We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good weekend in Adelaide”
Review of Mantra on Frome

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Mantra on Frome
Ranked #16 of 55 Hotels in Adelaide
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 31 July 2014

I stayed here recently with four other family members and found the apartment comfortably accommodated all of us.

We stayed in a spacious three bedroom apartment, the facilities were of a good standard (although the paint work was a little scuffed and the soft furnishings were showing some wear). The twin bedroom was ok, but you couldn't open the door without hitting the end of the bed and accessing the wardrobe could only be achieved by climbing over a bed, but the other bedrooms were spacious. The LCD TV was a bit small and I would've liked to see a safe, but otherwise it was a great apartment and it gave us plenty of space and I liked all the quirky balconies (5 I think).

I found the car park a little awkward to access (you had to park on footpath while you inserted a card to open the door). A remote control would be a big improvement! The hotel is well located a couple of blocks from the heart of Rundle Mall and there are a number of restaurants in Rundle St. (a block away).

The best thing about the Mantra on Frome is the staff! I dealt with three reception staff and their level of service was first class (nothing was a problem or issue, well done). I have no hesitation in recommending this apartment hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cityhotelsightseeing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daniel A, General Manager at Mantra on Frome, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2014

Dear cityhotelsightseeing,

Thank you for your positive feedback about your stay at Mantra on Frome. I also appreciate your feedback in regards to the layout and paint work. We will be looking to complete a light refurbishment soon throughout the hotel, and positive feedback like this certainly helps our cause.

When it comes to your final paragraph, it is also nice to hear that my staff met your expectations. Service is the key in any business and to hear that their level was first class is fantastic. I personally look forward to welcoming you back in the not too distant future.

Warmest Regards

Daniel Ap-Thomas
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,065)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

866 - 872 of 1,065 reviews

Reviewed 27 July 2014

The Mantra was everything it promised it would be. Our one-bedroom apartment was clean, modern and comfortable. Space was used cleverly and the view of the city at night (with a little traffic noise which you would expect in the CBD) was definitely a highlight for us! The mini-bar was well stocked, the bed was super comfortable and the kitchen had everything we needed. Everything is thought of here with a washing machine and dryer tucked away if needed. The bathroom looks a little tired and dated and could use some attention, but this didn't bother us too much. The only real negative was that we had to leave!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LiquidTelevisi0n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daniel A, General Manager at Mantra on Frome, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2014

Dear LiquidTelevisi0n,

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your recent stay at Mantra on Frome.
It was great to hear that you enjoyed your stay at Mantra on Frome and if the only real negative thing was having to leave… we can't wait to welcoming you both back again real soon.

Warmest Regards

Daniel Ap-Thomas
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2014

My family of three stayed here for 5 nights last month and everything was just perfect. We had chosen it because of the location, and we weren't disappointed. Everything's very near, including shopping malls, cafes and even the museums and parks. As muslim travellers, it was also easy to find halal food along Rundle Street.
The room we had was clean and comfortable and everything worked well. After our long days of exploring South Australia, we always went back to a good night's sleep, feeling all recharged and refreshed the next morning.
We also hired a car for a couple of days and parking was easily available at the hotel. Overall, a great and pleasant stay and we had no complaints whatsoever.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
1  Thank MZulkifli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daniel A, General Manager at Mantra on Frome, responded to this reviewResponded 28 July 2014

Dear MZulkifli,

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your recent stay at Mantra on Frome.
It was great to hear that you weren’t disappointed with the location, cleanliness, and sleep quality you mentioned.
I would like to also thank you for the remaining feedback as many people forget how close Mantra on Frome truly is to everything.

On behalf of the team at Frome; we look forward to welcoming you back for your next family holiday.

Warmest Regards

Daniel Ap-Thomas
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2014

Family of 5 stayed in 2 BR apartment. Apartment provided a good base for us spending 3 nights in Adelaide. Parking was available for a cost of about $15-20/night but need to book in advance (though able to use parking a block away if needed - we did this for the first night). Apartment was small for 5 of us and we all had to share one bathroom - but we didn't mind for 3 nights. It was good value, considering it was clean, had character and was in the cbd.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Jonathan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daniel A, General Manager at Mantra on Frome, responded to this reviewResponded 17 July 2014

Dear Jonathan L,

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your recent stay. I would like to thank you for your comments in regarding to the parking as this helps us educate the readers what to do in advance. It is also nice to hear that we were close proximity to all your requirements and we were value for money.

We look forward to welcoming you and your family back in the not too distant future.

Kind Regards

Daniel Ap-Thomas
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2014

The rooms are comfortable and modern. The bathroom is up to date and clean. The reception desk was extremely helpfull. Most of all, you are in the middle of the city and a walking distance to the buzz. Great value!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank Peter V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daniel A, General Manager at Mantra on Frome, responded to this reviewResponded 17 July 2014

Dear Peter,

Thank you for your feedback regarding your stay at Mantra on Frome. We do pride ourselves on our service and I am pleased that you found all the staff friendly and helpful. It’s also great to hear that we were located in close proximity to all your requirements.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the not too distant future.

Kind Regards

Daniel Ap-Thomas
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2014 via mobile

This is the second time we stayed there. This time we stayed in a three bedroom apartment. It had 2 reasonable sized bedrooms and 1 smallish bedroom, ensuite and a bathroom. Living room and dining room are spacious enough for the 6 of us. Bathroom had mould, other than that all reasonably clean.

Friendly and helpful staff at front desk. Parking in the basement was convenient. I would recommend to book in advance.

Excellent location. We walked to most of places like supermarkets, Rundle Mall, zoo, museum and art gallary, even Chinatown was only about 15 min walk.

Andre's Cucina & Polenta Bar downstairs had excellent food, the banquet meal was fantastic! Highly recommend.

Overall, the stay was pleasant.

Stayed: June 2014
1  Thank caz_melb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daniel A, General Manager at Mantra on Frome, responded to this reviewResponded 17 July 2014

Dear caz_melb,

Thank you for your review about your stay at Mantra on Frome. It is rare for us to get feedback on the 3 bedrooms and appreciate your comments. We have chased up on your comment about the mould and found it to be the wrong colour grouting recently used, which has been scheduled to be rectified this month. Also I would like to thank you for the remaining feedback as many people are not aware how close Mantra on Frome truly is to everything within the CBD.

On behalf of the team at Mantra on Frome, we look forward to welcoming you back for your 3rd stay.

Kind Regards

Daniel Ap-Thomas
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2014

I had booked a one bedroom apartment for an overnight stay and was surprised to be given a two bedroom. There was plenty of living space all around the apartment, and i can imagine it would be suitable for families or couples staying together.

I resided in the main bedroom which was very spacious and more than enough for my overnight stay. The window in this room is actually decorative as the view goes out into the corridor, so naturally i would have preferred non-transparent curtains for the sake of privacy.

There was a quaint little balcony too but the views away from the street are nothing to write home about as you're looking into the adjacent buildings.

The building and furnishings are clean and in decent shape, but everything feels a bit tired and more suited to the taste of decades past. But the city of Adelaide itself is quite dated compared to Melbourne and even Perth, so viewed in context it is probably up to standard.

Location-wise, it is a good stroll from the main shopping areas but there are enough distractions on the way to keep you occupied if you choose to get around on foot.

Overall, I was satisfied with my stay and the apartment provided all the amenities and living space i desired. This is standard accomodation without much to write home about. It does the job, but you won't reminisce about it after your stay is over.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Edward_Xavier_Han
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daniel A, General Manager at Mantra on Frome, responded to this reviewResponded 17 July 2014

Dear Edward H,

Thank you for your review about your stay in one of our 2 bedroom apartments. Really appreciate the additional photos to our portfolio; it’s nice to get a different angle from the guest experience. I’d also like to thank you for the in depth feedback regarding the facilities. Please note that I’m glad we were close to all your needs and hope we have an opportunity to welcoming you back in the not too distant future.

Kind Regards

Daniel Ap-Thomas
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Adelaide hotels
0.2 mi away
Ibis Adelaide
Ibis Adelaide
#10 of 55 in Adelaide
1,393 reviews
0.1 mi away
Majestic Roof Garden Hotel
0.2 mi away
Mantra Hindmarsh Square
Mantra Hindmarsh Square
#13 of 55 in Adelaide
1,589 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Adabco Boutique Hotel
Adabco Boutique Hotel
#5 of 55 in Adelaide
1,197 reviews
0.5 mi away
Adina Apartment Hotel Adelaide Treasury
0.1 mi away
Pullman Adelaide
Pullman Adelaide
#7 of 55 in Adelaide
1,761 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mantra on Frome? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mantra on Frome

Address: 88 Frome St, Adelaide, South Australia 5000, Australia
Region: Australia > South Australia > Greater Adelaide > Adelaide
Amenities:
Kitchenette Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Adelaide
#12 Romantic Hotel in Adelaide
#13 Business Hotel in Adelaide
#15 Luxury Hotel in Adelaide
Price Range: £65 - £179 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Mantra on Frome 4*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mantra on Frome is a spacious, apartment style hotel situated in the heart of Adelaide's East End cafe precinct. The perfect location for business or leisure travellers, the hotel is just moments away from Adelaide's CBD, Rundle Mall shopping precinct, theatres, entertainment and dining. The hotel is also minutes away from the Adelaide Botanic Gardens, Adelaide Zoo, Central Markets and Adelaide City Swim & Gym. Styled to meet the needs of both leisure and business travellers, Mantra on Frome offers a selection of Studio or One, Two and Three Bedroom Apartments. All rooms feature air-conditioning, cable television and in-house movies. To ensure your stay at Mantra on Frome is comfortable, the helpful team is available via the 24 hour reception desk. Parking is subject to availability and needs to be pre-booked ($22 per vehicle per night). Alternate offsite parking available . ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Southall Travel, Agoda, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Mantra on Frome reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mantra On Frome Hotel Adelaide
Mantra On Frome Adelaide

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing