We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hostel 109 Flashpackers
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 June 2014

We arrived after hours and I'm glad my friend had a phone because we would not have received the pass code to enter the building and our room number without calling. Very friendly staff, good location, overnight parking on the street available, free wi-fi, clean bathrooms and room. The kitchen needs new pots but their is plenty of space to cook.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
Thank Cahurricane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (187)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

68 - 74 of 187 reviews

Reviewed 3 June 2014

I had a pleasant stay in hostel 109. The place was clean and comfortable; the fact there wasn't a lot of people helped (even though it was cleaned every day anyway). In 15 days of stay I never had a problem to find available pots/pans, cutlery, place in kitchen to cook or whatnot. Sometimes tv in the lounge area had some interferences but most of the time was ok. The wifi was also good.

Rooms don't have windows, which is not a problem as far as someone doesn't want to spend all the time in its own room.

4-bed dorm room was comfy enough, depending on how much backpacks/luggages were on the floor anyway it has never been really messed up. Inside the room there were also lockers a night table with some drawers, a wardrobe a table and a chair.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MarcoL_29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2014

I only stayed one night, but it was definitely a better experience than many hotels! Free super fast wifi and the beds are super comfy! Everything including the toilets and showers were clean and I (female young(ish) travelling alone) felt safe and relaxed! Hardly any noise at night and Josh at the front desk was extremely helpful. Definitely going to stay here again if I go back to Adelaide!
Thanks Josh!

Room Tip: single rooms are a bit further away from the kitchen which is good, cause you get less noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alexandra B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2014

as hostels go this is pretty good, well organised, good kitchen, clean (ish) bathrooms, and nice lounge. Well managed with good support day or night, rooms are small but totally adequate and its great value for money. Nice and quiet

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vicky m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2014

This hostel is lovely. The room was clean, with enough power points for each guest. The kitchen was very well equipped and kept clean. The bathrooms were clean and modern. Wifi was amazing, fast enough to use Skype and upload photos/download music and films. It was quiet at night so you can get a good nights sleep. Most people staying appeared to be working so the hostel was also quiet during the day. The staff were helpful and would look up directions/info for you.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Chloe L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2014

Hostel 109 is the perfect place to get some decent sleep on some proper quality mattresses! The dorms and common areas are all spotless and seemed to be cleaned daily. The atmosphere is quiet and relaxed, however there's always friendly travelers keen for a chat in the lounge area.
Bathrooms are spacious and clean, and there are all the facilities you could ever need for a long or short stay.

My stay here was shortened due to an emergency back home that meant I had to leave early. The staff at Hostel 109, especially the legendary Josh, were so helpful for every concern and query of mine upon my exit. What a great bunch!
I will certainly be back next time I'm in Adelaide.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rosie J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2014

Spent over a month n total at Hostel 109 over a few different trips when I was backpacking a couple ago. It was an absolutely amazing place and every time I talk to people who are going to Adelaide I tell them to stay here.

From Malcolm and other staff making a point out of remembering guests names to taking us out for a hike in the hills (just because she was going out anyway so would I like to join her and some others?) I always felt like I was coming home. And that's not all that easy at a hostel. It was clean and one of very few hostels I've stayed at where the kitchen stayed clean for more than 5 min. The free internet could sometimes be a bit slow, but so is the pay as you go internet other places so while it's free, no complaints!

If I go back to Adelaide, this is where I'll be staying!

Room Tip: They have dorm rooms both at Hostel 109 and across the street, but if you want the quiet more homely...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank travellingblond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Adelaide hotels
0.6 mi away
Pullman Adelaide
Pullman Adelaide
#7 of 56 in Adelaide
1,721 reviews
0.8 mi away
BreakFree Director's Studios
0.7 mi away
Adelaide Central YHA
Adelaide Central YHA
#4 of 54 in Adelaide
348 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Backpack OZ
Backpack OZ
#12 of 54 in Adelaide
147 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Guest House
The Guest House
#30 of 54 in Adelaide
25 reviews
0.6 mi away
Adelaide’s Shakespeare Backpackers International Hostel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostel 109 Flashpackers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostel 109 Flashpackers

Address: 109 Carrington St, Adelaide, South Australia 5000, Australia
Region: Australia > South Australia > Greater Adelaide > Adelaide
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 54 Speciality Lodging in Adelaide
Price Range: £18 - £71 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hostel 109 Flashpackers 2*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our quiet hostel is located on Carrington St. in a well-maintained, quiet building. Here you'll find a variety of comfortable, affordable & friendly accommodation right in the heart of the city. All of Adelaide's city attractions are within a short walk from the hostel & we can help you explore the rest of South Australia and Australia. We are moments from many great restaurants, attractions and special events - everything a traveller wants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Ebookers and Agoda so you can book your Hostel 109 Flashpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing