We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dissapointing kitchen”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Adelaide Meridien Hotel & Apartments
Ranked #19 of 56 Hotels in Adelaide
Reviewed 18 August 2013

We rented a room with the kitchen due to our needs. Unfortunately, this turned out into a big disappointment on arrival. The fridge was completely inadequate, very tiny, and without a working freezer. We did shopping on the way to the hotel but it did not fit in the fridge and the ice-cream had to be thrown out. The fridge door was missing a part to keep the milk in place. There was no salad bowl or pot for cooking pasta. If we did not need the kitchen, then it would be OK place to stay, but we did need it, and so were very disappointed. All staff was very nice and friendly, except for one receptionist who we found condescending in their attitude. Location was great, beds were comfy, room was clean. WiFi worked fine. Downstairs bar area was convenient. I think it is a nice place to stay if you don't need a kitchen.

Room Tip: When booking a room that promises to have a kitchen and a fridge, make sure to ask questions about t...
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank OziExplorer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager2139, General Manager at Adelaide Meridien Hotel & Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded 23 August 2013

Thank you for your helpful comments about your recent stay. The fridges in our rooms are only mini fridges which is important for people to know and we are following up with all our staff to ensure they give guests the appropriate information about the different room types.
I appreciate your feedback and all of the positive comments you also made with regard to other aspects of the hotel.
Kind Regards,
Fiona

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (652)
There are newer reviews for Adelaide Meridien Hotel & Apartments
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

569 - 575 of 652 reviews

Reviewed 7 August 2013

The Adelaide Meridien Hotel was very convenient for our overnight stay in Adelaide. The reception staff were friendly and we found the light meals from the bar area very tasty and a good snack before our night out. Our room upstairs was quiet and very spacious. Our twin beds were comfortable and the bathroom was clean and well-stocked.

The off street parking was good and the gates were still open at 11.30 p.m., though we had our key card ready just in case.We were pleased to get a good night's sleep with hardly any street/road noise. The breakfast was tasty and hot at the Prefect Cup cafe and we especially liked the scrambled eggs in the cooked breakfast.
We hope to stay again soon.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sherryl_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager2139, General Manager at Adelaide Meridien Hotel & Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded 23 August 2013

Thank you so much for taking the time to share your thoughts and to be so complimentary of your experience with us. It is fantastic to hear our guests have enjoyed their stay .
We do often lock the gates at around 11pm but if if looks like there are still quite a few cars not returned for the night we will leave it a little later to make it easier for our guests to get in.
Look forward to welcoming you back again soon.
Regards,
Fiona

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2013

Stay here for business quite regularly. Rooms are great, restaurant is awesome as is bar area in particular bar staff (always friendly). The menu at the restaurant is very nice. Prefer to dine in instead of trying the other melbourne street eateries.

Room Tip: Try to get a room in level 2 or 3. The ground level rooms are small and stuffy
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Victor H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager2139, General Manager at Adelaide Meridien Hotel & Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded 23 August 2013

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. Our food and bar staff really appreciated your comments.
We are very fortunate in having so much choice for meals in Melbourne Street and love the fact that our guests enjoy our cafe as well as the surrounding restaurants.
Hope to see you back at the Meridien again.
With thanks,
Fiona

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2013

this hotel is located in a lovely part of Adelaide - close to CBD, near shops and eateries, convenient to public transport. Rooms were clean and comfortable. The service was excellent, staff taking the time to help us as we needed it.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank go285
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager2139, General Manager at Adelaide Meridien Hotel & Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded 23 August 2013

Thank you so much for sharing your thoughts and I am delighted you enjoyed your stay with us. It is really lovely of you to acknowledge the efforts of our team who are very friendly and helpful.
It is great to know that you have made the most of what our fantastic location has to offer and I hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back again very soon.
Warm regards,
Fiona

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2013

I had a one bedroom apartment. The room was old, but very clean.

Check in and out was handled smoothly.

The room was spacious, with a separate bedroom. The bathroom was small, but clean and functional. There was plenty of wardrobe and shelf space.

The bed was very comfortable and the room was quiet. I had three good night's sleep.

The kitchenette was well kitted out and had everything for preparing a simple meal. I tried room service once: it was well priced and quickly delivered.

There was a bus stop just outside and buses to and from the city were frequent.

Overall, I was very happy at the Adelaide Meridien. At $95.00 a night, my room was excellent value.

I was at the Meridien for a work conference. The conference room was very poor - old and depressing with broken fittings and walls badly in need of repainting. The noise from the road just outside, and the conference next door, was terrible. Food at the conference was passable. I paid $500.00 to attend the conference and while happy with the content, was very disappointed with the venue.

I would stay at the hotel again: although it's not in the CBD, its a lovely fifteen minute walk from the city. The room was old , but had modern fittings and was very clean.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Erica6536
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager2139, General Manager at Adelaide Meridien Hotel & Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded 23 August 2013

Thank you for your comments about your stay with us. We appreciate your comments about your accommodation and are delighted that you were comfortable with us. Your feedback about the conference rooms is also appreciated. We are now looking at some lighting solutions to modernise the ground floor conference facilities. Thanks again for taking the time to review your experience and we hope to be able to welcome you back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2013

We have stayed here a number of times in the Executive Suite and always enjoy it. The parking is free and secure which is a real bonus in Adelaide. The CBD is a short drive or a long walk away. Really a good location if you have your own transport.

The rooms are large and always clean. The bathrooms are nice and well lit.

We got a room on the first floor this time overlooking the bar/restaurant area and found it quite noisy at night.

The breakfasts we had were very nice and were included in our rate. However, there are lots of very good cafes and restaurants right outside the front door if you want to go for a look.

In short, whilst not super luxurious, this hotel ticks all the boxes for me and I feel right at home when I walk into the room. We arrived in the morning and were allowed to check-in early as they had a room available which was appreciated. There are always plenty of fresh fruit and newspapers available in the reception area. Receptionists are generally proficient and polite.

North Adelaide, the CBD and Glenelg are the best areas to stay when in Adelaide.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Beach8um
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2013

The first impression was nice, the entry and hopeful.

Then I was greeted rudely and spoken too like an idiot. After finding out that there was a surprise $200 deposit we moved onto the room.

Which was enormous but not in a good way. The room was almost empty, just empty space. The king bed was two singles split and covered with a sheet.

The bathroom which was supposed to have a luxurious spa bath instead had a bath barely big enough for a single person. The bath wasn't clean the room was really outdated and ugly. The bathroom had a door leading straight out to the hallway and obviously serves as a bathroom for the level.

There was a lot of environmental noise, road, hallway and plumbing. I could clearly hear conversations from outside our room.

Unfortunately there was no saving grace for the Meridien. Wouldn't stay here again, even if they offered to pay me. Thoroughly disappointed. Would give them a 0/5 if possible.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank strattosphere90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager2139, General Manager at Adelaide Meridien Hotel & Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded 9 July 2013

It saddens us to receive negative feedback regarding our property and I am sorry that your experience was a dissappointing one. We greatly value all feedback from our guests as we are always wanting to improve and this helps us understand each customers concerns.

Your comments have been passed on to the relevant departments so we can address the areas where our usual high standards fell away.

The bathroom door issue is an interesting one as this is only the second time we have had a really negative comment about this. We do not use this as a bathroom for the level but it is concerning that people may think this is the case, so we are looking at how we may be able to close in this door permanently so it does not concern our guests.

Please accept my apology that your stay was not as you expected.

Regards,

Fiona Hehir
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Adelaide hotels
0.2 mi away
Majestic Minima Hotel
Majestic Minima Hotel
#12 of 56 in Adelaide
494 reviews
1.6 mi away
Adabco Boutique Hotel
Adabco Boutique Hotel
#5 of 56 in Adelaide
1,128 reviews
1.3 mi away
Ibis Adelaide
Ibis Adelaide
#10 of 56 in Adelaide
1,309 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
BreakFree Director's Studios
1.2 mi away
Majestic Roof Garden Hotel
0.8 mi away
Adelaide Inn
Adelaide Inn
#29 of 56 in Adelaide
296 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Adelaide Meridien Hotel & Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Adelaide Meridien Hotel & Apartments

Address: 21 - 39 Melbourne St, Adelaide, South Australia 5006, Australia
Region: Australia > South Australia > Greater Adelaide > Adelaide
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Best Value Hotel in Adelaide
#18 Luxury Hotel in Adelaide
#20 Business Hotel in Adelaide
Price Range: £59 - £117 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Adelaide Meridien Hotel & Apartments 4*
Number of rooms: 94
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Southall Travel, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Adelaide Meridien Hotel & Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Adelaide Meridien Hotel And Apartments

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing