We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel without costing you the earth”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Adabco Boutique Hotel
Ranked #5 of 57 Hotels in Adelaide
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Great Hotel without costing you the earth”
Reviewed 15 March 2014

I went to Adelaide last weekend and stayed at Adabco Boutique Hotel by chance. I was very impressed by the hotel layout and facilities.
Yes it is not 4 or 5 stars but the basic amenities provided are good enough to meet my needs.
It is close to city centre. The room is spacious and the bed is comfortable. I think it is better than most of the 4 or 5 star hotels I have stayed in.
The breakfast is sufficient (cereal, muesli, toast, juice and coffee. Wifi is included too but it is rather slow. Best to use the pc provided in the lounge.
I will definitely stay at Adabco again.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Felix671
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,111 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    516
    459
    99
    21
    16
See reviews for
121
543
132
171
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (187)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Boston
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 March 2014

Really enjoyed this historic building and the great accommodation. The location is convenient to the CBD, the price is reasonable, and the rooms are everything you'd expect from a boutique hotel (minus complementary robes). Continental breakfast is included.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Julie328
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Windsor
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 March 2014 via mobile

Stayed 3 nights here in Adelaide during the Ashes. Although not luxurious, the hotel is perfectly clean and comfortable and easy waking to the main shopping area. Would recommend for good value stay in Adelaide. The free breakfast was a real bonus.

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank CancanUK_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 March 2014 via mobile

Our expectations weren't that high given the good value price we had paid and the seeming anonymity of this hotel amongst locals. However, we were very pleasantly surprised. The staff were excellent (the guy on reception was really friendly and told us lots of history about the building and the city)and very obliging. We had a really lovely room and the bed was very comfortable. The breakfast is quite basic but it's free so no complaints there. They have a business centre also which is free to use and the hotel is well located. Would happily stay here again or recommend.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank DublinDownUnder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toowoomba, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 March 2014 via mobile

Tripadvisor was spot on with this hotel. For the price it is outstanding value for money. Reception staff were very friendly and freely supplied us interstaters great tips on what see in Adelaide. Rooms very comfy and we'll serviced. Continental breakfast more than adequate for the price.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Keith B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gold Coast
Level 6 Contributor
172 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 February 2014

Great value, good staff, adequate continental brekkie with large rooms. If you have a car and want to stay more than overnight - this is not the hotel for you. Parking is on street between 6pm & 8am - if you want to come & go on business you need the Wilson car park up the road and need to pay each entry - not good.

Certainly meets 4 Star cleanliness, comfort & service. The rooms towards the front have a bit of street traffic noise early in the morning but on business who cares?

The TV at 45 degrees to the bed & 5 metres away is difficult so they have provided a lovely lounger with foot rest but it can be a scary sight when you see your self in the opposite wall mirror - obviously no complimentary dressing gowns.

You can go wrong with the value this Hotel offers.

Room Tip: Go to the back of the hotel away from the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GILLRI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamilton, New Zealand
2 reviews
Reviewed 26 February 2014

What a fantastic boutique hotel, great rooms ,great facilities, and great staff
We would like to congratulate David and Caris for their outstanding courtesy
Caris has an outstanding customer manner truly efficient young lady who makes you very welcome the moment you arrive.

Room Tip: Rooms are all excellent no noise at all A great place to stay A easy walk to the centre of Adelaid...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 123Robing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Adelaide hotels
0.4 mi away
Majestic Roof Garden Hotel
0.4 mi away
Ibis Adelaide
Ibis Adelaide
#10 of 57 in Adelaide
1,280 reviews
0.4 mi away
Crowne Plaza Adelaide
Crowne Plaza Adelaide
#6 of 57 in Adelaide
1,665 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Adina Apartment Hotel Adelaide Treasury
0.7 mi away
Mayfair Hotel
Mayfair Hotel
#1 of 57 in Adelaide
1,074 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Playford - MGallery by Sofitel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Adabco Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Adabco Boutique Hotel

Property: Adabco Boutique Hotel
Address: 223 Wakefield St, Adelaide, South Australia 5000, Australia
Region: Australia > South Australia > Greater Adelaide > Adelaide
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Best Value Hotel in Adelaide
#5 Luxury Hotel in Adelaide
#6 Romantic Hotel in Adelaide
#9 Business Hotel in Adelaide
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Adabco Boutique Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Adabco Boutique Hotel (formerly Wakefield Residence) is set in one of Adelaide's significant and beautiful heritage buildings. It has 70 elegantly appointed rooms with modern furnishing, appliances and finishes. The spacious rooms are all equipped with a flat screen LCD TV, Foxtel, high speed broadband access and a large executive desk for the corporate traveller. Situated in the heart of the city, the hotel is within walking distance to the restaurant precincts of Hutt Street, North Terrace, the Convention Centre, Hindley Street, Chinatown, the Central Market, and the Rundle Mall shopping precinct. Adabco Boutique hotel is an independent hotel suited to the discerning traveller that requires a retreat from the pressures of travel and access to some of the city's major and most memorable attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Adabco Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wakefield Residence Adelaide

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing