We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great place, convenient location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hostel 109 Flashpackers
Certificate of Excellence
Broome, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“great place, convenient location”
Reviewed 12 May 2012

my boyfriend and I stayed here earlier in the year. we found it very clean and the staff were very friendly. good atmoshpere but still quiet enough to get to sleep.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank louNcheeseman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

185 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    102
    51
    18
    7
    7
See reviews for
3
48
76
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 May 2012

Me and my girlfriend arrived very early in the morning and was met by the owner of the hostel. He told us our room would not be ready as it was 7am but he showed us around the hostel and all the things we needed to know. The double beds are 2 twins beds pushed together but to me it made no difference as they were comfortable and not the typical prison style mattress you get at a hostel. It is very safe and in a great location, no noise whatsoever.

The owner goes out of his way to make sure you are ok and having a good time. We had a greyhound bus at 8pm and as we were leaving to go there, he offered to drive us there (2 rucksacks, 2 backpacks and a food bag) You can imagine how happy we were to get a lift instead of walking.

Perfect

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jimbobgraham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 May 2012 via mobile

We arrived at this hostel expecting it to be ok from reviews but found a dirty unmade bed which claimed to be a double. I changed the sheets myself and when speaking to the owner the following morning was told they just made it look tidy from the guests before - entirely disgusting! Apparently we were compensated by having a double bed which is what we had paid for which incidentally is twin beds pushed next to each other - overall a dirty place with unhelpful staff - avoid if you can.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jen2000_4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 March 2012

I stayed in the ladies only dorm. Thankfully max 4bed dorm, I wouldn't wanna share with too many. The place is clean eg. toilets, bath, room, kitchen etc. All sheets are cleaned whenever anyone leaves. Comfy mattress. The place is quiet with FOC wifi. I wasn't a tourist so I stayed indoors most of the time. It's about 10mins walk away from the busy city streets, so there's less noise at the surrounding area. I had to check out earlier than expected, and was given a refund. The Skylink from the airport drops right in front of the hostel.

Cons : Ladies only dorm is right next to the computer area, so for the late nighters typing away would keep you awake.
Pros : its away from the kitchen, so you won't be awaken by the clingclang of pots & pans in the morning & burnt toast.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank purrjen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 March 2012

Hostel 109 was my first hostel experience and I honestly couldn't have asked for a better place to stay. The staff are genuinely wonderful and extremely helpful. Clean rooms, big kitchen and fridges, free Internet....it was really accommodating. Thanks to Malcolm for helping me feel so welcome!! Great place to stay....if you're leary about a hostel stay you do not have to worry about this place!!!!

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank juncan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
helsinki
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 February 2012

clean, cozy, and incredibly friendly staff. free wifi which is rare in australia so far it seems. enjoyed my stay very much and would recomend to others. not much to see in adelaide though...blah.

Room Tip: rooms near front of building are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tallinn y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 February 2012

I recommend this hostel if you are looking for a budget accommodation. They got shared rooms and also double room, which is where we stayed. It is clean, in a great location and the staff was lovely and helpful.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank megadayan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Adelaide hotels
0.3 mi away
Adabco Boutique Hotel
Adabco Boutique Hotel
#5 of 57 in Adelaide
1,094 reviews
0.4 mi away
Adina Apartment Hotel Adelaide Treasury
0.5 mi away
Franklin Central Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Ibis Adelaide
Ibis Adelaide
#10 of 57 in Adelaide
1,267 reviews
0.7 mi away
Miller Apartments Adelaide
0.8 mi away
BreakFree Director's Studios
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostel 109 Flashpackers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostel 109 Flashpackers

Property: Hostel 109 Flashpackers
Address: 109 Carrington St, Adelaide, South Australia 5000, Australia
Region: Australia > South Australia > Greater Adelaide > Adelaide
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 52 Speciality Lodging in Adelaide
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Hostel 109 Flashpackers 2*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our quiet hostel is located on Carrington St. in a well-maintained, quiet building. Here you'll find a variety of comfortable, affordable & friendly accommodation right in the heart of the city. All of Adelaide's city attractions are within a short walk from the hostel & we can help you explore the rest of South Australia and Australia. We are moments from many great restaurants, attractions and special events - everything a traveller wants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, HostelWorld and Agoda so you can book your Hostel 109 Flashpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing