We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Friday nigh, location, location, location” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Griffins

The Griffins
Ranked #352 of 1,608 Restaurants in Adelaide
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$14 - US$18
Cuisines: Bar, Pub, Australian, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Bar Scene, Business meetings
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Lunch, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Friday nigh, location, location, location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 September 2013

- From 5pm Friday night drink specials
-Enjoy the view from the Balcony and sit back to kick start the weekend

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Peter C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

96 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    17
    52
    15
    9
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
167 reviews
95 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Enjoyable”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 September 2013

Tried this place with friends and I enjoyed the food and atmosphere. The staff were very attentive. I enjoyed the lamb dish although a friend was very disappointed with the swordfish which was very overcooked. Reasonably priced.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank arborantics
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Australia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“What happened ?”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 September 2013

I have been going to Griffs head for nearly 20 years and seen it change tact/be upgraded a few times.

Its always been a good "middle of the road" pub..... with nice enough food, beers and surroundings, in a good location.... without being fantastic.

Its latest incarnation, i have a given a few tries over the past few months - and each time has been quite poor. Over-priced pub food of varying quality, some staff are nice enough, but seem to have difficulty getting orders right... and they manage to convey a "you're getting in the way of my day" feeling.

Hopefully it will change owners or managers again soon - and we can have the old griffs back.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank HayesAus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
30 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“great value good atmosphere”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 September 2013

great parmy and chicken burger, a great vibe in the place considering it was tues night. Super quick serving of meals, big thumbs up

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank aussieonthego13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
94 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Dinner yes; lunch no”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2013

The Griffins serves quality meals and I would recommend it for a decent pub dinner. I have had barramundi and swordfish there and both were quite good. Friends that I've been there with have enjoyed other meals including salt and pepper squid and the schnitzels. The outdoor dining is pleasant in the warmer weather and the atmosphere is nice inside as well.

The service at the Griffins is also quite good and I'm always grateful when you can get excellent coffee at a pub (as you can here).

My only grumble with Griffins is the lack of a lunch menu. While many similar city pubs offer cheaper lunch options, Griffins effectively serves dinner twice a day. Consequently there are many better value choices for lunch around Adelaide.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Aus_PM_73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Griffins also viewed

Adelaide, Greater Adelaide
Adelaide, Greater Adelaide
 
Adelaide, Greater Adelaide
 
Adelaide, Greater Adelaide
Adelaide, Greater Adelaide
 

Been to The Griffins? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing