We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great home from home”
Review of BreakFree Adelaide

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
BreakFree Adelaide
Ranked #20 of 56 Hotels in Adelaide
Reviewed 20 June 2014

Stayed here during business trip for 3 nights whilst working at the Adelaide Convention Centre (which is a short 10 minute walk away).

We upgraded from the queen bed and single bed rooms to a queen bed - queen bed rooms for only an extra $15 per night ( I think standard rooms are $99 ).

The bed was comfy so had a great nights sleep. Room had a lounge area with two sofas, dining room table, kitchen with microwave, oven, fridge, tea coffee making facilities. A little balcony off the living room and off one of the bedrooms.

Although not a problem for us as we were up early most mornings, if you are after a sleep in you may want to see if you could get a room in the centre of the complex or one that doesn't face the road as 3 sides do and can get a little noisy - but it is in the city after all.

The only minor complaint would be the shower, which if you are tall requires you to assume a contorted pose to get under the nozzle, which is in a small well err bath maybe, but its way to small to be a bath, so not sure who designed this? A shower head on an extended hose/ nozzle would fix this!

There's access to a gym just down the road.

But other than that a great stay, close to everything you need, quick 10 minutes walk to centre of town, Maccas just down the road and plenty bars and dining near by. (Parking on site is $15 per night!)

Friendly staff at check in , I would stay here again.

Room Tip: Maybe a room in the centre of the complex or one side that doesn't face a road would be quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BigBronco351
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amy N, General Manager at BreakFree Adelaide, responded to this reviewResponded 14 July 2014

Dear BigBronco351,

Thank you for your recent review on Trip Advisor. We are currently in the process of refurbishing the rooms at Breakfree Adelaide and your feedback regarding the shower is very valuable.

Its great to hear that you found your room to have everything you need and most importantly that the bed was comfy!

I look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Kind Regards
Amy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,141)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

872 - 878 of 1,141 reviews

Reviewed 17 June 2014

Reception staff were very helpful, however there's only so many times you can ask the directions to your room - I found the directions a bit tricky to follow and after a day of work and flying, I wasn't in the mood for a treasure hunt to find where I would be sleeping the night. The room itself provided all the basic necessities, was clean and had a good home feel (didn't really feel like a hotel room). The fully equipped kitchen and stocked fridge surprised me however room service was a little bit pricey. All in all, a comfortable well rounded hotel and room, great for short stays (and treasure hunters).

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SimonIsk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amy N, General Manager at BreakFree Adelaide, responded to this reviewResponded 14 July 2014

Dear Simonlsk

I'm sorry that you found the directions given to you weren't clear. I have discussed this issue with my team and I thank you for the feedback so that we can continually improve on our service.

Its good to hear that you found your room comfortable and the staff helpful.

Kind Regards
Amy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2014

Very easy check in. Not problems. Arrived early but room was ready. Room was clean and tidy. Thought i booked just a room but when walked in there was a kitchen. Very nice. Check out very easy. Not hassles at all. Nice and close to the city and Adelaide Oval which was nice as i was there for footy.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jodie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amy N, General Manager at BreakFree Adelaide, responded to this reviewResponded 14 July 2014

Dear Jodie F

Its great to hear that your stay at Breakfree Adelaide was hassle free and easy and that you enjoyed the facilities in your apartment. Thank you for taking the time to review the hotel on Trip Advisor.

I hope your footy team won! I look forward to welcoming you back should you return in the future.

Kind Regards
Amy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2014

Nice and clean, plenty of room. Good value. A little noisy at night but that can't helped. We had a function off Port Rd. Nice and handy given trams close by. Didn't have to worry about taxis in and out of city and when we come back in it was close to night life action.

Room Tip: Ask for a room not right on Hindley St
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Amanda R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amy N, General Manager at BreakFree Adelaide, responded to this reviewResponded 18 June 2014

Dear Amanda R

Its great to see that you enjoyed your stay at Breakfree Adelaide and found the location to be good!

Thank you for taking the time to review Breakfree Adelaide on Trip Advisor.

Kind Regards

Amy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2014

Could do with a refurbishment. Very noisy in the early hours of the morning. Too far to walk to the city center if you are elderly. I would give it a miss. The only good thing was it was close to a pub just around the corner that served great meals for ten dollars.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank katyscon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amy N, General Manager at BreakFree Adelaide, responded to this reviewResponded 18 June 2014

Dear Katyscon,

Thank you for the very valid points you raised in your review of Breakfree Adelaide.

I am happy to say that we are currently in the process of establishing a refurbishment plan for all the rooms at Breakfree Adelaide. Also, I hope that you were able to make use of the tram that travels right through the city centre, The tram stop is a short distance from the hotel and, best of all, it's free.

Thank you for taking the time to review Breakfree Adelaide on Trip Advisor.

Kind Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2014

Reasonable value for this type of accomodation. A little small and the bathroom needing a bit of work but good price for a few nights that we stayed. No close supermarket but not far to walk into Rundle Mall. Walking distance to to many things at that end of town.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Trevor W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amy N, General Manager at BreakFree Adelaide, responded to this reviewResponded 18 June 2014

Dear Trevor W

Thank you for taking the time to review Breakfree Adelaide on Tripadvisor.

Its good to hear that you found the value to be reasonable.

I hope that you were able to make use of the tram service in Adelaide. The tram stop is a very short distance from the hotel and takes you to Rundle Mall. Best of all its free!

I hope to welcome you back to Breakfree Adelaide in the future.

Kind Regards
Amy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2014

My family & I stayed for 2 weeks at Breakfree Adelaide over the Easter holidays. If we had not pre-paid for this hotel (hotel was recommended by Harvey World of Travel in Richmond) we would not have got out of the taxi upon arrival from the airport. The only decent thing about this hotel was the hotel staff, especially those staff on the front desk. The hotel appears to have a policy of allowing (possibly encouraging) large groups of males in each of the rooms. Above us we had 6 very loud/noisy youths, the noise went on for hours/days. Complaints from us directly to the boys & then eventually via reception had no affect. Admittedly we were informed that the hotel would be hiring extra security staff to deal with the rampaging youths that were running all over the hotel. The hotel literature refers to the surrounding area as "vibrant West End", we think a more realistic reference would be "sleazy/druggie/prostitute Kings Cross" & it's strange how they omitted to mention the Prison which was a couple of meters from our balcony.
This hotel is not suitable for families & should not be advertised as one.
On our return home we contacted our travel agent, Harvey World of Travel in Richmond to express our concerns (in 30 years of travel I have never been so angry/disappointed with a holiday) & the correspondence back from the owner/operator Tim Dunnill - pathetic.
DO NOT STAY AT THIS HOTEL!

Room Tip: For a good room choose a different hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Hamilton96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amy N, General Manager at BreakFree Adelaide, responded to this reviewResponded 27 May 2014

Dear Hamilton96

Thank you for your feedback. I understand where you are coming from however, as mentioned in previous correspondence to you we are not situated near any strip clubs, in fact we are opposite the University of South Australia.

I thank you for your comment regarding our staff, especially those on front desk. It highlights our desire to ensure our guests enjoy their stay which is why we offered to move you to another room that was quiet, but I do apologise that other guests disturbed your sleep.

Once again, thank you for your feedback. We value the constructive feedback that we receive from our guests by expressing their opinions both positive and negative

Kind Regards

Amy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Adelaide hotels
0.5 mi away
BreakFree Director's Studios
0.8 mi away
Ibis Adelaide
Ibis Adelaide
#10 of 56 in Adelaide
1,348 reviews
1.0 mi away
Majestic Roof Garden Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Adabco Boutique Hotel
Adabco Boutique Hotel
#5 of 56 in Adelaide
1,161 reviews
1.5 mi away
Majestic Minima Hotel
Majestic Minima Hotel
#12 of 56 in Adelaide
556 reviews
0.5 mi away
Franklin Central Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BreakFree Adelaide? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BreakFree Adelaide

Address: 255 Hindley St, Adelaide, South Australia 5000, Australia (Formerly BreakFree on Hindley)
Region: Australia > South Australia > Greater Adelaide > Adelaide
Amenities:
Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Business Hotel in Adelaide
#19 Luxury Hotel in Adelaide
Price Range: £54 - £179 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — BreakFree Adelaide 4*
Number of rooms: 142
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
BreakFree Adelaide offers business and leisure travellers serviced studios, one or two bedroom apartments situated in Adelaide’s contemporary West End. Guests of BreakFree Adelaide will enjoy comfortable accommodation in well-appointed, spacious apartments which include modern amenities and a range of premier guest facilities. BreakFree Adelaide is located close to the Central Business District of Adelaide and a range of local transport options. For leisure travellers with the time to explore the many delights on offer in Adelaide, which is known locally as the city of churches, take advantage of the ‘City Free Bus’ that stops directly outside the Hotel. Alternatively many local attractions can be reached on foot including the colourful arts district, Adelaide Convention Centre, Casino and popular shopping destination of Rundle Mall, or visit the sea side town of Glenelg (the tram stops 2 minutes walk from the door). BreakFree Adelaide has a NO PARTY policy. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Southall Travel, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your BreakFree Adelaide reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Breakfree On Hindley Adelaide

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing