We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing places to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hostel 109 Flashpackers
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
2 reviews
“Amazing places to stay”
Reviewed 5 October 2011

It's really an amazing place to stay if you tours Adelaide for its good location, pro kitchen, lab room and fittable room. Also, the gentleman manager is really nice to us, and he helps us a lot. The kitchen is wonderful that it also provides free milk, tea and coffee, and it definitely clean and well facilitated with oven, plates, etc. The bedroom is not overcrowded and really clean beyond my expectation. The shower room and restroom is clean and not overcrowded, in which there is hair dryer and weight measurement as well.
Significantly, the free wifi can be connected whether in the room or eating area, which is not provided by any hotels.
However, there are 2 buildings for hostel 109, I prefer the building with reception one, coz the room seems to be newly decorated and smell is better.
Also, you can get lots of visitor information there and tour bus can pick you up from hostel 109. It's easy to get taxi, too.

Room Tip: I prefer the rooms in the building with reception one to another one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vickey3900
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

184 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    101
    51
    18
    7
    7
See reviews for
3
48
76
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pattaya, Thailand
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 October 2011

A professional-level kitchen, a large outdoor/covered back patio with plenty of tables and chairs, and fun, happy travellers mark my experience at the 109. There were free-to-use computers in the downstairs common room, nice big screen TV to watch, with movies if you wanted, beanbag chairs, couches, and friendly staff.

I had plenty of room to store my foodstuffs in the generously-sized glass-front fridge, and the facilities were well-kept, in and older building with classic high ceilings. Fun base to launch out onto the nearby town from, and enjoy the night life. Structure is solid enough that where I was sleeping, upstairs, was plenty quiet at all hours

The other part of the hostel, across the street, is the more strait-laced part, for quiet, shy, withdrawn people,and others who are allergic to people laughing and having fun; so this is a hostel with any kind of atmosphere you like. Librarians on the side of the street that houses the 109 office, party people on the other side of the street, though, as I said, if you are sleeping upstairs, what is going on downstairs has literally no impact on your slumber. The look of crestfallen disappointment that a Western Barbarian had wandered into their midst the few times I had to cross the divide to use the computers on the office side were entertaining in and of themselves.

Great place. Would recommend it to anyone, whether loud and outgoing, or quiet and withdrawn, or those who like to have their quiet, zen-like atmosphere, but only have to walk across the street for the noise and excitement they can monitor and observe for their thesis on hostel psychology.

They will book activities and trips, and the owner is friendly and available when I needed to talk, so, in all, a great place to stay.

Room Tip: If you want blissful, more modern-looking solitude, choose the office side of the street. If you onl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KurttheTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harrogate, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
67 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 September 2011

We stayed in a double room that was comfortable and utilised the shared kitchen & bathrooms which were clean & not overcrowded. The lack of windows in the bedrooms does make it feel a bit strange but there are balconies for eating out on & windows in communal areas. The free wifi is fantastic along with free breakfast items & washing powder. Only a 10 minute walk into city & close to tram stop at City South. The room was close to kitchen & unfortunately was a bit noisy with passers by. On th whole great value for money in a good safe location with a lovely owner.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vickymakin79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dersingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 September 2011

room was great, a double for me and my fiance, Owner was polite and really helpful, its not in the center of Adelaide but it is only a 15 minute stroll or 5 min taxi so stay here as its pretty damn good. :)

Room Tip: doubles were great but ours didn't have an en-suite but the facilities were still fantastic :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank leenewst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stroud, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
55 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 August 2011

I randomly picked up a brochure for Hostel 109 on my travels and decided to give it a go as it looked like a good bet, especially with the free internet.

I made my booking and was told that I could just let myself in and make myself at home, as I would be arriving at a slightly unsavoury hour of the morning! I did just this and got lots of errands sorted on the free internet, before I checked in with the lady at reception (who I believe owns the joint).

She offered me a dorm room in Hostel 109 or the other backpackers they are slowly doing up across the road (I think it's Adelaide Backpackers or something), I chose to opt for across the road for cheapness. The facilities across the road weren't quite as shiny as in 109 but I was more than happy, as it was all very clean and very well run. There was free tea and coffee too!

Location-wise it's an easy walk into town and especially accessible to central markets. I had a great quiet nights sleep and would definitely stay there again given the opportunity.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Phoemail
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
darwin
1 review
Reviewed 14 August 2011

just wanted to recomend hostel 109 to anyone heading down south {really nice for couples too} lookng for a nice chilled out hostel wit no stress.every thing u need is there.. first time away from home was in 3 other hostels before found 109, without doubt the nicest, cleanest, best run hostel ive been in left about 7 weeks ago and cant find nowhere near as comfortable or clean<had some bed bugs in last 2 hostels>. only ment to stay there 4 days but spent nearly 3 weeks there relaxing,really felt like home after couple days. thanks to malcom for looking at the car and all the driving tips. not many desent people like him running hostels in oz. hope to make it back some time before we finish in oz. . . . .thanks dave and mags

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank david s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, Engand
Level Contributor
57 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 May 2011

One of the best hostels I have encountered anywhere. Stayed for 2 nights and then happily returned again 2 weeks later after a trip to the Outback. It felt like coming home.

Spotlessly clean, unlimited use of fast internet terminals as well as wi-fi.

Good location, quiet but close to Chinatown and city centre.

Good, clean kitchen with a wide range of cutlery, crockery and utensils, very large fridge. Free tea, coffee, milk and other goodies available.

Very helpful and friendly staff.

Good shower and toilet facilities

Rooms OK with towel provided. Bed a bit hard. Fan provided but not needed during my visits as weather was quite cool. Only slight downside was no window and also the main light in my room wasn't working. Sound insulation lacking so hope you don't have noisy neighbours. But hey this is a hostel.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brightontraveller-2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Adelaide hotels
0.3 mi away
Adabco Boutique Hotel
Adabco Boutique Hotel
#5 of 57 in Adelaide
1,076 reviews
0.5 mi away
Ibis Adelaide
Ibis Adelaide
#10 of 57 in Adelaide
1,243 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Playford - MGallery by Sofitel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Majestic Roof Garden Hotel
0.5 mi away
Franklin Central Apartments
0.7 mi away
Adelaide Central YHA
Adelaide Central YHA
#4 of 52 in Adelaide
335 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostel 109 Flashpackers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostel 109 Flashpackers

Property: Hostel 109 Flashpackers
Address: 109 Carrington St, Adelaide, South Australia 5000, Australia
Region: Australia > South Australia > Greater Adelaide > Adelaide
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 52 Speciality Lodging in Adelaide
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Hostel 109 Flashpackers 2*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our quiet hostel is located on Carrington St. in a well-maintained, quiet building. Here you'll find a variety of comfortable, affordable & friendly accommodation right in the heart of the city. All of Adelaide's city attractions are within a short walk from the hostel & we can help you explore the rest of South Australia and Australia. We are moments from many great restaurants, attractions and special events - everything a traveller wants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, HostelWorld and Agoda so you can book your Hostel 109 Flashpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing