We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location, friendly staff” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Crowne Plaza Adelaide

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Adelaide
Ranked #7 of 58 Hotels in Adelaide
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
South Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great location, friendly staff”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2011

Well located hotel in the heart of Adelaide. Clean, modern rooms. Staff are friendly and helpful, particularly concierge.

  • Stayed June 2011
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andnoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,537 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    723
    638
    129
    32
    15
See reviews for
200
553
110
479
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (418)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2011

The hotel is rather new which results clean and fresh environment.

Could really only give positive comments on athmosphare, location, staff, room, ameneties, everything.

Well, there was one little issue: the parking. I rented a car and had difficulties both at arriving and leaving the hotel. There is vallet parking available, and only narrow street leading to the hotel and small roundabout packed with cars waiting to be driven away so had to wait some time to get a spot to leave my car. Then in the morning had to wait again (waiting time was said to be up to 20 minutes) to get my car back. I was not in hurry and decided to have a coffee, and actually got my car in 10 minutes, but this is something to be aware of if you do intend to drive.

I was doing some comparison before booking this hotel and do not remember paying anything more than in other Adelaide city area hotels.

If I get a chance to return to Adelaide I would definitely stay in this hotel.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HeiDi_Travelling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2011

A friend and I stayed overnight in a double double deluxe room that overlooked the Square. The bathroom was huge. The bath one could get lost in it was so big!
The beds were incredibly comfortable and the room itself inviting and cheery.
Security measures were in place to ensure safety.
Staff could not have been more pleasant or professional and made our stay fabulous - a great asset to the organization.
My friend had found the pool a little cold and had difficulties with the room key in the lift (as did another guest we spoke to). Valet parking was $32 per night. There are some other parking options in the vicinity that could be considered for a fraction of the cost.
Having recently stayed in a Pt Douglas resort rated at 4 stars, the Crowne Plaza Adelaide ran rings around the other facility in value, cleanliness and without doubt, service. Well done!
Location of this hotel so close to galleries, museums, the mall and Rundle Street is ideal.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joyous54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2011

A true gem located in CBD his hotel is cose to excellent dining venues, city shopping and only a short walk to public transport. Our room was superb and the shower facility was simply the best ever. All the staff are a credit to the hotel. They were friendly and eager to attend our every need. If you are visiting Adelaide this is the place to stay. Thank you.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Happytwo_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Yorkshire
Level Contributor
56 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2011

Hotel in a Great position so near shops and eating out. the Bedrooms were lovely and spacious and you had a fridge in the room to keep drinks in, Supermarket near by Coles for supplies we bought Noodles, to eat in the room and salad, as eating out very expensive.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JakiWestYorkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
92 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2011

This was probably one of the most wonderful large name brand hotel experiences we have ever had. Everything was lovely: the room was beautiful, the gymnasium, sauna, steam room, jacuzzi, and pool were great. The staff was just magnificent...alert to help you with suitcase or questions at any moment, they even weighed my bags for me to see if they were in limit for my flight, called to see if room service was satisfactory, and so on. We really felt valued as customers. Loved the large flat screen TV, room service hamburgers and fries were delicious and timely. The room was exceptionally quiet, even though it was right in the middle of downtown. We were on the 14th floor and couldn't believe we heard no traffic noise, and noise in the hall was very subdued. Internet was not free, so we just used our mobile data connection. Service was the shining star....kudos to the staff! Prices for food/drink were high but always are in Australia. Buy your own water, sodas, and crisps/chips at the little store next door. We didn't feel like eating in the hotel's restaurant, but if you walk out the hotel and turn right, go to the corner, the little cafe there--has the most wonderful food, but limited hours. then again, we hear all of Adelaide has good food. Can't think of anything bad to say...all great. If we go back to Adelaide, this is hands down the only choice we will make. For sight seeing, recommend the botanical gardens, and the free art museum nearby. We took the bus up to the little German town, about a 45 minute ride through pretty hills...pick up and drop off near the hotel. Unfortunately, since it was cold and wet winter, the town didn't have much activity. Mostly shops and eateries anyway. We stopped in at C5 Chocolate and had the most incredible deserts and hot chocolate ever. The owner has an interesting story too.

Room Tip: Great place to stay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank jph2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne
Level Contributor
35 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2011

My husband and I stayed here for one night (Frid 24th June) and from booking to checking in and out, the staff were fantastic! I particularly wish to compliment Bailey, Stacy and Jono. They were extremely professional and very friendly. We enjoyed chatting to both Stacy and Jono each time we came in and out of the reception area that night.

Bailey suggested a room with a balcony and the view was fantastic! The overall hotel was very nice, clean and in a great position. Didn't get to the spa or pool though. Internet was extra, which for the price of our room, I was disappointed.

I was surprised however by the amount of noise I could hear and being a very light sleeper, I had trouble as I'd left my earplugs in the car and being kept off site, it was a hassle to get them just for one night! Considering it was right in the middle of the city, it was bound to be noisy, more so traffic than people. There is a pub on the corner and the noise didn't go on too late.

The room was immaculate and stocked well with plenty of towels, bath robes, slippers, toiletries etc. Maybe they should include ear plugs with their toiletries?? We had a bath that unfortunately I didn't get a chance to use. It was very deep and looked great to soak in after a day of shopping. I did find the room heating too warm for me and it couldn't be turned down below 15-16c, so if you are a 'hot bod' like me, you might be more comfortable sleeping with just a sheet.

I must say thanks to the selfish people who let their child yell in the corridor at 6:45am Sat morning! Honestly, some people have no consideration for others!

The buffet breakfast was nice with a huge variety. Overall, the hotel is lovely, the price was typical for inner city and yes I would stay again, if not for the views and cleanliness but also for the fantastic staff!

Room Tip: Definitely request a room looking over Hindmarsh Square!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Donops
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Adelaide hotels
0.1 mi away
Ibis Adelaide
Ibis Adelaide
#10 of 58 in Adelaide
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,167 reviews
0.1 mi away
Majestic Roof Garden Hotel
0.6 mi away
The Playford - MGallery by Sofitel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Mayfair Hotel
Mayfair Hotel
#1 of 58 in Adelaide
4.5 of 5 bubbles 796 reviews
0.4 mi away
Adina Apartment Hotel Adelaide Treasury
0.6 mi away
InterContinental Adelaide
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Adelaide? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Adelaide

Property: Crowne Plaza Adelaide
Address: 16 Hindmarsh Sq, Adelaide, South Australia 5000, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > South Australia > Greater Adelaide > Adelaide
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Adelaide
#1 Green Hotel in Adelaide
#4 Business Hotel in Adelaide
#4 Family Hotel in Adelaide
#4 Romantic Hotel in Adelaide
#7 Luxury Hotel in Adelaide
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Crowne Plaza Adelaide 4.5*
Number of rooms: 308
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Relax in the refreshingly modern surrounds of Crowne Plaza Adelaide, a hub for the savvy traveller. Here in the heart of the city, you are only a short walk from many attractions, including Rundle Street's fashion boutiques and lively café culture, Adelaide Oval, National Wine Centre and a pleasant 20 minute journey takes you to the Adelaide Hills Wine region. At the hotel, our welcome is warm and genuine. Whether you are visiting for business or pleasure our friendly team will help you connect with whatever you need. Comfortable guestrooms, some with furnished balconies, offer fast wifi and plenty of space for relaxing or working. You can unwind in the lap pool, enjoy a work-out in our well-equipped fitness centre, and dine indoors or alfresco at Redsalt Restaurant and Bar. Designed to please in so many ways, the multi award-winning IHG Rewards Club delivers ongoing value and real benefits including free Internet, and extended checkout times. From the moment you arrive, everything we offer and everything we do is designed to support your comfort and pleasure. Crowne Plaza Adelaide. Where contemporary style meets urban convenience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, IHG, Odigeo, Southall Travel and Travelbag so you can book your Crowne Plaza Adelaide reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Adelaide Hotel Adelaide

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing