We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mystery hotel deal paid off”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Adabco Boutique Hotel
Ranked #5 of 57 Hotels in Adelaide
Certificate of Excellence
Geelong, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Mystery hotel deal paid off”
Reviewed 21 December 2011

We recently came to Adelaide to attend a wedding and needed one night's accommodation in the CBD. I decided to do a "mystery" deal and for only $90 we stayed at the Adabco which I had never heard of before. The location was good -parking was easy right outside the hotel-and the ambience was great. An interesting building which was once a "boys institute" beautifully adapted and refurbished fairly recently to a quite unique boutique hotel. Apart from the cheap deal (included the continental breakfast) the room was a good size, with QS bed, excellent bathroom,shutter on windows which could be opened to let light in or out, and desk and internet access, tea and coffee ,fridge, hair dryer etc. As others have stated the staff were very friendly and helpful and probably the lounge areas were attractively furnished with leather club lounges where you could sit quietly and read the papers or watch TV.The dining area was not too crowded ,levl had its own kitchen facility which would really suit travellers who may not want to eat out every night. Te continental breakfast was perfectly fine for us.
Overall very comfortable and affordable and deserves it 4 star rating! Definitley recommend this hidden gem and would stay again.

Room Tip: The double room we had was on a cheap deal at $90 inc breakfast ,normally cost around $130 so still...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank katrontompam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,078 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    494
    450
    98
    21
    15
See reviews for
114
536
124
167
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (187)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin Ireland
Level Contributor
137 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 December 2011

We stayed in this hotel for one night before we started our drive towards the Great Ocean Road. The hotel was well located just a 10 minute walk to the shopping streets packed with restaurants etc.

The rooms we clean and well furnished with everything you would want, and to add more the lobby has a free computer everyone can use for surfing the web and printing flights.. I know this is standard in some hotels, but was a surprise.

The breakfast was complimentary and was really plentiful, we stocked up planning on the 700+ Km's we were driving that day. But the point which really won us over was the service, the staff, or maybe he was one of the owners went out of his way to help us locate our rental agency, drew us a map and then even helped us with the bags to the car. I have to say, I'd wished I was staying longer with service like this, it defiantly deserves the high rating on tripadvisor.

Room Tip: The Views are not amazing from anywhere due to this being a renovated older building, but our room w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ray B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ruislip, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 December 2011

This was out last port of call in Adelaide before jetting back to the UK. After camping around Kangaroo Island and the Flinders Ranges for 9 nights the Adabco Boutique Hotel was a lovely sight. Driving through Adelaide the hotel was easy to locate, and we were met by a friendly lady at reception. Upon stepping into our room (of which we stayed for 2 nights) we were overwhelmed by the size and set-up; the bedroom was large enough, with a decent sized bathroom. There was a fridge in the room, as well as tea and coffee making facilities, an ironing board/iron and hairdryer.

The option of the continental break was good too. Although perhaps a little plain for many people, with toast, cereal and juice being the options available, this suited the both of us perfectly as compared to the Adabco Boutique Hotel most other hotel will be happy to charge you $15+ for breakfast. Free use of the computer (and internet) in the lobby was an added bonus too, and was perfect for completing our online flight check-in and printing out the boarding documents.

Overall a lovely hotel, with great facilities. Would definitely recommend the Adabco Boutique Hotel to friends, family and strangers!

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sara H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 December 2011

We had been recommended to stay here and were not disappointed. Wish we had longer as it was a friendly, comfortable place.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank snapcat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stanford-Le-Hope, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 December 2011

On arrival from the UK we Stayed at the Adabco fow two nights before starting our tour of Australia, found the staff to be very pleasant, rooms were spotless & breakfast was very adequate, there are kitchen / Dining ares on each floor for the use of guests which are very useful if you want to cook yourself a snack or a meal if wanting a change from eating out, it is in a great loaction for central Adelaide, Rundle street a short 10 minute stroll away, would definatley saty here again

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank delboy1uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
167 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 December 2011

About a 20 minute taxi ride (A$ 25) from the airport, Adabco is a true find; Nice continental breakfast, comfortable good-sized room and great location off of the free city loop bus # 99C. The museums are a 15 minute walk north, and only a block off of the main shopping mall and restaruant / pub street of Rundle. Highly recommend this botique hotel.

Room Tip: We booked online and were able to choose from the options. Had a king size bed, which seem to be in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rowerbabe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
80 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 December 2011

We had a great value stay, didn't pay much at all and still this hotel is very comfortable and real close to the city centre. Room felt newly refurbished and didn’t leave much to ask for, perhaps it was a little dark. Also, an okay continental breakfast was included, though the breakfast room was pretty crowded. If you have a car it’s easy to find parking on the street just outside the hotel.
Free wifi would have been nice, there is a computer in the lobby but it was often occupied.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KMKTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Adelaide hotels
0.4 mi away
Majestic Roof Garden Hotel
0.4 mi away
Ibis Adelaide
Ibis Adelaide
#10 of 57 in Adelaide
1,243 reviews
0.5 mi away
Adina Apartment Hotel Adelaide Treasury
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Crowne Plaza Adelaide
Crowne Plaza Adelaide
#6 of 57 in Adelaide
1,627 reviews
0.7 mi away
Mayfair Hotel
Mayfair Hotel
#1 of 57 in Adelaide
983 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Playford - MGallery by Sofitel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Adabco Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Adabco Boutique Hotel

Property: Adabco Boutique Hotel
Address: 223 Wakefield St, Adelaide, South Australia 5000, Australia
Region: Australia > South Australia > Greater Adelaide > Adelaide
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Best Value Hotel in Adelaide
#5 Luxury Hotel in Adelaide
#6 Romantic Hotel in Adelaide
#9 Business Hotel in Adelaide
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Adabco Boutique Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Adabco Boutique Hotel (formerly Wakefield Residence) is set in one of Adelaide's significant and beautiful heritage buildings. It has 70 elegantly appointed rooms with modern furnishing, appliances and finishes. The spacious rooms are all equipped with a flat screen LCD TV, Foxtel, high speed broadband access and a large executive desk for the corporate traveller. Situated in the heart of the city, the hotel is within walking distance to the restaurant precincts of Hutt Street, North Terrace, the Convention Centre, Hindley Street, Chinatown, the Central Market, and the Rundle Mall shopping precinct. Adabco Boutique hotel is an independent hotel suited to the discerning traveller that requires a retreat from the pressures of travel and access to some of the city's major and most memorable attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HRS, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Adabco Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wakefield Residence Adelaide

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing