We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Travelers Beware - Rooms in Poor Condition and Dirty, Food was Poor”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Adventure Island Resort
Reviewed 31 December 2013

We booked a two-night, three-day adventure with Koala Adventures. Upon arrival we were shown our room. We paid an additional $190 for an upgraded room which was dirty (cobwebs, visible, black dirt on the fan blades, loose balcony railing, no soap or shampoo, two bath towels only for three days - same towels). The bed was extremely soft and had seen better days, The concrete sidewalk was deteriorating on the path to the room and the path was dark.

And then there was the food. Buffet style dining without water or other drinks (water could be obtained from the bar without cost but there was a cost for all other options). Food quality was poor except for the spaghetti. One night we had curried chicken without the chicken. Eggs in the morning were limited to one per traveler. If you were hungry before the buffet line opened you were out of luck. When it came to taste and food quality, no expense was taken. Food on the boat during lunch included peanut butter and jelly, lunch meat, tuna out of the can, and fruit for some of the travelers who got to the counter first. Drinks were not provided.

The snorkeling equipment was one size and my mask didn't fit properly. Fins were not available. We only stopped at one location to snorkel and the water was murky. The stop at the beach en route was enjoyable however.

The staff was great but seemed to have their hands tied as far as any improvements. I would never recommend this trip to anyone especially if your goal is to dive or snorkel in the Great Barrier Reef. I have traveled extensively in the Caribbean, Europe, and the USA. This is my worst trip to date. I would be cautious of reviews of "amazing or fantastic".

Room Tip: Go someplace else!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Csprings99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (150)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

95 - 101 of 150 reviews

Reviewed 27 November 2013

I booked a 3 day 2 nights trip with koala adventures. The trip was so fun even though it rained. The best parts were the location and the staff. The island is beautiful and the snorkelling day was located in a stunning area in between Islands. The staff were so friendly and were so much fun in the evenings. Was sad to go! I highly recommend this place

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank EdenBlackburn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2013

I had an amazing time on south molle island at the koala adventures resort. All the staff were so nice and helpful. The snorkelling was brilliant and being out on the boat with the crew was fantastic! Whitehaven beach was breathtaking. I would definitely go back and will soon! I recommend this to everyone!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kaia88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2013

Absolute value for money... An entire island to yourself great boat and island staff... Had a great time....Really want to go back... The resort has a great pool and the mountain has epic views... Snorkeling gear was decent and the Whitsunday beach was fabulous...

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ian U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2013

My friends and I booked the three day package with Koala Adventures on South Molle Island. Exploring the the Whitsundays on the catamaran was gorgeous, but the best part was getting to snorkel with the sea turtles. Not only did we spend plenty of time in the water, but we were able to hike through the national park as well. The only thing I would change about the trip would be to stay a little longer.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kendall H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2013

Overall an excellent experience, chaperoned by some really genuinely fun and accommodating staff. The boat is great, the snorkeling is really quite fantastic and the actual resort is quite pretty. It is by no means a luxurious experience, but if you're looking to adventure in comfort and have a low-key, good time, this is ideal. My only complaint would be the food, but then again, that's not exactly why I came here.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Karima A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2013

Booked a 3-day, 2-night trip with Koala Adventures at South Molle Island resort with my college buddies. Glad I did too, not only did we get to spend a day at White-haven beach and snorkel the gorgeous reefs of the Whitsundays but we stayed on what felt like our own private island! I'm a bit of a outdoorsy guy so the island activities and scenery put this trip right over the top for me. Beautiful hiking trails, exotic wildlife, friendly staff, killer facilities, and without the crowds you'd normally expect with a trip package this affordable. Highly recommend this trip for anyone who loves natural beauty (and some drinking and fun in the evenings)!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JustReid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near South Molle Island
10.3 mi away
Palm Bay Resort Whitsundays
Palm Bay Resort Whitsundays
#1 of 1 in Long Island
280 reviews
16.8 mi away
Whitsunday Apartments Hamilton Island
16.7 mi away
Reef View Hotel
Reef View Hotel
#5 of 5 in Hamilton Island
2,409 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.3 mi away
Coral Point Lodge
Coral Point Lodge
#1 of 1 in Shute Harbour
58 reviews
16.5 mi away
Palm Bungalows
Palm Bungalows
#4 of 5 in Hamilton Island
567 reviews
16.7 mi away
Beach Club
Beach Club
#1 of 5 in Hamilton Island
1,140 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Adventure Island Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Adventure Island Resort

Address: PO Box 147 Airlie Beach Q | Whitsunday's Queensland, 4802, Australia (Formerly Koala Adventure Island)
Region: Australia > Queensland > Whitsunday Islands > South Molle Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in South Molle Island
Price Range: £29 - £166 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Adventure Island Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 180
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Adventure Island Resort on South Molle embodies real island spirit. This eco friendly tropical paradise boasts 30% of the Whitsundays Great Walks, has a rich Indigenous History, is abundant in native flora and fauna, and is encircled by reef. Catering to all ages 18 and over, guests can engage in snorkelling and paddle boarding, bushwalking, relaxing by the resort pool, exploring the 17 secluded island beaches, help feed the wild birds & fish or play a round on the 9 hole golf course.Set in a protected North Facing Bay on South Molle Island the Accommodation is situated right along the white sandy beach and rimmed by Coconut Palms. Adventure Island Resort has 200 rooms, a restaurant, bar and café and conference facilities. Explore, relax, reconnect with nature and meet like minded people at Adventure Island Resort on South Molle. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Adventure Island Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Adventure Island Hotel South Molle Island
South Molle Island Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing