We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant Surprise”
Review of Mantra on Frome

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Mantra on Frome
Ranked #16 of 57 Hotels in Adelaide
Certificate of Excellence
Adelaide Hills, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Pleasant Surprise”
Reviewed 18 November 2012

We overnighted at the Mantra on Frome recently to coicide with our wedding anniversary and Christmas Pageant the following morning. Check-in was smooth and quick as most of the paper work and key cards had been prepared in advance. Daniel, the General Manager also came to the desk and introduced himself and gave us a run down of the places of interest in the vacinity. We thought that to be a nice personal touch as you don't often see management on the "shop floor" in larger establishments.

Our accommodation turned out to be an upper level 2 bedroom apartment on a corner of the building. It was certainly more than adequate to our requirements and made us feel like we were at home rather than being in your average hotel room. The apartment itself was very well presented. It was clean, smelt fresh, was fully equipped and everything we needed to use worked. Certainly being equipped with a full size fridge is handy to store your drinks intead of the usual fight for a little space in a standard mini-bar. Having several balconies was great to enjoy views in several different directions, although sometimes you wonder who's looking at you from behind the darkened glass in the building across the way.

The property is nicely located just slightly away from the city centre but is still very convenient to venues such as Rundle Street with its cafes and restaurants in one direction or the Central Market in the other.

All in all, a very pleasant surprise and an equally pleasant stay. A credit to its management and staff.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank zaccy321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daniel A, General Manager at Mantra on Frome, responded to this review, 26 November 2012
Dear Zaccy321,

Thank you for your glowing review about your stay at Mantra on Frome. We do pride ourselves on our service and I am pleased that you found all the staff so helpful. I must say that you are the first person to mention the darkened windows which I had never stopped to think about, so thank you for your feedback. I look forward to welcoming you back, maybe next year for your next wedding anniversary.

Warmest Regards

Daniel Ap-Thomas
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

884 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    324
    362
    130
    49
    19
See reviews for
250
190
51
236
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (102)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 November 2012

Stayed in a two bedroom apartment with family for a week stay. Excellent location so close to Rundle street/Mall and Parks. Found the staff very friendly and helpfull. Room was quiet so the kids slept well. Well appointed room 410, would recommend to any family for a stay. Thanks Mantra on Frome.......

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fsango
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daniel A, General Manager at Mantra on Frome, responded to this review, 12 November 2012
Dear Fsango,

Thank you for your glowing review about your stay at Mantra on Frome. We do pride ourselves on our service and I am pleased that you found all the staff so helpful.

It is always nice to hear positive feedback like this and I will ensure to pass it onto all the staff that were involved.

We look forward to welcoming you and your family back in the not too distant future.

Warmest Regards

Daniel Ap-Thomas
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Naracoorte
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 September 2012

Have stayed at Mantra on From on three occasions and have found each stay very satisfactory. The location of the hotel is good - within walking distance to Rundle Street/Rundle Mall etc.
The reception staff have always been very professional, friendly and helpful and the room immaculately clean and well provisioned with everything needed for a pleasant stay.
Will definitely continue to use this hotel for overnight stays in Adelaide.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tryhard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daniel A, General Manager at Mantra on Frome, responded to this review, 8 October 2012
Dear tryhard,

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your recent stay at Mantra on Frome. It is always good to hear positive comments. We are really glad you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Warmest Regards

Daniel Ap-Thomas
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
30 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 September 2012

I stayed in a lovely two bedroom apartment - corner of property 508a. My friend and I had plenty of room. The full kitchen was handy for us. The apartment was quiet, modern and very clean. It was handy to have our own washer and dryer for our stay. The staff on the front desk were very accommodating regarding our requests. They booked a day trip for us to Kangaroo Island. We parked our hire car underneath the hotel. Be warned that it is quite tight for large cars, but we managed. The hotel is in a great location. We easily walked around the city and to the cafe strip around the corner.

Room Tip: Corner rooms like 508b was a good size...bedding consisted of 1 room - queen, 1room single. Plus I...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nanda70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daniel A, General Manager at Mantra on Frome, responded to this review, 27 September 2012
Dear Nanda70,

Thank you for your feedback about your stay at Mantra on Frome. I am so pleased that we met your expectations and you found our attention to detail pleasing during your stay. It is always nice to hear positive feedback like this and I will ensure to pass it onto all the staff that were involved. Also a nice touch with the photos. I look forward to welcoming you both back in the not too distant future.

Warmest Regards

Daniel Ap-Thomas
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
39 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 September 2012

Excellent location and well presented apartments near the heart of the city. We were upgraded to a two-bedroom apartment on the first floor, which allowed our daughter to join us. It was spacious and clean, and well furnished, with a well-fitted out kitchen. The room was serviced daily and with pleasant receptionists it all made for a very enjoyable stay. While everything in Adelaide is within walking distance, being five minutes from the city centre and DJ's food hall, and Woolies, makes eating-in much easier, although there are plenty of trendy eateries nearby as well as some good pubs to lure one out in the evenings. Two places I would suggest among many to see would be the Botanic Gardens, about ten minutes away and its adjacent river parklands and the iconic Adelaide Central Markets, which is a feast for the culinary soul; this is roughly a twenty minute stroll or short cab fare, but a must for foodies.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank William B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daniel A, General Manager at Mantra on Frome, responded to this review, 27 September 2012
Dear William B,

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your recent stay at Mantra on Frome. I am glad that you enjoyed the location of the hotel and the service provided during your stay. It is always nice to pass on positive comments like yours to the staff. We all look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Warmest Regards

Daniel Ap-Thomas
General Manager
Mantra on Frome
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed 17 September 2012

I work as a travel agent and have stayed in many properties in Adelaide and around the world. This was my 2nd stay at this property and again it has exceeded my expectations. I love the service, always friendly and so helpful.
I stayed in the 2 bedroom apartment. The facilities are fantastic and I had great views from my bedroom balcony. Beds are lovely and comfortable. Great for families, couples and the business traveler.
Very centrally located to the city and walking distance to the Rundle Street area, where there is load of restaurants and shops to choose from. Close to public transport. Onsite parking.

What can I say as a travel agent I am more than happy to recommend my customers this property and know that they will be as happy as I am with this property and know they will get amazing service.

Well done Mantra, you make my decisions to recommend a property easy.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Monique H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daniel A, General Manager at Mantra on Frome, responded to this review, 20 September 2012
Dear Monique1731,

Thank you for your feedback about your stay at Mantra on Frome. I am so pleased that we met your expectations and you found our attention to detail pleasing during your stay. We really appreciate the feedback given and I look forward to welcoming you back in the not too distant future.

Warmest Regards

Daniel Ap-Thomas
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Adelaide hotels
0.1 mi away
Majestic Roof Garden Hotel
0.1 mi away
Crowne Plaza Adelaide
Crowne Plaza Adelaide
#6 of 57 in Adelaide
1,627 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ibis Adelaide
Ibis Adelaide
#10 of 57 in Adelaide
1,243 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Adabco Boutique Hotel
Adabco Boutique Hotel
#5 of 57 in Adelaide
1,078 reviews
0.2 mi away
Mantra Hindmarsh Square
Mantra Hindmarsh Square
#14 of 57 in Adelaide
1,250 reviews
0.5 mi away
Adina Apartment Hotel Adelaide Treasury
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mantra on Frome? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mantra on Frome

Property: Mantra on Frome
Address: 88 Frome St, Adelaide, South Australia 5000, Australia
Region: Australia > South Australia > Greater Adelaide > Adelaide
Amenities:
Kitchenette Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Family Hotel in Adelaide
#12 Romantic Hotel in Adelaide
#14 Business Hotel in Adelaide
#15 Luxury Hotel in Adelaide
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Mantra on Frome 4*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mantra on Frome is a spacious, apartment style hotel situated in the heart of Adelaide's East End cafe precinct. The perfect location for business or leisure travellers, the hotel is just moments away from Adelaide's CBD, Rundle Mall shopping precinct, theatres, entertainment and dining. The hotel is also minutes away from the Adelaide Botanic Gardens, Adelaide Zoo, Central Markets and Adelaide City Swim & Gym. Styled to meet the needs of both leisure and business travellers, Mantra on Frome offers a selection of Studio or One, Two and Three Bedroom Apartments. All rooms feature air-conditioning, cable television and in-house movies. To ensure your stay at Mantra on Frome is comfortable, the helpful team is available via the 24 hour reception desk. A tour desk, room service, secure undercover parking, same day laundry and dry cleaning service, babysitting and secretarial services are also available as well as in-room massage on request. Parking is subject to availability and needs to be pre-booked. Alternate offsite parking available ($20 per vehicle per night). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Southall Travel, Priceline, Expedia, Ebookers, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Mantra on Frome reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mantra On Frome Hotel Adelaide
Mantra On Frome Adelaide

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing