We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nature overload, very special Island”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Adventure Island Resort
Reviewed 26 May 2013

We traveled by our charter boat to south Molle to go on the walk locals told us about. Spion Kop walk, the very best views in the Whitsundays, we picked up a mooring overnight and got up early to see the sunrise......amazing . The bay is very quiet at night and the marine life is amazing, we saw close up dolphins and 3 turtles. The kids were amazed to see so much and so close. The resort managers told us they only do private groups but were still friendly and happily directed us to the walks. They also told us about the aboriginal history of 9000 + years and on the walk we saw the flint quarry. South Molle is a very special place for those who appreciate nature.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Location
1  Thank Petra B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (149)
There are newer reviews for Adventure Island Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

103 - 109 of 149 reviews

Reviewed 25 May 2013

I explored the amazing white haven beach just magic and stay 2 nights 3 days on adventure island,It was a fantastic time great atmostphere relax by the pool and took a amazing bush walk rated number 1 island walk in Qld,play golf,tennis,snorkel enjoyed some cocktails and sang karaoke had a great time i highly recomend for the backpackers tring to save some cash and still have a an amazing all round experience worth every second thanks adventure island had a great adventure :)

Room Tip: upgrade to beach front room fantastic view worth it
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mark B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2013

During our 7 night charter last week we decided to pick up a mooring and enjoy the facilities on this resort for our last afternoon and evening which mind you was a Saturday. We were quite prepared to have paid the $55 mooring fee to use the facilities and would probably spent at least $500 between the 5 of us that evening. However, after motoring in at 1pm that afternoon we were greeted with a sign at reception saying that reception closed call this number. No answer. So after a look around we found 4 staff members all lying around the pool quite perplexed at our presence. One of these, which I presumed was the manager asked if we were bush walking! After explaining that we wanted to pay for a mooring and use the facilities we were told that the resort is closed on weekends! What sort of resort is closed on a weekend.....That was enough for us to sail the extra hour to Long Island resort where we were greeted warmly and where you could get service and use all of there facililities. If I was the owner/ operater of this island I would probably have a look at your strategy and certainly your personnel as it seems odd that you would pay staff to lye around the pool all weekend rather than welcome guests and perhaps put them to work to at least clean the rooms up as this seems to be a problem also looking at past reviews. I understand that the market is tough and the state of tourism is not great due to the dollar but you are either serious about your offer or don't bother opening. I would also look at getting your moorings maintained as they are encrusted with crap which will severely cut someone. Charterers and chartering companies should avoid South Molle.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Service
9  Thank Balmyhumps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2013

Me and my girlfriend booked this trip after seeing a brochure in a hostel, it all looked very good and as we didn't want to be on a boat for the whole time staying in the resort seemed perfect especially as the guy on the phone gave us $100 discount each when we booked. Upon arriving the rooms we not clean and I'm sure the sheets hadn't even been changed as there was sand in the bed, and turns out we paid more then most people anyway, the 'resort' itself is really run down and alot of it is out of use such as the outside gym which has been left to rust for god knows how long and one night we were sitting outside our room and the street lamp fell down causing power to go out in our room. after asking staff it turns out this 'resort' was a popular family holiday destination until a cyclone hit and it has since been left to rot until koala adventure island came up with the bright idea to aim it at backpackers.
The staff? Well yes they were friendly and pleasant but our tour guide wasn't very good in terms of knowledge of the place or marine life, the guy who drove the boat was also not very knowledgeable either and didn't even know that coral was an animal. The food was average and included in the price but our tour guide was late getting up the last day and we almost had no time for breakfast (which included powdered milk and stale cereal) and the whole day was rushed. The snorkelling was average the stinger suit they glave me had holes in it, the boat needs refurbishing PLEASE DO NOT BOOK THIS TOUR pay a bit more money and have a much richer experience with a proper tour.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank The_J16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2012

This has been my second time to whitsundays! Combining the sail & island stay makes a huge difference ! You can get to shower (no boats allows you to have one) you can decide weather joining the night entertainment or just chill elsewhere! The island is yours! I notice a lot of people are subscribing just to post one good or bad review so don't follow them! The place was clean and for the insects you may not like to travel North Queensland if you are too fussy!

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bacpacpro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2012

I stayed here with my dad last October for 2 nights.it was very quiet being off peak season but straight away the island felt rather dated,however there was a lovely feel to the island which as a nature reserve was quite rustic but many of rooms looked run down and unmaintained,especially the beach rooms.the staff were friendly enough and the pool was lovely but the resort felt like it could do with an upgrade. Unfortunately on our second night the island was descended upon by a teen party of well over 100 people there was very loud music very drunk guests,many of whom were obviously underage. Not what you would expect from an advertised quiet nature reserve and I was given no warning when I made the booking. Unfortunately in the night the bedroom door was kicked in by a partygoer with loud music playing.we complained straight away but it felt like a house party out of control.we were given complementary boat rides the next day but it was still a real shame.south molle really is a beautiful island I'd recommend its fabulous walks with some great views from the top of the island.it has a lot of potential but could do with an upgrade and no more teen parties!!

  • Stayed: October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Imogen2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2012

My friend and I had planned a Whitsundays holiday which included visiting surrounding islands and unfortunately South Molle. On arrival, the staff were polite and happily helped us with our luggage to the reception area. We quickly noted that the resort was practically deserted. We checked into our room shortly after only to be confronted with a dirty, old room infested with insects and an accumulation of dust. The shower curtain was mouldy, and the bathroom and cobwebs underneath the vanity and surrounding the toilet, not to mention the state of the shower basin. We reported this downstairs at reception and requested to be moved into another room, which we assumed wouldnt be a problem since we were the only ones there. We moved rooms however, this was just as bad. We found dead cockroaches behind the bed and mouse poo surrounding the room. For the two nights we stayed, we did not sleep in the sheets (as they appeared as though they hadnt been changed).

Due to the weather, NO activities were being offered so everything that was promised, was not delivered. There were collectively 6 staff working on the whole island by which only one cafe would serve breakfast, lunch and dinner. No other restaurants were open or available. The selected cafe would open during meal times and close in between so if you wanted a snack in between meals, TOO BAD! and to top it off, the food we did purchase was overdue!
The one positive of the resort was the pool, it was big and clean!
Unfortunately, the negatives heavily outweighed the one positive of this resort and I honestly wouldn't recommend this place to my worst enemy!
As far as I'm aware, the resort is privately owned and thus very poor maintained

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank Biia P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near South Molle Island
10.3 mi away
Palm Bay Resort Whitsundays
Palm Bay Resort Whitsundays
#1 of 2 in Long Island
271 reviews
16.7 mi away
Reef View Hotel
Reef View Hotel
#5 of 5 in Hamilton Island
2,394 reviews
16.8 mi away
Whitsunday Apartments Hamilton Island
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.3 mi away
Coral Point Lodge
Coral Point Lodge
#1 of 1 in Shute Harbour
58 reviews
16.5 mi away
Palm Bungalows
Palm Bungalows
#4 of 5 in Hamilton Island
560 reviews
0.3 mi away
Heart Hotel and Gallery Whitsundays
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Adventure Island Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Adventure Island Resort

Address: PO Box 147 Airlie Beach Q | Whitsunday's Queensland, 4802, Australia (Formerly Koala Adventure Island)
Region: Australia > Queensland > Whitsunday Islands > South Molle Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in South Molle Island
Price Range: £29 - £165 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Adventure Island Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 180
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Adventure Island Resort on South Molle embodies real island spirit. This eco friendly tropical paradise boasts 30% of the Whitsundays Great Walks, has a rich Indigenous History, is abundant in native flora and fauna, and is encircled by reef. Catering to all ages 18 and over, guests can engage in snorkelling and paddle boarding, bushwalking, relaxing by the resort pool, exploring the 17 secluded island beaches, help feed the wild birds & fish or play a round on the 9 hole golf course.Set in a protected North Facing Bay on South Molle Island the Accommodation is situated right along the white sandy beach and rimmed by Coconut Palms. Adventure Island Resort has 200 rooms, a restaurant, bar and café and conference facilities. Explore, relax, reconnect with nature and meet like minded people at Adventure Island Resort on South Molle. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Adventure Island Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Adventure Island Hotel South Molle Island
South Molle Island Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing