We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overpriced”
Review of Clarion Hotel Soho

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Clarion Hotel Soho
Ranked #34 of 57 Hotels in Adelaide
Adelaide, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Overpriced”
Reviewed 6 January 2013

We stayed one night in a balcony room on the third floor. From the photos on the Hotel's website I expected so much more and was quite disappointed. The room itself was of average size but their 'appointments' were very tired, cushions dull stained and colours faded, the windows could only be opened up after rearranging the entire desk area, lamp and vases onto the floor? The bathroom was ridiculously small and so dark, with no room to place your things and get ready to go out. The tiles were old and very faded, with soap stains on the floor and the worst shower spray ever. It was more like a shower mist. There was more water on the toilet and floor than in the tiny recess. The air conditioner blows directly onto your face whilst you sleep and cannot be adjusted. We could not even order room service dessert at 9:45pm on a Saturday night, they said the kitchen was just closing. I would not recommend this tired and overpriced hotel, there are far nicer hotels in the east end for the same or even less money.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Suzanne861
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

322 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    86
    130
    60
    25
    21
See reviews for
19
179
25
67
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Mildura, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2013

we had the pleasure of staying at this hotel just before Chritmas 2012, right at the height of the "silly season". We found the room to be very comfortable with everything you would expect from an upmarket boutique hotel. the staff were very helpfull at check in and, as we were travelling on for a two week camping holiday, the availability of secure parking was a bonus. we had dinner and breakfast included in our deal which was absolutely perfect. we also had a voucher for a considerable discount on all food and beverage during our two night stay.the hotel is within walking distance of the CBD and the famous Rundle St. is within easy reach.
we loved it and will definately be back

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank keith g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 January 2013

We stayed for one night on the third floor in a balcony room, The accommodation was great and very smart. The staff were very obliging and helpful. The rooftop heated pool was a lovely relaxing diversion with a nice view.
Dinner at the Decant Restaurant was lovely and very enjoyable. Breakfast was a disappointment though. We ordered poached eggs and they came out hard boiled. We returned the eggs and the waitress was happy to fix the issue. We were told that the poached eggs were made up the night before and the cook had left them too long in the water for reheating. We were amazed that they weren't made fresh. Our second serving of poached eggs were nice and runny but very cold. Obviously the cook failed to put the pre-made eggs in long enough this time. If it wasn't for the poached eggs I would have given 5 stars. Don't let it put you off though. Just order fried or scrambled eggs and it should be perfect!

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Richard B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 January 2013

We had a lovely stay at the Clarion Hotel Soho, decor was fantastic, pool was beautiful and relaxing and the staff were delightful and accommodating. Good location, close to great eateries on Hutt Street, and just a short stroll into the CBD. Thank you for having us, we'll definitely stay again.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Emily G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
melbourne
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 December 2012

We had a great stay at the Soho. Yes, the rooms are quite small but it is a New York styled hotel so what do you expect? If you want a big, spacious and boring business-style room, then there are plenty to chose from in Adelaide. But if you want something ultra modern and a little funky, then The Soho is for you.

I don't quite understand the comments about the tiny bathrooms. We stayed in the standard room and our bathroom was almost as large as the rest of the room!

My only negative feedback is regarding the "pool". I'm not quite sure what it is trying to be - a very hot pool or a spa?? And the deck itself is a bit of a wasted space. So much potential!

We will be back.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank westage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 December 2012

The Clarion in Adelaide definitely was one of the best experiences on our monthlong trip to Australia. If somebody deserves a Travellers Choice Award this Hotel definitely does.
Friendly staff, clean, stylish rooms, tasteful bathrooms, close to Rundle Street restaurant district and to the city.
The only negative point was the "pool", but judging from the exterior photographs our expectations haven't been high anyway.
No WiFi charges - a total surprise for Australia! Would we come back to Adelaide, no doubt we would stay there again

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Reinhold M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bowral, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
132 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 December 2012

This hotel does not represent good value for money. The bathroom is the smallest I have ever seen in a hotel room and very difficult to move around in (and I only weigh 56kg). I don't know how a larger person could even comfortably sit on the toilet as it is crammed into a tight alcove. The shower screen doesn't do much and water runs across the floor every time you shower. The bathroom products are of poor quality but at least are brightly coloured. The view from the balcony is pretty ordinary and only one of the fold back glass doors would open as the other one's lock was broken.
The room was advertised to come with slippers- it didn't.
We stayed 2 nights. Room was well cleaned but tea and milk were not re-supplied.
The ironing board was so flimsy that it was very difficult to use but worse than that there was no padding- just fabric ironing board cover over wire.
We paid around $300 per night for a corner room. This hotel would be more comparable to a hotel that costs half of that. Will never return.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Mira G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Adelaide hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Adelaide hotels
0.3 mi away
Majestic Roof Garden Hotel
0.4 mi away
Hotel Richmond
Hotel Richmond
#29 of 57 in Adelaide
252 reviews
0.3 mi away
Crowne Plaza Adelaide
Crowne Plaza Adelaide
#6 of 57 in Adelaide
1,665 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Majestic Minima Hotel
Majestic Minima Hotel
#13 of 57 in Adelaide
469 reviews
0.2 mi away
Adabco Boutique Hotel
Adabco Boutique Hotel
#5 of 57 in Adelaide
1,111 reviews
0.6 mi away
Adina Apartment Hotel Adelaide Treasury
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clarion Hotel Soho? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clarion Hotel Soho

Property: Clarion Hotel Soho
Address: 264 Flinders St, Adelaide, South Australia 5000, Australia
Region: Australia > South Australia > Greater Adelaide > Adelaide
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#28 Luxury Hotel in Adelaide
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Clarion Hotel Soho 4.5*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Clarion Soho Hotel Adelaide is located in the fashionable and leafy Adelaide East End within easy walking distance to some of Adelaide's best restaurants, bars and shopping precincts. The Soho is a boutique hotel that caters for both business and leisure stays. The hotels heated roof top pool is the perfect place to relax after a busy day, or enjoy a meal or cocktail in our funky onsite S2 thai projects by Social Street. Enjoy a leisurely breakfast and fantastic coffee at our neighbor restaurant The Flinders Street Project (charge back is available). All rooms feature King size beds with luxe linen, desks, high speed complimentary wireless internet, bi-folding windows, VoIP phones, large flat screen TV's, extensive range of bathroom amenities, T2 teas & Robert Timm's coffee, iron and ironing boards, hairdryers and well stocked mini bars featuring SA wine and craft beers. The hotel offers a $30 per night credit for guests who book direct on their website or call us direct! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Southall Travel, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Clarion Hotel Soho reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clarion Hotel Adelaide

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing