We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location + free wifi”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Majestic Minima Hotel
Ranked #12 of 57 Hotels in Adelaide
Certificate of Excellence
Millicent, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
“Great location + free wifi”
Reviewed 21 October 2013 via mobile

I was bit unsure about staying here after reading reviews but it is such a good price in a great location I decided to give it a try.
We booked for two nights but extended our stay.
The building does blend in well with the other buildings so you can miss it. It is located between cafe primo and montezuma's (across from bad boy burgers).
We parked on Stanley street and walked to the building to check in and then moved the car. Which is a bit of pain but we allowed us to stretch our legs after the 5 hour drive to Adelaide.
There is someone at the reception between 2-10.30pm. The lady seemed a little grumpy but did her job.
The car park is tiny. I think it fits maybe 10 cars and about 3 of them say for small cars only. There were lots of 4wd parking in there but luckily my boyfriend made in a park after a 20point turn.
The room was clean. Feels a lot roomier than I was expecting after the reading reviews. I don't think it would suit someone that had a large suitcase as there isn't a great deal of floor space. But was perfect for us.
We had room 116 which is located above the car park. The roller door does make a bit of noise especially in the morning when everyone is checking out. We asked to change rooms for the second night and the lady was very helpful. We moved one on the other side. But that night I was regretting this as it is also overlooking a car park and you can hear a lot more noise from the street.
The wifi is free and was a decent speed. There is also a plug on the desk for you to plug your cable into.
The art work and throw cushions are a great way of bringing colour to the rooms. I did want to take the throw cushion (it was so cute)
Overall, it is a lovely place, modern and comfortable. We didnt use the balcony but it was nice if we wanted more space. It is the prefect location for food and shopping. We will stay again.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lucy E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

428 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    139
    192
    64
    19
    14
See reviews for
46
193
67
67
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 October 2013

I stayed at the Majestic Minima for 6 nights 7/10 - 13/10 and found it to be great!

For the price I paid, I thought it was excellent. I had my own bathroom, king size bed, foxtel, A/C with tea and coffee making facilities.

Cons: If you are a couple and feel like going cheap but nice. This place was very clean and tidy, and to me, faultless however I can see how it may get slightly cramped for 2 people.

The concierge was only available at certain parts of the day.
No breakfast available

Pros: Again, cleanliness.
My own bathroom
You are situated on Melbourne St which has pubs, restaurants, cafes and shops
Walk a few meters to the bus stop to get a bus into the city
Staff seemed courteous and happy

All in all if you wanted a inexpensive, clean, nice place to stay in a decent location I would choose here again.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kalifornia1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2013

My girlfriend and I decided to stay at the Majestic Minima on Melbourne Street for her birthday recently. The hotel looks quite nice on the outside and the concierge was very friendly. The room we stayed in was compact (hence the minima title) with the basic necessities (king size bed, tv, air-conditioning, mini-fridge, bathroom, etc). The room was decorated with a nice piece of artwork from a local artist. The room was also located on the 2nd floor which has access to a balcony overlooking Melbourne St. A nice place to sit and have a glass of wine (I had a glass of flavoured mineral water) and pass the time away. All in all, we were impressed with the hotel.

A good place to stay if all you want is a bed to sleep in.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CoyoteM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
93 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2013

Art hotel but without the communal / public areas that will make if work. Tiny room. Nice clean. Compact great location with eateries in walking distance but no mini bar. No breakfast. No meals on site. You need to be organized.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anne R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chelmsford, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2013

This hotel was our first stop whilst touring Australia and was one of the best we stayed in. It's a 'self check-in' hotel, which was weird! We didn't really understand as there was nobody to speak to but a note saying check-in was after 10am. As we arrived out of hours at 8am we used the free phone provided which put us through to the neighbouring Majestic Lion hotel just across the road who advised us to go over there and they would check us in. It's literally 2 minutes across the road and the girls on reception were very friendly and checked us in and gave us room keys and a code for the WI-FI, which is free! The room was small but perfectly adequate, really comfy bed, TV with Fox sports etc and a small bathroom with a nice little power shower. The hotel also has free laundry or guests, and it's all tastefully decorated and clean, loved this hotel.

It is a little far out from main Adelaide CBD, it took us about 30-40 minutes to walk to the renowned Adeliade Central Markets, although it is a nice walk, through the park and festival square. We also walked back through the botanic gardens one afternoon which is a bit longer but they are beautiful. Overall this is a perfect little hotel, and great if your happy to stretch your legs and take in the relaxed atmosphere of Adelaide.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank niccabeccaglory
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 July 2013

The stay at the majestic minima was good value for money but they had a few downfalls:

They don't clean your rooms unless you stay for 10 nights or more.

The a/c sounds like a plane taking off.

You have to go and ask for more clean towels.

The parking system was a nightmare starting off. The ticket system didn't work and we had to wait at least half an hour before we could actually park the car.

The concierge is only available from 2pm to 10pm so you're outta luck if you need something before those times/need to check in.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank N_dilla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ipswich, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2013

Have just returned from Adelaide and stayed at the Majestic Minima for 4 nights. At the outset we knew the room was small, but perhaps not as small as when we arrived. The king size bed is just 2 single beds zipped together, for someone who is 187cm tall (6 foot 3inches), the toes still dangled over the edge, I imagine a true king would further eat into the already precious at the bottom of the bed. The air-conditioning was quite noisy and hard to operate due to the quite flat batteries in the remote. Bathroom space was quite minimal, but sufficient. After 3 nights the towels were quite damp, concierge obliged with 2 more, only to learn that the compendium advises a $5.50 per item additional linen charge. Will wait to see if that comes through on the credit card statement. I would suggest the room is more suited for 1 person rather than 2. There is no space to put your luggage without tripping over it, you could use the desk space, but then you have no place for incidentals like phone, wallet, keys etc. and you can't use the desk chair to put your bag on either. On a plus side is the location ... handy to the city, handy access to the hills also for the wine trails, and locals cafe's are abundant for breakfast, dinner. Would I stay here again, if just 1 night then yes, 2 or more nights then probably no. If you need a little more room but with a convenient location, then perhaps try their other property across the road (like I'll do), the Majestic Old Lion Apartments.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Darren D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Adelaide hotels
1.5 mi away
Adabco Boutique Hotel
Adabco Boutique Hotel
#5 of 57 in Adelaide
1,076 reviews
1.1 mi away
Ibis Adelaide
Ibis Adelaide
#10 of 57 in Adelaide
1,243 reviews
1.1 mi away
Majestic Roof Garden Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Crowne Plaza Adelaide
Crowne Plaza Adelaide
#6 of 57 in Adelaide
1,627 reviews
1.4 mi away
Adina Apartment Hotel Adelaide Treasury
1.2 mi away
Mayfair Hotel
Mayfair Hotel
#1 of 57 in Adelaide
982 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Majestic Minima Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Majestic Minima Hotel

Property: Majestic Minima Hotel
Address: 146 Melbourne St, Adelaide, South Australia 5006, Australia
Region: Australia > South Australia > Greater Adelaide > Adelaide
Amenities:
Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 57 Hotels in Adelaide
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Majestic Minima Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Opened in 2008 the Majestic Minima Hotel has set new trends in stylish yet inexpensive city fringe accommodation, offering mini-rooms at a mini-price. Located in North Adelaide the three-story boutique property contains 46 compact studio rooms measuring approximately 14 square metres and is proving that size doesn't matter. You might have been looking for a cheap hotel or motel but for the same price you can stay at the very affordable accommodation offered by the Majestic Minima Hotel with king size beds in all rooms, 32" LCD televisions with 7 Foxtel channels, Free Wifi and ultra-modern bathrooms. Parking(Charges apply)and laundry facilities are also available to all guests and for your safety and peace of mind there is security card access to the hotel and all guest floors, electronic in-room safes, and monitored CCTV security cameras. The exclusive guest terrace overlooks Melbourne Street and North Adelaide, where you are welcome bring your own provisions and enjoy the view. Check in is via our Concierge available 7 Days of the week from 7.30am to 10pm. Outside of these hours check in is via telephone located at the front of the property(Credit Card required). If you do need assistance our staff at the Old Lion Apartments are only 100 metres away if required. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HRS, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Majestic Minima Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing