We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Stay......for a nightout when you don't want to bother with cabs”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Mantra on Frome

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Mantra on Frome
Ranked #14 of 57 Hotels in Adelaide
Certificate of Excellence
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
34 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Great Stay......for a nightout when you don't want to bother with cabs”
Reviewed 25 July 2012

We enjoyed our stay at the Mantra on Frome. We had a 2 bedroom apartment between 4 of us costing us approx $60.00 each for the night. We all live 30km+ from the city and the thought of getting a cab is daunting sometimes from availability to cost factor. This made for a relaxing girls catch up.

Great location in the east end near all the restaurants and bars.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank swatchman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daniel A, General Manager at Mantra on Frome, responded to this review, 6 August 2012
Dear Ms S Watchman,

Thank you for your review. I am gald that you and your friends enjoyed your stay with us at Mantra on Frome and it pleases me to hear that you found a great place to stay when you come to City.

I look forward to welcoming you back in the not too distant future.

Warmest Regards

Daniel Ap-Thomas
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

796 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    290
    320
    120
    47
    19
See reviews for
226
171
48
209
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (99)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2012

A good option if you are looking for a bit more space than your ordinary hotel room. This is well located at the smart and fashionable end of town. Service was good and friendly and rooms clean and fresh. Check out Andre's Cucina & Polenta Bar on the ground floor. Andre was a contestant in the first series of Masterchef and the locals were flocking here for dinner on the 2 nights we stayed.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RodG_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daniel A, General Manager at Mantra on Frome, responded to this review, 20 June 2012
Afternoon Mr Rod G

I am glad that you enjoyed your stay with us at Mantra on Frome and it pleases me to hear that you found our service levels to your expectations. It is always nice to hear positive feedback, as it indicates we are on the right track. I look forward to welcoming you back in the not too distant future.

Warmest Regards

Daniel Ap-Thomas
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2012

Restaurant in the hotel is fantastic but does not serve breakfast everyday.

Staff are friendly but not always at the front desk

Cleaning staff needs to really work on their cleaning checklist. Found that my toilet seat has not been clean or wiped down.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank titanzdc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daniel A, General Manager at Mantra on Frome, responded to this review, 12 June 2012
Dear Titanzdc

Thank you for your recent feedback regarding your stay with us at Mantra on Frome, Although your stayed was some time ago and many changes have occurred since, it disappoints me to hear of your feedback regardless. The issues you have brought up have been a strong focal point for us over the past couple of months and compared to recent reviews we have certainly achieved some great outcomes.

I do invite you to contact me directly if you would like to discuss your issues in more detail. Otherwise we look forward to welcoming you back to the Hotel, if you choose to stay with us again.

Kind Regards

Daniel Ap-Thomas
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 May 2012

Have to say that our choice of staying at the Mantra on Frome was the Best choice that we made for our Mothers Day Weekend.
We had a 2 Bedroom Appartment for 3 nights and we didnt feel like we were staying at a Hotel it really felt like being at home...
Staff were friendly and i found the rooms were spotless and had everything that we needed.

We will return :)

Room Tip: Choose a room at the back of the Hotel as you find it very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marion T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daniel A, General Manager at Mantra on Frome, responded to this review, 16 May 2012
Dear Marion T,

Thank you for your glowing review about your stay at Mantra on Frome. We do pride ourselves on our service and I am pleased that you found all the staff so helpful. We look forward to welcoming back to your second home with us in the not too distant future.

Warmest Regards

Daniel Ap-Thomas
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2012

traveling wih a 1 and 3 year old and was a great place to stay in 2 bedroom apartment.

Had full cooking facilities. Dangerous utensils can be put up high. Power cords relatively well hidden. shower not ideal for young kids as not detachable to bring shower down low to shower them. Curtains make rooms dark in day for kids to sleep.

Supermarket 5 min walk away in rundle st mall. Numerous cheap eateries around for the kids.

Museum, Zoo and botanic gardens close by to entertain the kids.

Internet available in kiosk downstairs for $2 for 20 mins. Also available in room for cost I do not know.

As mentioned in other reviews, service by all staff really stood out and made mme give this hotel a 5 rating, which I generally do not give. 2 highchairs provided for me - no extra cost. Extra towels - no problem. Thanks guys!

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Juergen1975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daniel A, General Manager at Mantra on Frome, responded to this review, 16 May 2012
Dear Juergen ,

Thank you for your review. I am gald that you enjoyed your stay with us at Mantra on Frome and it pleases me to hear that you found our service levels to your expectations. I would also like to thank you for your feedback as your suggestions are great ideas.
I look forward to welcoming you back in the not too distant future.

Warmest Regards

Daniel Ap-Thomas
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 May 2012

Wonderful stay,great service, nice clean room. Price is good! You get what you pay for.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HRDBSW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daniel A, General Manager at Mantra on Frome, responded to this review, 6 May 2012
Dear HRDBSW,

I am gald that you enjoyed your stay with us at Mantra on Frome and it pleases me to hear that you found our service levels to your expectations. I look forward to welcoming you back in the not too distant future.

Warmest Regards

Daniel Ap-Thomas
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jamberoo, Australia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 April 2012

This is an excellent hotel in a great location. Nice, comfortable rooms with all needs covered. Only a short walk to Rundle Mall and a range of transport. Free bus just around the corner, tram to Glenelg around 7 minute walk. the hotel is also close to the variety of cafes and restaurants in and around Rundle street. Also close proximity to Uni SA, Adelaide Uni, art gallery and other visitor attractions. could easily walk to Adelaide oval. Definitely will be considered for future visits.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jambakim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
t0ny_keane, General Manager at Mantra on Frome, responded to this review, 6 April 2012
Dear Jambakin,

Thank you for your feedback about your recent stay at Mantra on Frome. I am glad that you enjoyed the location of the hotel, it is in a very good spot for all the areas you mentioned in your feedback. I am glad we met your expectaions during your stay and I look forward to welcoming you back in the not too distant future.

Warmest Regards

Tony Keane
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Adelaide hotels
0.1 mi away
Majestic Roof Garden Hotel
0.2 mi away
Ibis Adelaide
Ibis Adelaide
#10 of 57 in Adelaide
1,195 reviews
0.1 mi away
Crowne Plaza Adelaide
Crowne Plaza Adelaide
#7 of 57 in Adelaide
1,566 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Adabco Boutique Hotel
Adabco Boutique Hotel
#5 of 57 in Adelaide
1,015 reviews
0.6 mi away
Miller Apartments Adelaide
0.2 mi away
Mantra Hindmarsh Square
Mantra Hindmarsh Square
#13 of 57 in Adelaide
1,140 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mantra on Frome? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mantra on Frome

Property: Mantra on Frome
Address: 88 Frome St, Adelaide, South Australia 5000, Australia
Region: Australia > South Australia > Greater Adelaide > Adelaide
Amenities:
Kitchenette Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Family Hotel in Adelaide
#12 Romantic Hotel in Adelaide
#14 Business Hotel in Adelaide
#14 Luxury Hotel in Adelaide
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Mantra on Frome 4*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mantra on Frome is a spacious, apartment style hotel situated in the heart of Adelaide's East End cafe precinct. The perfect location for business or leisure travellers, the hotel is just moments away from Adelaide's CBD, Rundle Mall shopping precinct, theatres, entertainment and dining. The hotel is also minutes away from the Adelaide Botanic Gardens, Adelaide Zoo, Central Markets and Adelaide City Swim & Gym. Styled to meet the needs of both leisure and business travellers, Mantra on Frome offers a selection of Studio or One, Two and Three Bedroom Apartments. All rooms feature air-conditioning, cable television and in-house movies. To ensure your stay at Mantra on Frome is comfortable, the helpful team is available via the 24 hour reception desk. A tour desk, room service, secure undercover parking, same day laundry and dry cleaning service, babysitting and secretarial services are also available as well as in-room massage on request. Parking is subject to availability and needs to be pre-booked. Alternate offsite parking available ($20 per vehicle per night). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ebookers, Southall Travel, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mantra on Frome reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mantra On Frome Hotel Adelaide
Mantra On Frome Adelaide

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing