We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Interesting spot”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Majestic Minima Hotel
Ranked #12 of 56 Hotels in Adelaide
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 August 2014 via mobile

The hotel is clean, well situated and comfortable, it also has free wifi. The room decoration is wierd, with funny paintings. We found it amusing but I think some people might dislike it. The room was a bit small but the bed was big and comfortable and the bathroom well prepared so we liked the place. Good hotel two spend a couple nights.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank maceesp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greg_Vaughton, Manager at Majestic Minima Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 August 2014

Dear maceesp

Thank you for taking the time to post a review. I welcome your comments about your recent stay and I look forward to welcoming you back again.

Kindest Regards,
Greg Vaughton

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (493)
There are newer reviews for Majestic Minima Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

367 - 373 of 493 reviews

Reviewed 21 August 2014

We've stayed in Majestic for 4 nights, they have given us Room 101, a really funny with so many faces on the wall.

Location is supreme with so many good restaurant nearby. Highly recommend the Primo restaurant. U can either take the bus or walk to the city center (approx 20~25 mins with really good view).

Only one complain is the Air conditioner, the noise is quite loud... except that I have no other complain.

Highly recommend and will definitely come again!!!

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank nighthawkrider
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greg_Vaughton, Manager at Majestic Minima Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 August 2014

Dear nighthawkrider

Thank you for taking time to post a review, I thank you for your comments and do hope you will choose to stay with us again.

Kindest Regards,
Greg Vaughton

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2014

This is not the sort of place I normally book. I admit it, I like the creature comforts that a 4 or more star hotel provides. However, for this short break, which was planned at short notice, we didn't have a lot of money to play with, so, with some trepidation, we booked here.

Of course, we did some research (ie, we looked it up on Tripadvisor) so we knew what to expect to some degree.

Yes, as has been well documented, the rooms are small; tiny even. However, having travelled in Europe, where rooms are comparatively smaller than Australians are used to, we have encountered similar sized rooms before.

So what can I tell you about Majestic Minima? It is clean and comfortable. The huge king sized bed was very comfy, the bathroom small but functional with a nice shower and plenty of hot water. Room was made up and towels changed daily, and all the staff were friendly and helpful.

The air con is a tad noisy (they often are) but we found if we put the heater on for a couple of hours before bed time then we could turn it off overnight and the room stayed warm (see, there are some benefits to a small room!). Otherwise, the room was quiet.

The location is fabulous! Plenty of food options; Indian, Mexican, Chinese, burgers and bistro all only a few steps away, plus the amazing sweets/chocolate restaurant.

And, to get into town the free City Connector bus (number 98), has a stop just around the corner, or if you don't want to do public transport a taxi ride is only around $15.

Limited free parking is available on site, or if full then paid parking is just around the corner.

Overall, a quiet comfy place to lay your head. If you are on a budget, I recommend this hotel as a great value option.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Jude_Starr_69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greg_Vaughton, Manager at Majestic Minima Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 August 2014

Dear Jude_Starr_69

Thank you for taking time to post a review. We always promote our rooms being smaller than that of a standard hotel room which allows us to offer affordable pricing. I am pleased to had enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you back again when in Adelaide.

Kindest Regards,
Greg Vaughton

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2014

We stayed here for one night before heading to Kangaroo Island. The hotel was well located, a nice walk to the botanic gardens and the centre of town. There was a good choice of restaurants nearby and a few shops. The room was small but clean and very comfortable. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sarah L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greg_Vaughton, Manager at Majestic Minima Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 August 2014

Dear Sarah L

Thank you for your feedback. I appreciate your comments and do hope you stay with us again.

Kindest Regards,
Greg Vaughton

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2014

Stayed here with a mate for the weekend - we came over for the footy. Clean and quiet. The facilities are very good and room was well serviced. Excellent access to the city and Adelaide Oval. Close to coffee shops and the Lion Hotel (great meals, including breakfast).

The Majestic offices are just around the corner. We were able to leave our luggage there after we checked out and had to kill time before going to the airport.

Will definitely recommend and stay again when visiting Adelaide.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
1  Thank Scopes1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greg_Vaughton, Manager at Majestic Minima Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 August 2014

Dear Scopes1

Thank you for the kind review. I am pleased to found our convenient location. I look forward to welcoming you back again.

Kindest Regards,
Greg Vaughton

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2014

We just spent 3 nights here for our first trip to Adelaide and it was great. Yes, the rooms are small but the ceilings are high enough that the room doesn't feel claustrophobic. The artwork on the wall and matching bed cushion were a nice quirk (and ours even glowed in the dark!). The bed was a generous King and very comfortable with fresh crisp linen. There was a cupboard with iron and ironing board and room to hang a few garments, and another cupboard with cups, plates, cutlery etc... a jug, a small fridge (with mini milks) and a safe. Dish liquid is provided and dishes can be washed in the bathroom basin. The bathroom was modern and very clean with mini shampoo, conditioner and soap provided. Towels were fresh and fluffy and shower pressure was excellent. I've seen a few comments regarding the toilet paper and yes, it wasn't the most luxurious, but we use recycled at home so it wasn't a big deal to us. The flat screen TV is positioned up high so that you can watch it lying from the bed. It's probably a little high but wasn't a major. We had the air con heater running the first 2 nights because it was quite chilly. It was quite noisy so we had to have the TV quite loud, but again wasn't really a major issue. We were in room 2 which is on the ground floor, with a small balcony onto an alley way. There was no issue with noise. We liked the no fuss self check-in/out and the location was good, just a few minutes by bus ($3) or taxi ($10) to the city. The hotel offers room service from 12pm to 8.30pm which is serviced by the café a few doors down, and can I say their pizza with the lot ($18) was DELISH and arrived hot within 10 minutes of me ordering. There are also other food options just metres from the hotel. The only thing that was a negative for us was the dryer in the guest laundry wasn't working properly and left us having to cart a bag of wet washing back to Sydney. But overall we had a really comfortable stay and found this hotel excellent value for money (at $115 p/ngt). Will definitely stay again.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nelle2416
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2014

When you open the door to your room you quickly realise the name Minima was perfect. The rooms are small, but have everything you would need for a short or long stay. The staff were laid back, friendly and very efficient, made me feel very comfortable. Close to restaurants and close walk into CBD. Would HIGHLY recommend a stay here. Could not fault it.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Michele J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Adelaide hotels
1.1 mi away
Ibis Adelaide
Ibis Adelaide
#10 of 56 in Adelaide
1,309 reviews
1.1 mi away
Majestic Roof Garden Hotel
1.5 mi away
Adabco Boutique Hotel
Adabco Boutique Hotel
#5 of 56 in Adelaide
1,128 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
BreakFree Director's Studios
1.1 mi away
Crowne Plaza Adelaide
Crowne Plaza Adelaide
#6 of 56 in Adelaide
1,679 reviews
1.2 mi away
Mayfair Hotel
Mayfair Hotel
#1 of 56 in Adelaide
1,129 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Majestic Minima Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Majestic Minima Hotel

Address: 146 Melbourne St, Adelaide, South Australia 5006, Australia
Region: Australia > South Australia > Greater Adelaide > Adelaide
Amenities:
Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 56 Hotels in Adelaide
Price Range: £50 - £83 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Majestic Minima Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Opened in 2008 the Majestic Minima Hotel has set new trends in stylish yet inexpensive city fringe accommodation, offering mini-rooms at a mini-price. Located in North Adelaide the three-story boutique property contains 46 compact studio rooms measuring approximately 14 square metres and is proving that size doesn't matter. You might have been looking for a cheap hotel or motel but for the same price you can stay at the very affordable accommodation offered by the Majestic Minima Hotel with king size beds in all rooms, 32" LCD televisions with 7 Foxtel channels, Free Wifi and ultra-modern bathrooms. Parking(Charges apply)and laundry facilities are also available to all guests and for your safety and peace of mind there is security card access to the hotel and all guest floors, electronic in-room safes, and monitored CCTV security cameras. The exclusive guest terrace overlooks Melbourne Street and North Adelaide, where you are welcome bring your own provisions and enjoy the view. Check in is via our Concierge available 7 Days of the week from 7.30am to 10pm. Outside of these hours check in is via telephone located at the front of the property(Credit Card required). If you do need assistance our staff at the Old Lion Apartments are only 100 metres away if required. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Majestic Minima Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing