We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, neat and comfortable”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Majestic Minima Hotel
Ranked #13 of 57 Hotels in Adelaide
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Clean, neat and comfortable”
Reviewed 14 March 2013

Compared to the prices of other nearby accommodation, this hotel was great value. We found the self check in really easy to use and check out just as simple. The room was basic, but very clean and provided everything we needed. The bed was HUGE! OK sized balcony, but as mentioned in another review, we looked out at a wall. There is also an upstairs deck for guests. We though the location was great and the bus stop across the road goes straight in to town, however it was such lovely weather we walked in to town each day. North Adelaide has lovely streets to walk around also. If we went back to Adelaide we would consider staying here again.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LilFairy23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greg_Vaughton, Manager at Majestic Minima Hotel, responded to this review, 26 April 2013
Dear SLilFairy23

Thank you for the kind review. I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay and our convenient location. I look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit.

Kindest Regards,
Greg Vaughton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

468 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    154
    209
    70
    21
    14
See reviews for
52
210
76
74
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 March 2013

I stayed here for three nights while I attended the Womad music festival last weekend. Checking in using the automated system was smooth and without any problems. The room is small and clean. It is fine if you just need a place to sleep. I was at the festival most of the day and didn't need any other amenities. The room has the basics - A/C, TV, kettle, coffee/tea, ironing board, hair dryer and safe.

The hotel is situated on a great strip in North Adelaide - there were great little cafes and restaurants in both directions as you left the building. There is also a little grocer if you want to buy some fruit etc diagonally across the road. I walked from the city to the hotel. However it is on a bus route from city with buses stopping every 15 minutes on weekdays. A taxi from this hotel to the airport at 6am cost me $22.

Stayed March 2013, travelled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank Ethan40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greg_Vaughton, Manager at Majestic Minima Hotel, responded to this review, 26 April 2013
Dear Ethan40

Thank you for the kind review. I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay and our convenient location. I look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit.

Kindest Regards,
Greg Vaughton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eastbourne, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
37 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 March 2013

The place was clean and everything worked AOK.

We had a balcony which looked straight onto a wall and the air-conditioner sounded like you were on a jet plane (so if you are a ligt sleeper and your trip's in summer maybe this isn't for you) but other than those things the place was a great crash pad. Compact and comfortable and the table on the roof terrace is a great escape above the street.

Yes I would go back.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank g7t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greg_Vaughton, Manager at Majestic Minima Hotel, responded to this review, 26 April 2013
Dear g7t

Thank you for taking the time to post your review of our property, I do hope you stay with us again.

Kindest Regards,
Greg Vaughton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mackay, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 February 2013 via mobile

We stayed here as it was recommended by adelaide friends. I did find checking in a bit frustrating but think it would be easier next time. The rooms are small but had everything we needed including an iron & ironing board. Our room did have a strange mural in it with birds on the ceiling which creeped me out a bit. I would stay here again great location. Lovely shops.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Familytravels21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greg_Vaughton, Manager at Majestic Minima Hotel, responded to this review, 26 April 2013
Dear Familytravels21

Thank you for your feedback. I appreciate your comments and look forward to have you stay with us again.

Kindest Regards,
Greg Vaughton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mildura, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 January 2013

Really like this Hotel great value for money.We have stayed here a couple of times, some great rates available on the net. North Adelaide is a lovely leafy suburb of Adelaide, you can easily walk to the Zoo and the Botanical gardens and its not that far to the river Torrens and CBD of Adelaide. The rooms are on the smallish side, but its just as the name suggests.. Minima! Its very clean, modern and comfortable with King size bed, clean & modern bathroom, tea and coffee making facilities, iron & ironing board and everything else you would expect in a good Hotel. Cheapest secure off street parking in Adelaide and the self check in system is quiet easy to use.The rooms that we have stayed in have all had a balcony, not much of a view but nice to have some fresh air if you wish. Found it to to be a quiet location even on the weekend. There are lots of great Restaurants and Cafes all along Melbourne street, highly recommend the Himalayan Restaurant, The Old Lion on the corner and there is a great Desert Cafe just down from the bakery on the corner, they specialise in Spanish Chiros and chocolate.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kerryk47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greg_Vaughton, Manager at Majestic Minima Hotel, responded to this review, 26 April 2013
Dear Kerryk47

Thank you for taking the time to post your review of our property, I appreciate your comments about the facilities and I am glad to welcome you back. I look forward to your next stay with us again.

Kindest Regards,
Greg Vaughton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 January 2013

I stayed here when I was in Adelaide for a couple of nights. It really is very small but comfortable for one person. The room is clean, modern and equipped with the basics of tea, coffee, bar fridge, cup, bowl, spoon etc.

A friend of mine also stayed across the hall who was with his partner. They found it difficult having two people in such a small room.

For $100 it was great value for one person who wants a clean secure room close to the city and close to North Adelaide.

The street is pretty quiet. I was expecting something with a bit more groove and energy when they said it was full of cafes and restaurants. Yes there are cafes and restaurants but it's quiet. Which was fine just don't go there expecting Ackland St.
I was originally put in a ground floor room (the balcony opened onto the carpark) but this made me feel a bit uneasy so I called the reception from the phone in the foyer and I was allocated a room on a higher floor without a fuss.
I didn't see any staff when I was there which felt weird but I had everything I needed and they were just a phone call away.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank babysun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greg_Vaughton, Manager at Majestic Minima Hotel, responded to this review, 26 April 2013
Dear babysun

Thank you for taking time to post a review. We always promote our rooms being smaller than that of a standard hotel room which allows us to offer affordable pricing. I am pleased to hear you had enjoyed your stay and that are staff where able to attend to your needs as required. I thank you for your comments and do hope you will choose to stay with us again.

Kindest Regards,
Greg Vaughton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, South Australia, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 January 2013

I booked the room booking.com to spend the night in the city for New Year's Eve , to watch the fire work in the room ( via the balcony ). When I got there my booking confirmation didnt work, so i used the intercom, the staff guided me through the process but when I insert my credit card to pay the screen says the room selected was not available, then it just reset to home screen, i rang the intercom again and the staff told me to try checking again it should work, not until the third time i tried it the screen froze and keep telling me to inserted my credit card, long story short
Checking process big hazel, not only for me but also other couple who came after me.
When we got in the car park, there were not parking left, but i paid already it was 11 pm NYE.
Vending machine didnt work in the basement
10 mins to firework i went out to the foyer to get snack from vending maching( what it says in the book). Went I got out there were no vending machine because it was moved to the basement, however i couldn't get back into my room on ground floor because my card didnt work, my husband was still inside the room waiting for me to get back, the fire work start and ended and i was still stuck in the foyer, two ladies tried their cards to let me inside but their card didnt work either. The security staff came over with the master key but still he couldn't get it to work, i ended up using his phone to call my husband to come out and let us in.
I was disappointed because i missed the firework, which was the main reason for staying at the hotel on NYE.
After my stay i didn't thought of writing this review until i checked my account balance and realised i was charged 105$ x 3.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Duyen N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greg_Vaughton, Manager at Majestic Minima Hotel, responded to this review, 26 April 2013
Dear Duyen N

Thank you for taking time to post a review. I apolgise for the great inconvenience caused to you on your stay with us. In response to your comments with the difficulty encountered with the self check in kiosk unfortunately due to booking through a 3rd party the confirmation number provided to you was incorrect and Majestic Hotels confirmation is required through the self check in kiosk, the problems encountered with the remainder of the check in process could have been caused from a number of issues from room type availability and card issues. Yes our vending machine is now located in basement and based on your feedback new signage has been placed at the entrance to indicate this. Again I apologise for the disappointment during your stay. I thank you for your comments and do hope you will choose to stay with us again.

Kindest Regards,
Greg Vaughton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Adelaide hotels
1.1 mi away
Ibis Adelaide
Ibis Adelaide
#10 of 57 in Adelaide
1,279 reviews
1.5 mi away
Adabco Boutique Hotel
Adabco Boutique Hotel
#5 of 57 in Adelaide
1,108 reviews
1.1 mi away
Majestic Roof Garden Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Crowne Plaza Adelaide
Crowne Plaza Adelaide
#6 of 57 in Adelaide
1,664 reviews
1.9 mi away
BreakFree Director's Studios
1.4 mi away
Adina Apartment Hotel Adelaide Treasury
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Majestic Minima Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Majestic Minima Hotel

Property: Majestic Minima Hotel
Address: 146 Melbourne St, Adelaide, South Australia 5006, Australia
Region: Australia > South Australia > Greater Adelaide > Adelaide
Amenities:
Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 57 Hotels in Adelaide
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Majestic Minima Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Opened in 2008 the Majestic Minima Hotel has set new trends in stylish yet inexpensive city fringe accommodation, offering mini-rooms at a mini-price. Located in North Adelaide the three-story boutique property contains 46 compact studio rooms measuring approximately 14 square metres and is proving that size doesn't matter. You might have been looking for a cheap hotel or motel but for the same price you can stay at the very affordable accommodation offered by the Majestic Minima Hotel with king size beds in all rooms, 32" LCD televisions with 7 Foxtel channels, Free Wifi and ultra-modern bathrooms. Parking(Charges apply)and laundry facilities are also available to all guests and for your safety and peace of mind there is security card access to the hotel and all guest floors, electronic in-room safes, and monitored CCTV security cameras. The exclusive guest terrace overlooks Melbourne Street and North Adelaide, where you are welcome bring your own provisions and enjoy the view. Check in is via our Concierge available 7 Days of the week from 7.30am to 10pm. Outside of these hours check in is via telephone located at the front of the property(Credit Card required). If you do need assistance our staff at the Old Lion Apartments are only 100 metres away if required. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelQuickly and LateRooms so you can book your Majestic Minima Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing