We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best Thai in Adelaide, maybe Australia” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Bangkok Thai Restaurant - CLOSED

Bangkok Thai Restaurant
Price range: US$13 - US$16
Cuisines: Thai
Restaurant details
Berlin
2 reviews
“Best Thai in Adelaide, maybe Australia”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 March 2012

Bangkok Thai is one of the best restaurants of any cuisine in Adelaide. Every dish is impeccably spiced and seasoned, and the specialties (chicken hor mok, yum squid etc.) Are world class. Service is exceptional, and decor is neat and unpretentious. Its about the food.

    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank robadmel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

6 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    3
    2
    0
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide, Australia
1 review
“Give it a miss”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 March 2012

We were really disappointed, given previous acceptable reviews. We went on a Tuesday night during the Adelaide Fringe Festival and were one of only two small groups there. Despite this, service was terrible - we had to chase the waitress everytime we wanted something, even having to get up and find her! Some wine and dishes not available - no light beer at all. All with no apologies! Pad Thai and Vegetable curry were good. Beef shasliks tough and chewy. Pork and pepper bland. Didnt have noodles for hokkien(!), so chose Chicken and Cashews, which was boiled chicken with no flavour, put into a tomato based sauce, with a few cherry tomatoes to garnish! - Not nice. None of the 5 in our group would go again.

  • Visited March 2012
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Clara T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, South Australia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Best green chicken curry in Adelaide”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 March 2012

We love The Bangkok - it's a local favourite we've been going to regularly for years.

The thing which impresses us each time is the consistency of the quality of dishes, not to mention the amazing taste.

The owners are rigorous about ensuring consistent quality - whether it's Tuesday night or Saturday night.

Our favourite dishes are: yellow chicken curry, the green chicken curry, the prawn petch (amazing curry delicately flavoured) & the pad thai is superb.

They have a good range of wine for a small establishment, but also welcome BYO.

This restaurant for some reason is not on a lot of people's radar....which is good for us as we can always get a table. But if you want to enjoy Thai curries like you find in Thailand, then try The Bangkok....you won't be disappointed.

    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank ravensrock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
57 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Breat takeaway”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 December 2011

Good range of dishes, fresh and full of flavour, nice ambience for diners thoiugh we used the takeaway service.

Visited November 2011
Helpful?
Thank AngelaCaro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
66 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Fantastic Little Place”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 October 2011

Really enjoyed my Pad Tai, service was great and price was perfect.

Flavours are authentic and real. You certainly will not be dissapointed by thsi place.

  • Visited September 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank BigdataOz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Bangkok Thai Restaurant also viewed

 
Goodwood, Adelaide
Adelaide, Greater Adelaide
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing