We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good service, clean, close to the city”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Adabco Boutique Hotel
Ranked #5 of 57 Hotels in Adelaide
Certificate of Excellence
Paynesville, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
“Good service, clean, close to the city”
Reviewed 30 June 2011

Old building very recently updated. friendly staff, helped with early checkin, to get changed for afternoon wedding. No fuss service, continental breakfast was included, cereal and toast but fine for breakfast. would recommend to friends

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank randwg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,093 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    506
    453
    98
    21
    15
See reviews for
118
538
128
169
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (187)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
32 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2011

We stayed here for 3 nights and enjoyed our stay.

Firstly the location; it is at least a 15-20 minute walk to the main areas although the bus stop for the free circular bus into town was just around the corner. There were a couple of restaurants nearby together with a small supermarket; the supermarket was ideal for picking up cheap deli meals.

The rooms were very spacious and clean, nicely decorated and a large king size bed. The bathroom was also large and the water pressure good. Our room was a little noisy with strange noises during the night but generally we slept o.k. Whilst you could access internet from your room, the fee to do so was extremely high and the only other alternative was to use the communal computer which provided free internet/printing facilities. However, the computer was nearly always occupied making it very difficult to get access.

The hotel facilities generally were very good with access to a well equiped communal kitchen where you could cook your own food, store provisions etc. Breakfast was provided in the large dining room and was basic but plentiful (toasts, cereals, juice, coffee, tea etc).

I would definately stay here again; whilst the location wasnt ideal, this is certainly reflected in the price which would have been much more if we had wanted to stay centrally.

Room Tip: high up, not facing the road or near the lifts
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank FrizBristol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2011

Fabulous little boutique hotel ! The room was modern, extremely comfortable, great beds, great pillows, fabulous chaise lounge and the bathroom was roomy and modern. I had a friend flying in the next day to join me and we had booked a different hotel for that night, if we'd known how great Adabco was we would have stayed here instead. A short 5 min walk to the main street of the city and easy parking (great if you hire rental cars). Breakfast was continental style and included in the rate and more than sufficient. Service was brilliant - great to see a hotel that believes in customer service !

Room Tip: The hotel does everything it can in the first plae
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Smiley1Sydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2011

Clean quiet rooms with a touch of style, comfortable bed, friendly staff and a simple but nice and social breakfast all made for a good stay. While 10-15 mins walk from central Adelaide the Hutt St shopping strip is 2 minutes away and has a good selection of restaurants and a small well stocked supermarket, we particularly enjoyed our table with fishtank views at the House of Chow chinese restaurant

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SafariBeagle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2011

This is a nice looking hotel from the outside, the rooms are very clean and modern. The front desk staff were exceptional to deal with - courteous, polite, knowledgeable and friendly.

But I truly wonder about the actual building the hotel is in. My room had a constant noise of running water coming from the wall. This noise was unbelievably loud at times.

Now if you check into a hotel to sleep... This might not be the place for you.

I might have had bad luck with my room, but you might too.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank DMMatlin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Darwin, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 May 2011

As our plane got into the city early in the day we went to drop off our bags and where invited to check in right away even though it was only 10am. The rooms where clean and had space. Location is about a 10-15 walk to the mall and central markets.

  • Stayed May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lanib2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
1 review
Reviewed 20 May 2011

Located on Wakefield Street Adelaide in a thoughtfully renovated heritage building about a ten minute walk from the impressive Rundle Mall in the heart of Adelaide this delightful boutique hotel provides the traveller with quality options.

The rooms are well appointed, comfortable and affordable. A buffet continental breakfast is available in the dining room each morning while each floor has a modern kitchen available to the guests wishing to prepare a meal for themselves.

While there are numerous eating establishments within easy distance of the Hotel the produce available from the Central Markets - a half hour stroll away- is well priced and a gourmets delight - the temptation to prepare a holiday feast is all but irrestible! Don't forget to pick up a bottle of your favourite tipple while you are out.

All this combined with a friendly and obliging staff made our stay at Adabco a memorable one.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank meandirene
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Adelaide hotels
0.4 mi away
Majestic Roof Garden Hotel
0.4 mi away
Ibis Adelaide
Ibis Adelaide
#10 of 57 in Adelaide
1,264 reviews
0.5 mi away
Adina Apartment Hotel Adelaide Treasury
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Crowne Plaza Adelaide
Crowne Plaza Adelaide
#6 of 57 in Adelaide
1,652 reviews
0.7 mi away
Mayfair Hotel
Mayfair Hotel
#1 of 57 in Adelaide
1,043 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Playford - MGallery by Sofitel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Adabco Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Adabco Boutique Hotel

Property: Adabco Boutique Hotel
Address: 223 Wakefield St, Adelaide, South Australia 5000, Australia
Region: Australia > South Australia > Greater Adelaide > Adelaide
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Best Value Hotel in Adelaide
#5 Luxury Hotel in Adelaide
#6 Romantic Hotel in Adelaide
#9 Business Hotel in Adelaide
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Adabco Boutique Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Adabco Boutique Hotel (formerly Wakefield Residence) is set in one of Adelaide's significant and beautiful heritage buildings. It has 70 elegantly appointed rooms with modern furnishing, appliances and finishes. The spacious rooms are all equipped with a flat screen LCD TV, Foxtel, high speed broadband access and a large executive desk for the corporate traveller. Situated in the heart of the city, the hotel is within walking distance to the restaurant precincts of Hutt Street, North Terrace, the Convention Centre, Hindley Street, Chinatown, the Central Market, and the Rundle Mall shopping precinct. Adabco Boutique hotel is an independent hotel suited to the discerning traveller that requires a retreat from the pressures of travel and access to some of the city's major and most memorable attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Expedia, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Adabco Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wakefield Residence Adelaide

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing