We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Birthday weekend city stay”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Clarion Hotel Soho

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Clarion Hotel Soho
Ranked #34 of 57 Hotels in Adelaide
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
137 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Birthday weekend city stay”
Reviewed 1 March 2014 via mobile

Stayed overnight in studio apartment on my Birthday weekend in the city of Adelaide. Location is handy for walking to the Rundle Street East eateries. Apartment was generally ok but a bit more care and attention would be worthwhile with floor cleaning especially under chairs, cracked teacup, no slippers,
Breakfast in dining area very enjoyable.

Stayed December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Lynette W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

317 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    85
    126
    60
    25
    21
See reviews for
19
176
24
67
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 February 2014

My partner and I stayed there last night with with friends so 2 rooms booked our friends room had hair in the shower and clumps of toilet paper in toilet when arrived as did our room also they got and upgrade to a balcony which was no better except a little bigger, the rooms were very claustaphobic in size with a great big cement wall as a view when opening window, very poky. The shower wet everything extremely bad designing.
Lamp shades were all busted up and tears in blind, ceiling very poorly painted and patched.
No valet parking as stated when booking online, had to park in street. Café was not much better had a Chai Latte which was 1/4 of cup rest froth waiter did top up with milk which just made it a warm cup of frothy milk. Sorry but we will never stay here again I don't know how they got 5 stars

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fitzynic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Adelaide hotels

Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
221 reviews
91 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 214 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 February 2014 via mobile

We had a mixed experience at this hotel.
The staff are friendly, the location is good and there is plenty of on street parking.

However, the bathroom is tiny, the shower floods and the lighting is inadequate and badly placed.

There are better options for the price.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank bruceSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 February 2014

This little Adelaide hotel is a great find. The front studio room 101 was stylish and nicely appointed, the bathroom small and sleekly modern ( except for the shower head - water in pin pricks went everywhere but where it should). The bed was very comfortable with lovely, crisp white linen. Large, openable stacker windows look out onto the street below - for fresh air, people watching, or to check on the parking inspectors! Breakfast in the café on the ground floor was great - good produce which was nicely cooked. Loved the rooftop pool with its fantastic views, open until 9.30pm (actually a plunge pool, too small for swimming) except the chlorine level was so strong the smell didn't leave me for two days. It also stung my skin and completely bleached the colour out of my bathers which went from hot pink to sickly mauve in 45 minutes.
I prefer the smaller boutique premises, rather than large international hotels - so if that is what you are looking for then I would recommend Clarion Soho.

Room Tip: Rooms at the front of the hotel overlook the street - this was not a problem for me as I didn't...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rae J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 February 2014

Had an interesting stay at the Soho, the room was great, bi fold windows were you could open up the room and have a nice fresh breeze floating through the room. not to much of a vew. nice pool on the top floor with views of the Adelaide foot hills.
Wow, a discount voucher for the restaurant attached to the building on the ground floor. Not so wow for dinner, Had to ask for a drink after being sat at our table for 10 min. Yum lets check out the menu... looking forward to the Burger.... Sorry none in stock. Over heard another couple, Pork was also off the menu. Not bad for a 6 item dinner menu. The steak was cooked Spot on but i think the top fell off the vinegar bottle and every thing was loaded with it. Beer was hot and the dining room was freezing, the missed had to get her jumper not bad for February. Decided but not sure why to go for Brekky, much better staff and the hot breakfast was cook fantastic

Room Tip: Room was fantastic, pool was nice, but its a hit and miss with the dining room
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Simon H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 February 2014

We stayed here in a studio room for 2 nights, over the Fringe opening weekend. We chose it because it's walking distance to the Garden of Unearthly Delights, and has a pool.
The pool on the roof was small, but amazing and warm and we had quite a few dips during our stay.
The room was clean and modern, bed comfy.
The shower does go everywhere, but it's no biggie really, just put the bath mat down.
The man on the front desk was very friendly and always said hello.
Overall it was a nice place to stay for a weekend away, close enough to everything we needed, but not in the noisy crazy centre of it all.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Becnev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mount Gambier, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 February 2014

Stayed two nights at the Clarion Soho for Big Day Out with friends, and will definitely remember this hotel for our next stay. Studio Suite looked very nice, although there were a couple of quality issues in the bathroom (shower design is odd, water goes everywhere after a shower, and the basin was emptying at a very slow rate). The staff were very friendly and "kept their cool" even during this very hot weekend. However, the lift and floor corridors were quite hot and stuffy during the afternoons.

Standard queen bed was comfortable and the sofa bed was set up when we arrived at the room as I requested upon reservation which is nice.

Room was clean and looked great.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ryan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Adelaide hotels
0.3 mi away
Majestic Roof Garden Hotel
0.2 mi away
Adabco Boutique Hotel
Adabco Boutique Hotel
#5 of 57 in Adelaide
1,015 reviews
0.4 mi away
Ibis Adelaide
Ibis Adelaide
#10 of 57 in Adelaide
1,195 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Mantra on Frome
Mantra on Frome
#14 of 57 in Adelaide
796 reviews
0.3 mi away
Crowne Plaza Adelaide
Crowne Plaza Adelaide
#7 of 57 in Adelaide
1,569 reviews
0.6 mi away
Adina Apartment Hotel Adelaide Treasury
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clarion Hotel Soho? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clarion Hotel Soho

Property: Clarion Hotel Soho
Address: 264 Flinders St, Adelaide, South Australia 5000, Australia
Region: Australia > South Australia > Greater Adelaide > Adelaide
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Adelaide
#29 Luxury Hotel in Adelaide
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Clarion Hotel Soho 4.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Adelaide's hippest boutique accommodation evokes the eclectic, arty vibe of London's Soho district just meters from Adelaide's trendy East End. From its slick contemporary exterior to its stunning interior decor, Soho is an uber-chic experience boasting 30 luxurious rooms, including balcony & spa suites, with views over Adelaide's city skyline. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Southall Travel, TravelUp, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Clarion Hotel Soho reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clarion Hotel Adelaide

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing