We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Another enjoyable experience” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Crowne Plaza Adelaide

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Adelaide
Ranked #6 of 58 Hotels in Adelaide
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
35 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Another enjoyable experience”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 December 2013

On this visit I actually had the opportunity to enjoy my stay. By that I mean I wasn't checking in at 10pm and leaving at 7am.
The rooms are superb. With a few minor mobilty issues a quick phone call to the hotel for a request to be closer to the lifts was acknowledged and actioned. Very much appeciated.
Checkin and checkout was friendly and efficient. Concierge was friendly and helpful. All of this was done while juggling what appeared to be a large wedding reception.
My only complaint was that the room was not serviced during my 8 hour absence and I had to ask twice for it to be done by the housekeeping staff on the floor. I understand they are busy but ...
I can highly recommend this hotel for its quality and staff. EXCELLENT.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FrequentOzTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Linda C, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Adelaide, responded to this review, 18 December 2013
Dear FrequentOzTraveller,

Thank you for again taking the time to share your experience and I am very pleased that on this occasion you had a bit more time to enjoy your stay. I am very happy you thought your room was superb and the team will be delighted that you found the service provided to be friendly, efficient and helpful.

I am very sorry that your room wasn't cleaned while you were out, I will follow up on this.

Thank you again for your kind words and i really do appreciate you recommending us.

We look forward to seeing you again very soon. Have a wonderful Christmas and best wishes for 2014.

Kind regards
Linda
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,541 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    726
    639
    129
    32
    15
See reviews for
200
554
110
482
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (420)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
gold coast
Level Contributor
51 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 December 2013

From the greeting of concierge and parking attendants we knew we had found the city escape we were looking for. Quick checkin and personal escort to our room as i had a lot of hand luggage. Great bed ,blackout curtains,clean bathroom. We were there at the same time as the "ASHES" and although the hotel was VERY busy,we always got a seat in the bar and the room was so quiet for sleeping.The staff seemed to cope with the big numbers in all depts. Breakfast was pretty hectic but the range of buffett and ala carte more than made up for it.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank foodieGoldCoast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Linda C, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Adelaide, responded to this review, 12 December 2013
Dear foodieGoldCoast,

Thank you so much for your kind words and I am really delighted that you enjoyed your time with us. It has certainly been a very busy week but we have all really enjoyed the atmosphere in the hotel.

I appreciate you taking the time to share your feedback and do hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back again very soon.

Best wishes for Christmas and a wonderful 2014.

Kind regards
Linda
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
australia
Level Contributor
70 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 December 2013

The Crown Plaza Adelaide is a very quiet comfy hotel. The hotel rooms a very modern and I think the hotel is very new . It also has a great location just near the Rundle shopping mall and has many restuarants nearby. The restaurant where you have breakfast looks out over Hindmarsh square which is nice and leafy.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Louise S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Linda C, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Adelaide, responded to this review, 9 December 2013
Dear Louise S,

Thank you for sharing your experience and I really am grateful for your kind words. I am very pleased to know you not only enjoyed the hotel but our lovely surrounds and our location close to shopping and restaurants.

I do hope we can welcome you back again very soon.

Kind regards
Linda
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 December 2013

We stayed in Adelaide during the final of the solar car challenge from Darwin to Adelaide. Crowne Plaza proved to be a great choice. Room was excellent and the included breakfast each morning was awesome. The staff were really helpful and provided some good tips for places to eat and to visit.

Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Jon E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Linda C, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Adelaide, responded to this review, 9 December 2013
Dear Jon E,

I am so pleased you thought Crowne Plaza was a great choice and you thought your room was excellent and you found our staff were really helpful.

Thank you so much for taking the time to share your feedback, we really do appreciate it.

I hope you choose to stay with us again as we would love to welcome you back.

Kind regards
Linda
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canberra
Level Contributor
60 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 November 2013

This is a good hotel (but has the usual absurdly high prices for breakfast). However, at a recent conference there the staff messed up by claiming that attendees' breakfasts were not included. I personally questioned this twice, and I know other people did as well, but the front desk was adamant.

Only when the conference organisers intervened was the matter sorted out. It should not have occurred, and should have been fixed earlier.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 60sAussiecouple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Linda C, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Adelaide, responded to this review, 4 December 2013
Dear 60sAussiecouple,

I am really sorry to hear there was confusion around breakfast and will follow this up with the relevant team members to gain an understanding of what happened to ensure the same problem does not reoccur in the future.

I am pleased to know that overall you felt we were a good hotel and appreciate you taking the time to share your feedback.

Please let me know if you are going to be back in Adelaide and I will ensure you have no issues with breakfast. My email is linda.collis@ihg.com.

Kind regards
Linda
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shinjuku, Japan
Level Contributor
54 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 November 2013

It was my second stay at this hotel, first stay was on the opening year and it is great to be back and quite surprised to see the hotel and room was very well maintained.

Location is at hindmarsh square close to pretty much everything. Walking distance to my work and all the business meegtings and convenient for shopping, just of couple of minutes to Rundle Mall.

Check in was efficient and staffs were friendly and welcoming. Room was upgraded to Balcony room with my priority club membership status. Also, booked on extra point promotion rates which is always great value.

Room was very clean and still looking very new. Nice balcony area overlooking across hindmarsh square. Gym and pool are very nice, I will say the best in town.

Breakfast is quite average but good enough. Had a dinner at the Redsalt restarant. Speicifically asked for a well-done steak twice but it was even close to medium rare at the centre of meats which was pretty disappointing. Never had this kind of issue at the hotel restaurant. Service is okay and waiting staffs were extremely friendly.

Overall, enjoyed stay at Crowne Plaza and good product with great location!

Room Tip: Room with balcony on higher floor!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NamidA88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Linda C, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Adelaide, responded to this review, 4 December 2013
Dear D2heaven,

Firstly, thank you so much for staying with us again and taking to time to share to share your experience. I appreciate your positive feedback regarding the maintenance of the hotel and will be sure to share this with our Maintenance team who really do take pride in keeping the hotel in very good condition.

I am sorry that your steak was not cooked to your likely, I will address this with our Head Chef.

Thank you again for your kind words and we look forward to seeing you again when you are next in Adelaide.

Kind regards
Linda
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 November 2013

Stayed for one night in a superior room (room 1218). Check in staff were quick, friendly and efficient. The room was fairly standard, with a desk and chair and also a sofa chair with footrest. There was also a mini bar fridge which came in very handy. Lots of cupboard space which also included complimentary robes and slippers. The bed was super comfy and there was also a pillow menu. The view wasn't the greatest overlooking the Adelaide University and adjacent multi-story car-park. The air-conditioning was activated along with the other electrical items by the insertion of the door key card into a slot on the wall and the room can get quite warm upon return. The bathroom was a very good size, the shower water pressure was excellent and amenities was wonderful. The location of this hotel can't be beat and our room was very quiet on the Sunday night that we were here with little outside noise being noticeable.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms on the northern side if you want a better view
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Megabux01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Linda C, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Adelaide, responded to this review, 3 December 2013
Dear Megabux01,

I am very pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and you liked a most of the products and services provided. It is a challenge being a city hotel with providing great views from all areas of the hotel, the views over Hindmarsh Square really are beautiful so for special occasions it really is worth booking these particular room types.

Thank you so much for making the effort to share your experience, we really do appreciate it.

Hope to see you again soon (ask for the Deluxe room type).

Kind regards
Linda
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Adelaide hotels
0.1 mi away
Ibis Adelaide
Ibis Adelaide
#10 of 58 in Adelaide
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,170 reviews
0.1 mi away
Majestic Roof Garden Hotel
0.6 mi away
The Playford - MGallery by Sofitel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Mayfair Hotel
Mayfair Hotel
#1 of 58 in Adelaide
4.5 of 5 bubbles 803 reviews
0.4 mi away
Adina Apartment Hotel Adelaide Treasury
0.6 mi away
InterContinental Adelaide
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Adelaide? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Adelaide

Property: Crowne Plaza Adelaide
Address: 16 Hindmarsh Sq, Adelaide, South Australia 5000, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > South Australia > Greater Adelaide > Adelaide
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Adelaide
#1 Spa Hotel in Adelaide
#4 Family Hotel in Adelaide
#4 Business Hotel in Adelaide
#4 Romantic Hotel in Adelaide
#6 Luxury Hotel in Adelaide
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Crowne Plaza Adelaide 4.5*
Number of rooms: 308
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Relax in the refreshingly modern surrounds of Crowne Plaza Adelaide, a hub for the savvy traveller. Here in the heart of the city, you are only a short walk from many attractions, including Rundle Street's fashion boutiques and lively café culture, Adelaide Oval, National Wine Centre and a pleasant 20 minute journey takes you to the Adelaide Hills Wine region. At the hotel, our welcome is warm and genuine. Whether you are visiting for business or pleasure our friendly team will help you connect with whatever you need. Comfortable guestrooms, some with furnished balconies, offer fast wifi and plenty of space for relaxing or working. You can unwind in the lap pool, enjoy a work-out in our well-equipped fitness centre, and dine indoors or alfresco at Redsalt Restaurant and Bar. Designed to please in so many ways, the multi award-winning IHG Rewards Club delivers ongoing value and real benefits including free Internet, and extended checkout times. From the moment you arrive, everything we offer and everything we do is designed to support your comfort and pleasure. Crowne Plaza Adelaide. Where contemporary style meets urban convenience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Southall Travel, Odigeo, IHG and Travelbag so you can book your Crowne Plaza Adelaide reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Adelaide Hotel Adelaide

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing