We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sweet boutique hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Adabco Boutique Hotel
Ranked #5 of 57 Hotels in Adelaide
Certificate of Excellence
Sao Paulo
Level Contributor
567 reviews
123 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 324 helpful votes
“Sweet boutique hotel”
Reviewed 1 July 2013

We spent three nights at Adabco and it was one of the best hotels we've stayed in Australia. First, the building: it's an 1800's building, completed restored to offer a lot of comfort. Rooms are well decorated, with different lights, lots of electrical plugs, comfy bed, aircon, TV, a lot of space to keep your stuff - there's even a chaise long! Bathroom is also good sized, with nice shower and good quality amenities and the best hairdresser ever. Also, they have free wifi, which was great.
Staff is nice and check in/out process is fast. There's parking place (public/paid) in front of the hotel, and location is superb, central and not noisy.
Breakfast was ok, nothing special but had fruits, cereals, bread with butter and jam - and it was included.
Finally, they have a great kitchen there, with a lot of space, good cook-top, fridge and some tables and chairs.
We had a great time at Adabco and highly recommend it!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank alalas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,054 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    475
    447
    97
    20
    15
See reviews for
109
526
122
163
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (185)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Swindon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2013

We live in the UK. We spent 30 days in May visiting Darwin,Brisbane,Adelaide and Perth areas, plus Singapore. This hotel was definitely the best for us. It was friendly, affordable and very comfortable. A good breakfast was included and having laundry and self catering facilities was really good as we were doing a lot of traveling. The bedroom was lovely and the staff very helpful. If we go back to Australia we will definitely use it again!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sue P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
181 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2013

In my search for a hotel in Adelaide for 7 nights, I kept going back to this one. Thank goodness I did. From the moment we set foot in this beautiful old building, I loved it. The different receptionists we had were all friendly, efficient and helpful with places of interest around the area.
Our room number was 328. The room's décor was nice, it was clean, plenty of cupboard space to hang up our clothes and the outlook was into a back street. Away from the lift and kitchen areas. No noise from the neighbours on either side. Did hear a garbage truck one morning, but no worries there.
Free breakfast. which consisted of canned fruit, cereals, bread (with a handy toaster), tea and coffee. It was certainly enough to fuel you up for the day and get out into beautiful Adelaide and surrounding areas.
Couple of things for attention in the room, the lamp's bulb had blown and not been replaced. No worry to me, but may annoy others that want to work at the desk. And a couple of the shutters need attention too. Bathroom was a good size, plenty of space to put all the gear you need to clean your teeth etc. Towels were fresh and a good size. Would certainly recommend the accommodation.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nek88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
220 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 232 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2013

Beautiful small boutique hotel.
Getting from the airport is about 25$ by taxi, I don’t think there is public transportation.
The receptionist was very nice and engaging to help.
The location was good for me as well, walking distance everywhere (10-20 minutes).
Room was big and had lots of style. Free internet!
Breakfast was very disappointing so don’t expect a rich buffet, because it’s not,

If I ever get back to Adelaide, I will definitely stay again in Adabco.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ido8all
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for 3 nights and were very happy. Staff were friendly and helpful and there's plenty of tourist info at reception. The room was spacious and comfortable. There was a bit of noise from the road and apartments next door but it didn't keep us awake. The included continental breakfast is basic but very edible and handy if you're away for a while like us and just need something to get you started. The free wifi, computer for guest use and coin laundry were all very useful. Very conveniently located on Wakefield St and just a short walk from the main city attractions. There is only 1-2 hour parking out the front but we left our car in the 24 hour multistorey just down the street.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JessandAndy2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barnstaple, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
127 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2013

Very handily placed in Wakefield Street, easy walking to most of central Adelaide - this good, as parking is at a premium in the city. Very nice spacious room, lovely bathroom. Large kitchen on each floor, so you can prepare your own food if you wish. Free breakfast downstairs - quite reasonable, but get there early or late, as tables get filled up quickly. Free access to computers in lounge, wi-fi in rooms. Very pleasant helpful staff. Excellent place at reasonable rates.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hollandNorthDevon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago
Level Contributor
62 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2013

This is not fancy, but it was a great place to stay and I thought it was a great value. My room was quite large with a refrigerator and built in shelves and a desk against the window. The bed was super comfy, the bathroom a decent size and the location was good, not as central as some others, but only about a ten minute walk to rundle street, etc. The staff was awesome, Julie was so friendly and helpful with restaurant advice, etc and Dave was super nice too. They have free breakfast (pretty basic) and a kitchen that you can use if you would rather cook yourself. Would highly recommend for a nice budget type accommodation...

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tlb999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Adelaide hotels
0.4 mi away
Majestic Roof Garden Hotel
0.5 mi away
Adina Apartment Hotel Adelaide Treasury
0.4 mi away
Ibis Adelaide
Ibis Adelaide
#10 of 57 in Adelaide
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,216 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
The Playford - MGallery by Sofitel
0.7 mi away
Mayfair Hotel
Mayfair Hotel
#1 of 57 in Adelaide
4.5 of 5 bubbles 924 reviews
0.4 mi away
Crowne Plaza Adelaide
Crowne Plaza Adelaide
#6 of 57 in Adelaide
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,590 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Adabco Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Adabco Boutique Hotel

Property: Adabco Boutique Hotel
Address: 223 Wakefield St, Adelaide, South Australia 5000, Australia
Region: Australia > South Australia > Greater Adelaide > Adelaide
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Adelaide
#5 Luxury Hotel in Adelaide
#6 Romantic Hotel in Adelaide
#9 Business Hotel in Adelaide
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Adabco Boutique Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Adabco Boutique Hotel (formerly Wakefield Residence) is set in one of Adelaide's significant and beautiful heritage buildings. It has 70 elegantly appointed rooms with modern furnishing, appliances and finishes. The spacious rooms are all equipped with a flat screen LCD TV, Foxtel, high speed broadband access and a large executive desk for the corporate traveller. Situated in the heart of the city, the hotel is within walking distance to the restaurant precincts of Hutt Street, North Terrace, the Convention Centre, Hindley Street, Chinatown, the Central Market, and the Rundle Mall shopping precinct. Adabco Boutique hotel is an independent hotel suited to the discerning traveller that requires a retreat from the pressures of travel and access to some of the city's major and most memorable attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Ctrip TA, Priceline, Odigeo, Ebookers, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Adabco Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wakefield Residence Adelaide

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing