K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 6 Contributor
93 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Lovely fine dining”
Reviewed 5 September 2013

Great experience, delicious food. Great service. Had the salmon and beef. Chocolate dessert was really good!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank JJroses
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“unable to cater for dietary requirements”
Reviewed 23 July 2013

No GF menu and when we requested GF from the wait staff we were informed that they had "just run out" of gluten free pizza bases and pasta so could not cater for coeliac diet.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Sam M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hope Island, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
238 reviews
134 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
“Good pizzas!”
Reviewed 28 June 2013

We had dinner here once during our stay as we were trying as many of the restaurant options as we could. We had a pizza each as that's what we felt like and they were huge! Paired with some wine and bread it was a good dinner. The staff were very helpful and professional, the restaurant atmosphere is quite nice too. We would eat here again. More of a casual atmosphere although at Hayman you can dress up to your heart's content, as we did once or twice :)

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mrsktm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing