We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Quirky Boutique Hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Clarion Hotel Soho

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Clarion Hotel Soho
Ranked #34 of 57 Hotels in Adelaide
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Quirky Boutique Hotel”
Reviewed 25 November 2013

I stayed one night here - looking for accommodation close to a 2 day meeting nearby. I enjoyed the unusual layout of the room and the quirky modern architecture. Didn't notice any street noise from the room. Great restaurants and cafes within walking distance.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DuncanMacL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

317 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    85
    126
    60
    25
    21
See reviews for
19
176
24
67
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
60 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 November 2013

Had a brief two night stay booked for business and generally happy with my stay.
Decor is very modern and stylish but service and conditions were very "motel" like or less then the star rating would suggest.
Restaurant staff were young and friendly but inexperienced - this didn't detract from the service it was just noticeable when they didn't know how to prepare certain drinks and also in their presentation.
I guess the decor and pricing sets a higher expectation then the actual service experience.
Also agree on the not so great toiletries.
But bed was super comfortable and block out blinds were fantastic.
Utilised the rooftop pool also which was a nice touch after days of meetings.
Adelaide doesn't have a great range of hotels - it's either the big chains or some budget hostels, so the clarion Soho does strike a nice modern mid-range option.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Emc3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 November 2013

Positives of our one night at this hotel were: great location, room small but well equipped, excellent breakfast. Negatives: tiny bathroom with very average supply of toiletries (one tiny cake of soap!), parking spaces taken when we arrived (no mention previously that these spaces were limited).
Overall, an ok experience.
rb
Adelaide

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank R0b019
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 November 2013

As a travel booker for my company I regularly book accommodation at the Clarion Hotel Soho, but NO MORE!
I had booked one of our managers for two nights which was confirmed on his itinerary, however, upon returning to the hotel on the for the second night he found that all his bleongings had been packed up and put into the storage room.
Sorry but we are over booked and thought you were only staying one night. At no time was anyone contacted to clarify this or notify us of this fact. They did find him another hotel on the other side of town at a much higher rate. No other assistance was given or offered.
I will certainly be letting all our travel bookers know not to use this hotel, or only to use as a very last resort!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 2legs_4paws
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Adelaide hotels

Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 November 2013

convenient location and nice food.
pool at the top floor is warm and excellent.
reception and restaurant staff are very nice.
overall it was a good holiday and stay in Clarion Hotel Soho.
car park was convenient at weekend.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank thzj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 November 2013

Looked at the pictures and thought "Wow! This place looks amazing!"
However, once we took the lift to our 3rd floor room and opened the door, we realised that professional photos can sometimes be a curse. A long, narrow entrance to the room with tacky walls (like cement sheets) with putty in holes on the walls, tacky paint job to try to hide the obvious flaws, also the ceiling was gross and had a patched hole in it as well. Several of the drawers on the TV cabinet wouldn't open (glued and velcroed as another reviewer had also mentioned), the blinds were falling apart and the bathroom was very pokey. We actually headed straight downstairs to speak to reception and let them know that we wouldn't be staying (even though we'd already paid through a Groupon voucher!). To his credit, the gentleman at reception (Anthony) tried his best to encourage us to stay, even offering a room upgrade with a spa and a view. We went to look at the room he suggested, and apart from it being bigger (and having a balcony), the same lack of attention to detail was present, and the same dodgy walls and ceiling. We called the Rendezvous Grand Hotel (Waymouth St), which we'd stayed at a month earlier, and pleaded for them to find us a room!!! They gave us a Spa Suite at the price of a Standard Room (this was at about 5pm), which was the same price we paid for this dodgy room at the Clarion Hotel Soho! We headed on over to the Rendezvous and were incredibly grateful to not have to stay at the Clarion for the night!!! It was our 5th Wedding Anniversary, so didn't want to spoil the night with a sub-par room that was nowhere near as glitzy and glamorous at the professional photos make it appear - don't be fooled!!!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bomberthomps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, South Australia, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 November 2013

We got to the hotel to find that they had no valet parking or park yourself available as the car park was full. It was advertised online and on the receipt of purchase that there would be both options available and never mentioned "if spaces are available". The receptionist said 'well it's first come first served and it is nearly 4pm'. Check in was after 2pm... His attitude was bad all round.
We had to park our new car on the street overnight and pay for parking for the afternoon then again in the morning so we didn't get a parking fine.
Next was the foxtel and movie channels. We only had 3 foxtel channels, (2 were sport) 1 of which wasn't working and the movie channels were very poor quality on the TV reception it was not watchable.
The cupboard was falling apart and only held on with velcro, we were made to go downstairs for more towels after being questioned as to why we wanted them in the first place.
The only positive was that the room was made up nicely.
When "features" are listed as a selling point I would expect them to live up to it, none of which were available to us.
Overall it was a vey average stay and we won't be going back.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ellzie3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Adelaide hotels
0.3 mi away
Majestic Roof Garden Hotel
0.2 mi away
Adabco Boutique Hotel
Adabco Boutique Hotel
#5 of 57 in Adelaide
1,015 reviews
0.4 mi away
Ibis Adelaide
Ibis Adelaide
#10 of 57 in Adelaide
1,195 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Mantra on Frome
Mantra on Frome
#14 of 57 in Adelaide
796 reviews
0.3 mi away
Crowne Plaza Adelaide
Crowne Plaza Adelaide
#7 of 57 in Adelaide
1,566 reviews
0.6 mi away
Adina Apartment Hotel Adelaide Treasury
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clarion Hotel Soho? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clarion Hotel Soho

Property: Clarion Hotel Soho
Address: 264 Flinders St, Adelaide, South Australia 5000, Australia
Region: Australia > South Australia > Greater Adelaide > Adelaide
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Adelaide
#29 Luxury Hotel in Adelaide
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Clarion Hotel Soho 4.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Adelaide's hippest boutique accommodation evokes the eclectic, arty vibe of London's Soho district just meters from Adelaide's trendy East End. From its slick contemporary exterior to its stunning interior decor, Soho is an uber-chic experience boasting 30 luxurious rooms, including balcony & spa suites, with views over Adelaide's city skyline. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Southall Travel, Odigeo, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Clarion Hotel Soho reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clarion Hotel Adelaide

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing