We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic city location with minimal noise. Great value!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of BreakFree Adelaide

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
BreakFree Adelaide
Ranked #19 of 58 Hotels in Adelaide
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Fantastic city location with minimal noise. Great value!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 February 2014

Great value for money. The rooms are spacious with a small balcony and exactly what we were looking for. Although it is located on one of the main roads in Adelaide CBD, it is a quiet area. We were not disturbed by noise once during our 5 night stay. Walking distance to most attractions and shops including Rundle Mall. Reception staff were always friendly and helpful. Will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rose R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amy N, General Manager at BreakFree Adelaide, responded to this review, 19 February 2014
Dear RoseRE2013

I'm so glad you had a great stay!!! I will pass on your comments to the staff, and thank you for taking the time to review Breakfree Adelaide on Trip Advisor.

I look forward to welcoming you again.

Kind Regards

Amy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

867 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    251
    361
    164
    55
    36
See reviews for
227
250
58
147
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (153)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
72 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 February 2014

We asked for a quiet room and so were put at the back of the hotel (which doesn't have much street noise but there is a low hum from air con units and you do start to get street noise from about 7am). The nicest rooms I think are in the middle with sunny balconies and minimal noise.

Free wifi in reception (quite a trek from most rooms). Shame they don't make it freely available in the rooms.

The room itself was OK. Comfortable bed and the bathroom included a washing machine and tumble dryer.

Lots of dust on lots of surfaces which wasn't great. You do get the option to save money by not having the room serviced (I wonder if they might have done the dusting had we not gone for that?)

Location-wise the immediate area isn't great. Lots of fast food outlets and seedy clubs. Pleasant staff though.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mariemusicademy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amy N, General Manager at BreakFree Adelaide, responded to this review, 19 February 2014
Dear Mariemusicademy

Thank you for the feedback with regards to you stay. I will pass on your comments to the housekeeping team and ensure that additional training is undertaken.

Our Eco-stay rate doesn't include a room service during your stay, but is available for a small additional fee. Alternatively if you choose a full service room rate, your room will be cleaned daily.

Its good to hear that enjoyed your stay overall and found it to be good value.

Kind Regards

Amy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 February 2014 via mobile

Great for if your planning on staying with friends/family. The two bedroom apartment was spacious with 2 separate bedrooms, a large living area and a kitchenette/ laundry area. Spent alot of time in the room and it was nice to sit on the couch watching tv in the morning in the living area, gave it a nice homely feel. The location is not to much of an issue, though its located on Hinely street (the main night club district of Adelaide) we could not hear anything from the street as we were further down it. However we could hear other guests acting a little drunk and disorderly when the stood on their balcony smoking and drinking at 3 am on the Sunday morning. Closing the windows mostly drowned it out. Did not ruin our stay. Great place, located in the CBD of Adelaide.

Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank Chantel C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amy N, General Manager at BreakFree Adelaide, responded to this review, 19 February 2014
Dear Chantel C

Thank you for taking the time to post a reveiw on tripadvisor. I'm glad that you found the room to be spacious and homely, it certainly makes a big difference when you are away from home.

If you return to Adelaide, I look forward to welcoming you back.

Kind Regards
Amy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 February 2014 via mobile

No sleep at all this place is so noisy being next to strip clubs and night clubs. The windows are so thin you can hear everything out there. Even at 7am in the morning the noise doesnt stop. This hotel should not be allowed to operate and rent rooms where guests have no sleep.

Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
3 Thank 2travel4fun49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amy N, General Manager at BreakFree Adelaide, responded to this review, 16 February 2014
Dear 2travel4fun49

Thank you for taking the time to review Breakfree Adelaide.

Breakfree Adelaide is not next to strip clubs.

I apologise that you did not have a restful nights sleep. Please be assured I am doing everything in my power to ensure that outside noise is reduced and am currently liaising with the liquor licensing authorities with regards to your complaint. The bar that you refer to has opened in the last month and I am confident that they will take corrective action and cease excessive noise immediately.

Kind Regards

Amy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
222 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 284 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 February 2014 via mobile

This place is definitely not 4 star more like 2.5. See my photos everything is quite basic especially bathroom and location is not convenient it is 10 minute walk from the mall and it is located in seedy part of town with strip clubs as neighbours.

Stayed February 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank melbgirl123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amy N, General Manager at BreakFree Adelaide, responded to this review, 16 February 2014
Dear Melbgirl123

Thank you for taking the time to review Breakfree Adelaide.

I can assure you that there are no strip clubs near the hotel and the western end of Hindley street is the university district with nearby coffee shops. The University of South Australia is accross the road. The Western end of Hindley street is undergoing a transformation which will be complete in mid-April, the upgrade will ensure that the street has a boulevard fee with leafy treeds and outside cafe dining.

There is a free tram 200m from the entrance of Breakfree Adelaide which takes you to Rundle Mall, the Central Markets, and carries on to Glenelg Beach, which many of our guests find very convenient.

I'm sorry that you found the rooms to be basic, we are planning a full refurbishment of all guest rooms which we hope to have completed by the end of the year.

Kind Regards
Amy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 February 2014

a great place to stay , the rooms are tiny but very fuctional and clean and the bed was great as I normally toss and turn till I get comfortable, we had no problems with the a/c I must admit I did use it as it was 42 degrees, the staff were extremely helpful in organising taxis and letting us know about the trams and how to get around the only downside was a couple of quests who forgot there key and were knocking quite loudly to be let in but that's not the hotels fault I look forward to a return trip .

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Angela P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amy N, General Manager at BreakFree Adelaide, responded to this review, 13 February 2014
Dear Angela P,

I'm glad you enjoyed your stay at Breakfree Adelaide, and I hope you had a lovely time at the wedding!!

We have excellent beds that are so comfortable, I'm glad that you were able to get a good nights sleep.

We have a number of different room types and configurations, most of which are very spacious.

I look forward to welcoming you back to Breakfree Adelaide, and will ensure that you are given an apartment with lots of space.

Kind Regards

Amy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
90 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 February 2014

We had 4 double rooms here for the week of the Tour Down Under. All rooms had at least 2 cyclists in and 2 of the 4 rooms had trouble with the washing machine. We all needed to wash sweaty clothes each day and our machine broke down not once but twice in the first three days. I have never stayed in apartment style accommodation where we didn't have a clothes line or an aired. The beds were very comfy so we slept well. Some rooms are very small while others are bigger for the same money. We were not told about the $15 a day car parking even though we enquired about car parking availability. Front desk staff very helpful. Overall I felt the washing machines not working was a big problem for what we paid for the apartment, was not happy.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Annette H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amy N, General Manager at BreakFree Adelaide, responded to this review, 13 February 2014
Dear Annette H

Firstly, thank you for taking the time to review Breakfree Adelaide.

I apologise for the problems you had with the washing machines. We are currently looking at replacing all the washing machines and dryers in the rooms. The rooms don't have clothes lines, however we do have clothes airers avaible on request.

Glad to hear, however, that you found the front desk staff very helpful and the beds were very comfy.

Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Adelaide hotels
0.8 mi away
Ibis Adelaide
Ibis Adelaide
#10 of 58 in Adelaide
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,169 reviews
1.1 mi away
Adabco Boutique Hotel
Adabco Boutique Hotel
#5 of 58 in Adelaide
4.5 of 5 bubbles 996 reviews
0.5 mi away
Miller Apartments Adelaide
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Majestic Roof Garden Hotel
0.2 mi away
Adelaide Rockford
Adelaide Rockford
#21 of 58 in Adelaide
4.0 of 5 bubbles 890 reviews
0.6 mi away
Adina Apartment Hotel Adelaide Treasury
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BreakFree Adelaide? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BreakFree Adelaide

Property: BreakFree Adelaide
Address: 255 Hindley St, Adelaide, South Australia 5000, Australia (Formerly BreakFree on Hindley)
Region: Australia > South Australia > Greater Adelaide > Adelaide
Amenities:
Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Business Hotel in Adelaide
#18 Luxury Hotel in Adelaide
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — BreakFree Adelaide 4*
Number of rooms: 142
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
BreakFree Adelaide offers business and leisure travellers serviced studios, one or two bedroom apartments situated in Adelaide's contemporary West End. Guests of BreakFree Adelaide will enjoy comfortable accommodation in well-appointed, spacious apartments which include modern amenities and a range of premier guest facilities. BreakFree Adelaide is located close to the Central Business District of Adelaide and a range of local transport options. For leisure travellers with the time to explore the many delights on offer in Adelaide, which is known locally as the city of churches, take advantage of the 'City Free Bus' that stops directly outside the Hotel. Alternatively many local attractions can be reached on foot including the colourful arts district, Adelaide Convention Centre, Casino and popular shopping destination of Rundle Mall. BreakFree Adelaide is within close proximity to a choice of tempting restaurants as well as bars and clubs with a glamorous nightlife. For a day out catch the tram and visit the sea side town of Glenelg (the tram stops 2 minutes walk from the door) or take a trip to the Adelaide hills and visit a wonderful vineyard or the early settler town of Hahndorf. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Southall Travel, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your BreakFree Adelaide reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Breakfree On Hindley Adelaide

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing