We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Awesome, modern hotel in the middle of the city”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Clarion Hotel Soho

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Clarion Hotel Soho
Ranked #34 of 57 Hotels in Adelaide
Ko Samui, Thailand
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Awesome, modern hotel in the middle of the city”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 May 2014

Stayed at the Soho in Adelaide for a couple of days before flying home to Thailand.

Very trendy, stylish and modern property.

I often like to get out of the hotel and eat outside but having read the great reviews for their Decant restaurant I thought it would be well worth a try. I wasn't disappointed at all. The restaurant is only about 30 seats and this shows in the attention to detail in the service, presentation and quality of food. It really was a fantastic representation of modern Australian cuisine using the freshest and best ingredients. I will definitely go back!

The views of Adelaide skyline from my balcony suite were superb and the room was exceptionally clean and comfortable. I loved the overall modern edge and stylings throughout. If this is your thing definitely check out Clarion Soho.

The other great thing about this place is the location. Walking distance to Hutt Street and Gouger Street dining precincts is a big plus.

Well done to the team and hopefully I can stay again when back in Adelaide.

Room Tip: Book or request a room with a balcony. Great to sit out there and read the paper or enjoy the fresh...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Travis B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

317 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    85
    126
    60
    25
    21
See reviews for
19
176
24
67
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 May 2014

We booked last minute with Clarion Soho for a short getaway to Adelaide. The service from staff was warm and professional and they went out of their way to look after us when we arrived earlier than anticipated. The room was fabulous, the location perfect and the dining area served a delicious breakfast.

Highly recommended to all. This will be our first choice for Adelaide accommodation for all future visits.

Room Tip: We booked the Studio room on level 3 which was a perfect size for the two of us. It also came with a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Clea W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hobart, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 May 2014

This would have to be one of the most disgusting hotels I have ever stayed at!
It started with arrival with the reception staff (male) being rude, degrading and down right offensive.
The room stank of cigarettes and then found ash next to the bed. The windows were filthy and the toilet in the bathroom would only fit a child on the toilet. The shower was crap and this place is meant to be 5 star.

I will never stay here again and not let anyone else.

Room Tip: Dont book here I am sorry
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Michael D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Adelaide hotels

Manila, Philippines
Level Contributor
168 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 May 2014

This hotel didn't live up to its boutique hotel claims - it seemed more like a revamped motel with still some work to do.. The location is quite good - an easy walk to all the restaurants & bars but the street the hotel is on is rather bland. Rooms were spacious but the bathroom was a bit old & small.
Service was mixed - reception (the security guard at the small front desk) was not very welcoming on arrival but he seemed better the next day.
There are better value for money basic hotels in Adelaide..

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelbyRosie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kyoto
Level Contributor
38 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 May 2014

I stayed overnight at the Clarion Soho during some very cold wet Adelaide weather. I was very pleased to discover the hot pool on the 5th floor which was reminiscent of being in Japan. Perfect after a busy day. After an excellent breakfast in the hotel's cafe I waited an hour during a rain and hail for a taxi. Samantha at reception called the cab company 3 times before organising a private lift foe me to get to a very important meeting.

Room Tip: The bed was very comfy. If my budget had been bigger wi would have upgraded to a room with a balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JanNorthQueensland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
34 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 April 2014

After overlooking this hotel on many trips to Adelaide, I finally choose to stay a night at the Clarion Hotel Soho. When you first enter this hotel you are likely to feel concerned about the room sizes, the main entrance is small and cramped. However, our Studio Room was generously-sized and included a couch and interestingly, windows which could be opened. A breath of fresh air!

However, one area that this hotel can certainly improve is room maintenance. Enormous paint chips, a poorly mounted TV, cracked bedside lamp and shabby bathroom detracted from some of the more positive features of this hotel. The bathroom was most notable for the way it flooded after having a shower - rather poorly designed.

The hotel is located in a quiet part of the CBD but still within easy walking distance from restaurants and shopping.

The service at this hotel was lacklustre and dismissive. Great hospitality is not something which you should expect here. Overall, this hotel offers great sized rooms and a nice vibe, but there are definitely other options which can deliver a better experience.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pseudonym5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
El Dorado Hills, California
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 April 2014

I stayed at the Clarion Soho while in Adelaide for a two week business trip. The hotel is best described as a small boutique hotel. The room was clean and the bed was comfortable. After two weeks at the Clarion Soho, I got to know the friendly staff.

The cafe in the hotel was a very nice perk of the hotel. Their main barista made very good coffee. His was the best I had in Australia.

You can walk to Rundle street and Hutt street from the Clarion. Both areas have a wide array of food and pub choices.

I would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: The rooms are on the small side. I would book the suite for a longer duration trip.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Adelaide hotels
0.3 mi away
Majestic Roof Garden Hotel
0.2 mi away
Adabco Boutique Hotel
Adabco Boutique Hotel
#5 of 57 in Adelaide
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,020 reviews
0.2 mi away
Mantra on Frome
Mantra on Frome
#14 of 57 in Adelaide
4.0 of 5 bubbles 797 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Ibis Adelaide
Ibis Adelaide
#10 of 57 in Adelaide
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,198 reviews
0.3 mi away
Crowne Plaza Adelaide
Crowne Plaza Adelaide
#6 of 57 in Adelaide
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,570 reviews
0.7 mi away
Peppers Waymouth Hotel
Peppers Waymouth Hotel
#8 of 57 in Adelaide
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,942 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clarion Hotel Soho? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clarion Hotel Soho

Property: Clarion Hotel Soho
Address: 264 Flinders St, Adelaide, South Australia 5000, Australia
Region: Australia > South Australia > Greater Adelaide > Adelaide
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Adelaide
#29 Luxury Hotel in Adelaide
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Clarion Hotel Soho 4.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Adelaide's hippest boutique accommodation evokes the eclectic, arty vibe of London's Soho district just meters from Adelaide's trendy East End. From its slick contemporary exterior to its stunning interior decor, Soho is an uber-chic experience boasting 30 luxurious rooms, including balcony & spa suites, with views over Adelaide's city skyline. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Southall Travel, Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda, TravelUp, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Clarion Hotel Soho reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clarion Hotel Adelaide

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing